We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Granduca Leopoldo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Granduca Leopoldo Hotel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Granduca Leopoldo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venezia, 11 | Angolo Via Monte Llo, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Haverhill, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I traveled here with a group of high school students. The rooms were clean, but the beds were uncomfortable and a few of our students had trouble with the plumbing in their rooms- showers overflowing and sinks clogging. However, the food the prepared for dinner was excellent. The only reason I give this hotel a low rating besides the showers was the location. There wasn't much to do around the area and it was not that close to Florence (which is why we were there to begin with).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

The rooms were a bit small and simple, but the rooftop terrace and local town made it all worth it! I went with a tour group of high school students. The student rooms had balconies and it was in a really safe little town outside of Florence. Best part about Montecatini is that the main street (just a few blocks away from the hotel) had lots of clothing shops that were opened until 11pm at night! A great place for a group of students - there wasn't too much trouble they could get into.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Called here on an overnight stop through Italy and although the town was thriving, it was a Bank Holid;ay in Italy, it is a very pretty town with many bars and restaurants. Also quite a few shops for the ladies! As I said, it was just an overnight stop so the place was only really viewed in the dark but you would certainly not struggle to get a meal or a drink. I'm sure in the daytime it would be a nice enough place to look around. We stayed at the Hotel Grand Duca Leopoldo, a hotel quite nicely situated, just a short stroll to the centre, but although it looked very nice from the outside, our room was more like a prison cell! The decor was not so good and we had a triple room in which there was certainly no room to swing a cat!! There was a very rickety wardrobe and a small table with a TV - we didn't bother - and the bathroom was only adequate. There was air conditioning in the room though but we found it quite noisy. The foold at the hotel was quite good and the staff did all they could to make it a pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

We were booked into the hotel Medici across the road which I think is a sister hotel but they put us in this hotel for the first few nights

The staff are extremerly helpfull, cant do enough for you ! we asked for a room with a balcony and our request was met straight away .

The dining rooms was lovely , we had croissants ,yoghurts, cheese and ham and boiled eggs too the cappucino was yummy , there is a small bar and a relaxing area with sofa's to relax on. A clean hotel

The rooms were clean , although small , the bathrooms were very compact !

It is a good value hotel and the staff are great I would recommend it and its a 5 min walk from the station and close to the centre.

You can use the pool at the hotel across the road which is a nice small pool and there are loungers to relax on we had the pool to ourselves on the occasions we were there

The only downside is that parties of schoolchildren tend to stay there for one night at a time and parties come and go if you go for breakfast go down after 815am or 7-730am to avoid them !
they can be noisy at nights knocking on doors , some rooms have two bunbeds in them on the third floor and tehy hang around the hotel at evenings

It didnt bother us apart from the first night, to be fair the staff do their best to minimise disruption to guests .

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2005

Hotelpronto.com - triple room B&B 4 nights £184. We're always lucky - pic looked great. Took a chance.Having it's fotos taken for a new brochure-been refurbished v recently.Spotless, 3 beds, crisp linen, shower better than 1 at home, balcony etcc. Typical continental b/fast-tasty croissants. Bar for a nightcap. Pool across road at sister hotel. If going back to MC would stay here - cheap - clean - quiet position, cuddly owner.
MC-look at the Tettuccio Terme-wow.Eat at the Grande Cafe D'e MC. Corso Matteotti from the hotel,turn right 3 mins along on left. Art deco, food, staff excellent. Panna Cotta & caramel sauce 2 die 4. Lovely gardens..
MC Alto -a must. Went 4 sunset-gorgeous-nice eating places in square reasonable price. Ran out of time to go back to C & find out more of the history.
Lucca - stayed the day. Narrow streets-lovely architecture-good feel about town. Lunch at K2 next 2 piazza anfiteatro.C gardens Palazzo Pfanner. Cheated & saw them from the walls.
Firenze - took train-ideal.All famous landmarks in
easy walking distance. Check open/close times-busy with tours.Plenty artists-u can barter.
Pisa. Landed lucky & parked 2 mins from the piazza miracoli. Walked through walled gate-the white of the marble against blue sky was something else. Just as well tower quite small why still standing. Had a sore leg or would have climbed the steps? Didn't stay in Pisa-went on to Viareggio for a paddle & see (old faded) art deco hotels.Torre del Lago where Puccin lived.
Re car hire - be careful where you park or 72 eur fine. On motor way drive to PAGARE toll section. Others 4 residents have a car ticket sensor auotmatically opens barrier&reg cost.
Had a fab 40th birthday with the girls.Love Italy go back in a minute - Tuscan area v pictresque as is the rest of Italy. a il prossimo tempo.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2005

We arrived here and were instantly whisked away to anther hotel which was actually closed andwas dirty and so run down.when i complained we were booked into a 4star hotel for the night at their expense with the promise that we would resume our stay in the Granduca the next morning. The pictures on the internet are so misleading.the hotel looks nothing like them and is very run down.Staff were very unfriendly even though it's a family run hotel.Breakfast was disgusting with nothing fresh available.at night and in the early morning we were awoken by peole having showers and flushing toilets because the walls were that thin.the town itself is nice but only warrants a two day stay.after that boredom creeps in.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granduca Leopoldo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granduca Leopoldo Hotel

Address: Via Venezia, 11 | Angolo Via Monte Llo, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Hotel Class:3 star — Granduca Leopoldo Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Granduca Leopoldo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granduca Leopoldo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.