We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel

Save Saved
You added Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropole Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Torretta, 13, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Milano
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was horrible. The room was dirty, the food was poor. At breakfast we didn't get bread and water because they ran out of it every morning and juices were too sweet to drink. I will never stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
16
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I recently spent two nights at this hotel as part of a large student tour group. The hotel is located on the edge of a park which holds the spa. The exterior and lobby promise pleasant rooms but unfortunately the rooms do not deliver. The rooms are cramped, the decor a leftover from the seventies, and there was an undeniable smell of mildew in the bathroom. The breakfast provided was horribly prefabricated and limited even by Italian standards. I would have given the property a worse review had it not been for the pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hotel and its staff have loads of character. The only thing I didn't care for at this hotel was the food. Located about mid-way between Pisa and Florence, it is a good hour by train or bus to either city. The hotel itself was quite comfortable and clean. Beautiful view from our window and a large stone balcony off the end of the building. Hotel is locked up at midnight. Rooms were reasonable size for Europe, bathroom clean and relatively modern. Lobby is very lovely with lots of sitting space, dining room is a bit cramped and evening meals not so great. Breakfast was traditional fare, bread, butter, preserves, sometimes cheese and meat, juice, coffee. Montecatini has the atmosphere of coastal towns in the south of France. It's a beautiful town, but quite a ways from Florence. Easy to take the train to either Pisa or Florence. Buy your ticket from the machine at the train station and be sure to get is stamped (by the other machine) before you get on the train. We did have to hop onto one train without a ticket and just bought them on the train, however, if you do this, you take the risk of a hefty fine! Trains are relatively frequent, but can be crowded. About a 45 minute walk from train station to Leaning Tower (go straight as the road will let you out of the train station's front entrance and turn left INSIDE the city wall when you come to it).

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

The small town of Montecatini Terme is quite pleasant if unremarkable, and has some nice restaurants and cafés, and unlike other places in Italy, a smattering of Italian is required in order not to starve. Cheap Chianti flows readily in the evenings, and a trip to Montecatini Alto via the funicular railway will be rewarded with some wonderful views and excellent (if slightly overpriced) dining on the piazza.

This hotel was booked through an agent specialising in deals for solo travellers. It's a bit tired and dated but let's face it, you don't go to Tuscany in June to enjoy the design on your hotel wallpaper. You are half an hour from Florence, less than an hour from the beautiful Viareggio coast, with Lucca, Pistoia and other locations to explore.

Hotel staff are extremely obliging, particularly the evening concierge. Breakfast is available in the comfortable dining room. Evening meals are also served, although there is a wider choice in the town.

I expect better is available for the price, but there's nothing actually wrong with this place.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Stayed at this hotel as part of jules verne taste of tuscany. The hotel is ok located about 7 mins walk from train station. The rooms are old and quite dated but ok. The bathroom is small with very small shower but proved to be ok . There was a pleasant garden with above ground pool(didnt use) and a bar in reception area with plenty of seating. Given the price paid the hotel wasnt bad but nothing special either. It could be very noisy early in the morning and the air conditioning is switch off at 7.30 each morning. reception staff were very helpful and printed off train times for me and were always polite. Breakfast is ok just what you would expect from a 3 star contiental hotel. Enjoyed my stay at hotel.

  • Liked — Central location and reception staff
  • Disliked — bit noisy and a/c switched off at 7.30 am.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

I stayed in this hotel as part of a Trafalgar tour in May. The hotel is an older facility in a very cute little town near Florence. It has a nice little bar in the lobby where you can get a glass of wine or a drink which we did do the night we were there. The room is large by European standards and had fairly comfortable twin beds. The room also has a great balcony that overlooks the street. I would have liked to have had my breakfast out here if I were staying longer. The town of Montecatini is really nice with several cute little shops and bars. Some of our group went out the night we stayed here to a local bar and listened to music and had a few drinks. I was fairly tired from running around Florence so I stayed in after dinner that night. The dinner in the hotel was adequate (it was included in our tour). I would not have wanted to pay extra for it and in fact would have chosen to go out for dinner if I had to pay to eat here but it provided sustenance. The breakfast was standard cereal, toast, cheese, yogurt. It was adequate. If transportation is not a problem to Florence, I would definitely choose to stay here again but if I was worried about how to get around, I would probably opt to stay closer to Florence.

  • Liked — The balcony in my room
  • Disliked — The food in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Having read the very negative reviews of this hotel on your website, I approached my holiday with some trepidation. All unfounded. I cannot comment on the experiences of the negative reviewers as I was not part of their holiday but our own experiences were completely different. Yes, the rooms are not big but they are well furnished and
clean and the shower room that we had was very adequate. The lounge area is comfortable and elegant and the circulating areas of the hotel are well decorated and presented. The breakfast was a good continental buffet and the staff were pleasant. There is a limited bar that is not obviously open but when we requested a drink we were willingly served by the concierge.

This hotel is in a good position in a quiet road overlooking a lovely
park and within a very easy walk to the town centre. I do not know the room rates as my husband and I had booked a package but my opinion is that this hotel offers excellent value for money - an opinion that was shared by other people in our party.

Would I recommend this to other travellers? Yes, I would for value and convenience as Montecatini is an excellent centre for individual sightseeing.

  • Liked — Clean and pleasantly furnished
  • Disliked — no particular dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Via della Torretta, 13, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.