We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michelangelo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Michelangelo to your Saves list
Hotel Michelangelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Fedeli 9/11, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not quite there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is located in quiet green residential area of Montecatini Terme, about 15 min walk from the city centre and five min walk from famous Terme Regina (? - проверить) or funicolare. Looks slightly outdated on the outside, but pretty modern inside, although a little tired. Don’t be misled by the pictures on the website, this is what the place would like to be, not what it is, unfortunately. The biggest issues for us were the mattresses, which should have been replaced a while ago, and the fact that the place is not sound-proof at all, which gets very important when somehow a school excursion group of about 25 energetic teenagers are there at the same time with you.

Room Tip: Corner ones, which face back yard looked better and more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezzo_giorn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Have just returned from a great stay in this hotel , although we were on a coach tour we were given a Penthouse suit on the 5th floor with a hugh balcony with breathtaking views up to Montecatini Alto and the surrounding countyside.
Although was a set meal at dinner the food was excellant with only one problem when on one occasion they served some strange fish dish (Sea Pike ?) which no-one liked at all.
We found almost all of the Hotel staff to be most helpful ,would definately use it again but realise that we were very lucky with the room ,The Hotel was in quiet well maintained quiet area of tree lined streets a little away from the centre of town , Montecatini Terme itself is well situated as a base from which to explore such places as Florence ,Sienna,Pisa and Lucca

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennyb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice and clean hotel with modern lobby. Very kind staff.Our room wasn't big, but it was OK for 2 people. The room was not as modern and renovated as the lobby and restaurant, but it was clean and with very big balcony. Good breakfast. The hotel is not close to the city center.Montecatini is a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenniBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed here in July because i couldnt get a hotel in the nearby town of Lucca and thought Montecatini to be a good location to base ourselves - conveniently located for day trips to places like Lucca, Florence and Siena.
Montecatini has real charm so we were pleasantly suprised to find ourselves happy to stay put... exploring the local restaurants and coffee shops as well as easy train journeys to other parts of Tuscany. Hotel Michelangelo was great... we had a good sized room with all the mod cons expected in a hotel of that level. We ate good food and enjoyed the outdoor pool.
The staff were friendly but hardly any could speak English which made things a little bit difficult. However, Max the manager is a fantastic host with good English and was very helpful. Would recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireproducer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Montecatini is a tough town for hotels. Being a popular spa destination in Tuscany there is much competition, but this hotel stands out as it offers the main building as well as a separate villa. The hotel itself is very modern, extremely clean and well appointed, but the villa itself is classic Italian and separated from the main building by a large hedge. We opted for the villa and were not disappointed.

The room service was fantastic, the food was impeccable. The pool was perfectly located, very convenient and not busy at all. And the staff was very attentive, kind and courteous, always. Plus English speaking, which it seems in Italy is the norm, but very helpful as I've not quite mastered Italian.

The location is not as picturesque as some of the other places in town, and it is not as close to downtown as we would have liked, but these are minor details in a town as beautiful as Montecatini. Everything is walking distance because the town itself is very small, and since it's off the beaten path it is very quiet which worked perfectly for us.

Very happy with our decision. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tontonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I have travelled to over 77 Countries and without question the staff in this Hotel were the worst that I have encountered. Each member of staff was devoid of personality, charm.
They were unhelpful, uncaring. each member of staff failed to smile. The hotel itself was quite good, and clean, and in a beautiful location. The hotel claimed to be 4 star, in fact I would grade this hotel as struggling to attain 3 star status. Main Course meals you had a selection, take it or leave it, you had no option other than one choice of main course. AVOID THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lipmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#21 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#4 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#15 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa le Magnolie
Villa le Magnolie
#26 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michelangelo

Address: Viale Fedeli 9/11, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing