We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice room, but that's it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Fedeli 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 109 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice room, but that's it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Astoria from 23rd to 30th June 2012. We booked through Inghams having had a good experience of their hotels previously. The location and room were very good and the pool certainly helped a lot due to the unusually hot temperatures we had but that is as far as the good review can go. We booked half board and expected a certain level of food and menu as it is rated a 4 star hotel. Every single night consisted of a pasta course with a very limited sauce, repeated at least twice during the 7 nights we stayed. This was followed, every night, by meat and potatoes with no Italian influence at all. The hotel could also be classed as a fast food restaurant as well, every night the waiting staff made sure you ploughed through the 4 courses in less than an hour, frequently hovering over your shoulder and removing your plate before you had finished chewing your last mouthful. My partner and I are in our 30's and were expecting far more Italian food from a 4 star Inghams hotel. We actually resorted to eating out at La Cascina (excellent btw) so that we could experience Italian restaurant cuisine. Following this review I am composing a letter to Inghams complaining about their description of this hotel in their brochure. I would advise to avoid if you are wanting a taste of Italy.

Room Tip: Do not go half board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Hotel Astoria, and it won't be our last. We stayed for 7 nights this time, and things just get better each year! The food was even better than last time...make sure you stay on a Friday night for an excellent selection of fresh fish....superbly prepared and served professionally by their wonderful staff. Excellent wine list too, with a great choice of local wines. The Hotel Astoria is a great base for exploring Tuscany...there is even a train station in the village which takes you to Florence in half an hour!! Lucca, San Geminano, and Pistoia are even closer. Or, if you want to chill out by the pool, lunch is served in the cafe at the pool too! Yes, it's old world style, but that's part of the charm of this place. They keep the high standards of quality and service that are not aslways easy to find these days. A real Italian experience, in a family run hotel. Thank you again Mr and Mrs. Taddei, Enrico, Arturo, and all the great staff who, as always, took very good care of us.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a charming old fashion style hotel. The fact that its in a spa town probably determines its nature. The common rooms are tastefully furnished and comfortable. The bedroom lacked character but was adequate. The receptionist and our waiteress were from a different era, both of a certain age with the courtesy that goes with it. The meal was pleasant enough but reminded me of hotels that go in for mass catering as opposed to cooking each dish individually. This hotel would appeal to many but just didn't do it for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel Astoria is a lovely hotel with great service, a wonderful cuisine and a fantastic traditional flair. The rooms have been renovated lately and offer a fantastic comfort. The receptionist Signore Arturo is always very helpful and friendly. The owners Mr. and Mrs. Taddei are very friendly and always at your disposal.
But the best Hotel Astoria has to offer is its cuisine! This is true Italian cuisine at its best. The "spaghetti alla Signora Maria" are simply the best spaghetti in the world! Three Michelin stars to the cooks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We found this hotel to be delightful and very convenient for our stay in Montecatini. It is close to the funicular that goes to Montecatini Alto yet close to the many spas and within easy walking distance to the main town and railway station. We were greeted by Arturo, a kindly gentleman who escorted us to our room. This was decorated in traditional style in pastel colours with ample wardrobes and drawers and a charming balcony overlooking the park. The bathroom was fully tiled with a large shower area and spotlessly clean throughout. Several areas are set aside in which to relax, including the bar and television/audio room. The dining room is rather grand with chandeliers and high ceilings giving a light and airy feel. The food is excellent with plenty of choice and served by friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast served outside surrounded by pink Oleander was a treat and the tables laid to the same high standard as in the dining room with beautiful table linen. What other reviews seem to neglect is the lovely swimming pool and changing rooms situated in the garden with many private areas in which to relax. A light lunch is served by the pool if desired. This family owned and run hotel is a real pleasure and one to which we shall return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

What I took to be the family that owns and runs the hotel, appears to be too old and lacks the necessary vitality to give the place the required vibrancy and atmosphere. They display no energy and this reflects in the way many, not all, of the employees go about their work. To give you a few examples – the bar was never open before dinner; little attempt was made by the sommelier to offer or recommend wine; dinner was always a rushed affair with courses forced upon you before you were ready; salad had to be chosen at table rather than provided at a separate serving area where you could select; on many occasions at breakfast the cutlery and crockery was not clean; the Perspex food cover for the cheese and ham was very badly cracked and needed replacing; irritation was displayed on one day when guests wanted to sit inside at breakfast rather than be ushered on to the terrace; sometimes off-duty staff sat amongst guests to take meals. The evening meal was average by Italian standards with veal a constant so a bit more variety would have been welcome to go with the vegetables that were usually overcooked. As for our personal accommodation in room 114, the corridor carpets leading to the room were dirty and stained and in need of renewal. Inside the room the bathroom was in poor condition with an antiquated slow-filling cistern, a large number of cracked tiles, towel-handrail almost detached from the wall and an old bath that was chipped and with no glaze, the convenience trolley was rusting. We received a disturbing note about security problems that the building had experienced and we were asked by the owner in person to keep the shutters closed when leaving the room only to find them left open by the chambermaids the next day. I left a polite note in Italian pointing this out and returned to find the bathroom window open instead. This did not inspire confidence. To summarise, the brochure recommended as “select” a tired, run down hotel run by a limp family who pay little attention to detail and training of staff – not at all typical of Italy, a country I have visited about 30 times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

What a gem of an hotel this is. Located in its own grounds in a park. Family run, the staff were very friendly and helpful, which made a most relaxing holiday, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has bags of charm, and could easily be in a time warp from the past when life was much less hectic. Our room was at the back overlooking the park, and was quiet and cool. The food served by the waitresses in their "Lyons corner house outfits" was wonderful. When we return to this part of Tuscany again, this will be the hotel we will stay at.

Room Tip: Front rooms may have the better view of Montecatini Alto and the funicular, but back rooms are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Viale Fedeli 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Astoria may not be for everyone! It is for individuals who enjoy a restful and quiet environment...It is for those who enjoy a "step back" in time, by providing you with service unheard of in these "modern times." Yes, this is Italy at its best! Once you've spent three days in this unusual hotel, the Hotel Astoria will become a part of your life, for the rest of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.