We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Fedeli 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in Astoria for 12 nights with my family and we were not disappointed with our decision in choosing this hotel. I loved the location and proximity to Tettuchio spa. The hotel staff really demonstrated true Italian hospitality. They made everything to make our stay very comfortable and special. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We experienced a great customer service in all areas. They even helped me to arrange my doctor appointment in the spa, and navigating through busy spa when I arrived.
I was very impressed by the hotel's grounds and how well it was maintained. Outdoor breakfast area was fabulous, with a lot of flowers and lemon trees. My favorite was the hotel's swimming pool with jacuzzi area and hydrobike where we could relax in afternoons. Food in general was good, the dessert was outstanding. This is the hotel that I would definetely recommend and will return in future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
43
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Old but nice, clean and friendly staff. Some Rooms with balcony. Walking distance to downtown Montecatini Terme.
Breakfast and coffe good.
English House style with pool. Not a place for children. Rooms were cleares each Day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

On first glances of this hotel one might be a little disappointed, however it is a hotel that does 'grow' on you. The Astoria is well run, in a friendly no fuss but efficient way. Clearly their expertise in running the hotel does overcome any negatives that they do have.
So the good points, it is quiet, very clean with wonderful staff who strive to make your holiday easy and stress free. This hotel is in a great location probably the best in Montecatini. Time seems to stand still in this peaceful setting. With a good railway station in Montecatini that provides quick and easy links to Florence ,Pisa, and Lucca this makes the hotel a great place to stay to visit these historic cities.
To achieve a better rating, variety in choice of buffet breakfast and evening meals needs to improve. Although acceptable their menu did not quite satisfy my needs.
Our bedroom was just ok, I'm sure for the price we paid our holiday provider that we should have had a better room as shown in many photographs on websites.
Overall I would rate this hotel as good and one I would return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for four nights in two rooms, one more expensive than the other. The more expensive was larger and had a balcony, which was fab - the cheaper room was smaller and a little dark, but it was clean. Accommodation and hotel facilities were good value - pool was nice, breakfasts good (don't leave it until the last minute as not everything is replenished.).
Hotel staff were very helpful, especially the concierge.
The one factor we would rate less strongly was the evening meal, which was average, and felt a little rushed through, so we only ate there once, but found a fantastic Trattoria up the hill just through Montecatini Alto (booked by the helpful concierge!)

Room Tip: The larger ones are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great family run hotel where the staff are all very attentive and available. Parking is free and there is a terrific pool/spa set in nice grounds and the Hotel is located in a park adjacent to the famous spa

Room Tip: Most views will be pleasant due to the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Professional staff with a friendly and helpful approach to the customers. You felt not a burden, which is quite an important thing for us. They had taken the trouble to read our e-mail before arrival so we got the room we wanted, professional! The hotel is kept in the "old fashion style" which is a big plus and super charming. Was very pleased with our room, although the toilet is not top modern. It was just charmimg. Interior hallways and stairs, however, could well do with an upgrade to something more bright and welcoming according to our tastes. The restaurant was charming and serving women in uniform, it emphasizes the wonderfull style. The food was, however, served in a rather fast pace, so we forgot a bit to sit back and enjoy the atmosphere and talked between the dishes. all in all we will bee back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyr, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were booked for this hotel by our travel agent. The location was chosen because of its vicinity to the tourist attractions we wanted to visit.
As a matter of fact I can’t understand the high rating of many of the reviews as well as the 4 star ranking of the hotel.
The hotel in general has the charm of the 1930’s, which would not be a drawback. But many details of the interior, the deco and the furniture show all the signs of wear of a house that has not seen renovation for a long time. The standard room in which we stayed was absolutely not of a comfortable size with no place to open a suitcase except on the bed. There was no table or chair. The space remaining around bed and wall was barely enough to get around. The same was the case with the size of the bathroom. No room for two persons.
The staff however did their best to clean the room and vacuum the old rug.
Some of our co-travelling friends paid the same price but got a much bigger room, some even with a little balcony.
Very strange was that for breakfast the restaurant was divided in two sections, the side with the better decoration and slightly better buffet was reserved for other guests. Our group were told to stay together at the simpler section. Quite irritating!
The coffee was placed at the table in plastic jugs of big size. It was lukewarm and tasted bad. The items on the buffet were mainly pre-packed factory supply. No ham, no fresh eggs, but sliced Mortadella and one kind of sliced cheese. Even knowing that breakfast is not regarded important in Italy, this was disappointing.
Dinner was not high class, but good standard. The staff hurriedly served course after course watching eagerly to remove the plates even when we had not finished, leaving no time to enjoy the food.
The receptionist was very friendly and the rest of the staff too, although they could only speak italian.
At any rate, after a three nights stay we are sure, we are sure not to book this Hotel again and see no reason to recommend it to anyone who seeks good value for the money.

Room Tip: Do not book the standard room, they are funcomfortably small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Viale Fedeli 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Astoria may not be for everyone! It is for individuals who enjoy a restful and quiet environment...It is for those who enjoy a "step back" in time, by providing you with service unheard of in these "modern times." Yes, this is Italy at its best! Once you've spent three days in this unusual hotel, the Hotel Astoria will become a part of your life, for the rest of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.