We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try harder.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fonti

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montecatini Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Fonti
Save
You added Le Fonti to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Francesco, 4, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must try harder.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Replace the 'cook', clean the showers and provide PROPER towels DAILY,..and they may get away with it! The Evening meals are average and the breakfasts aren,t even worth looking at, let alone eating. The 'cook' has a 'take it or leave it' attitude and complaints to the manager are met with a shrug of the shoulders in typical Italian style!

Room Tip: If you have the option of staying elsewhere,..take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham-on-Tees, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

fantastic time at the le fonti hotel in montecatini!
fantastic staff and very friendly! perfect location in the centre of town
which really is fantastic in the evening! all shops open late with market stalls
selling bargain leather goods
all rooms are clean and tidy,owner valentina a delight,speaks perfect english!
please do not listen to pensioners who should stay in england if they want an english breakfast this hotel is perfect for the price!

Room Tip: lift to all floors,all rooms have large windows and shutters,plenty of sockets for travel kettles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travelled with National Holidays to Italy and arrived at 10.30pm. When we opened the bedroom door it did not open fully because the bed was directly infront of it. It was obvious that they had made a single room into a double room. The drawers in the wardrobe were dirty and we had to wipe them clean before using them. The towels were like tea towels. Our shower was broken and we reported it every day. The staff were less than helpful. Breakfast was a bit of a mish mash. We had 2 evening meals, the first was passable, the second horrible, most of which was sent back. We would NOT stay here again. Montecatini Terme is a very nice town and has a good market on Thursday. K & J Sheffield

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This review is in both English and Italian which is below.
[--]
I stayed at this hotel this summer with my husband. First impressions were good as our room was clean,spacious and nicely decorated for the price. The bathroom let it down however by having a leaky shower you couldn't adjust and to make things worse the tiles where slippy when wet making it quite dangerous. Our air con was a bit temperamental and switched itself off despite the temperature being 38 degrees. When my husband went down to as he was fobbed off by the female receptionist with no offer to look/show us how it worked.

Now this where I get to how awful most of the staff were, with exception of the friendly cleaners and the young male and female waiters at breakfast.When our air con decided to break again around 10.00pm at night I told the elderly male receptionist. His response was to basically say 'what do you want me to do about it?' and that it was too late, his general tone was he could not be bothered and I had annoyed him, disgraceful! He then topped it off by giving another guest our key the next night and not apologising/sorting it out. During dinner (which is actually quite nice with lots of food) I turned around to talk to someone on my right and had my half eaten meal scooped form me without being asked if I had finished. The staff seemed more concerned with turning tables, I was shocked at the rudeness!

Lovely location, nice looks but the staff and the bathrooms/air con need serious work. I realise there are language barriers but staff had proven their excellent english already.


[--]

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Went with National holidays and luckily the hotel was only a base as we travelled to Rome, Pisa and Florence.
No kettle in the room, towels were like tablecloths, very strange! The room was an adequate size but the beds were of the type you would expect to find in a youth hostel, not very comfortable at all.
We luckily, only had to eat in the hotel once and it was not a good experience. Food was very basic and not very appetising.
That said the staff were superb, very friendly and helpful particularly the night porter. I wouldn't rule out staying here again as it wasn't terrible just not as good as we expected

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I went with national holidays and when we arrived after travelling for two days we were told we would have to go to the hotel across the road because they didn't have any room!!! NIce i thought, it's not like they didn't know we were coming.. The next night we were moved to the le fonti and it is basic, tea towels to dry yourself, generally in need of a makeover and a bit tired. But great location a few minutes walk and your in the town.
Breakfast on the first day was ok, next breakfast we were told to go away because they were feeding the russians first. I didn't go back went and got some in the town. First nights meal was fine a bit at strange for me because i am a vegetarian but it started off with salad then soup and then pasta i couldn't have that because it was meat based then followed by a main which was pork and tinned peas for everyone else I got a cold lump of mozzerella and tinned peas.
The last night I was there (we were only eating for two nights) My friend and I went in and sat down on a table for two and then proceeded to get some salad and sat down we were told to move by both waiters they said this table is for the drivers < we said but the drivers are not coming tonight but they made a scene so we got up with our plates they were no more seats left at this point everyone was seated, so we stood at the front with our plates looking stupid. We said where are we going to sit they said one on that table and one on another table we said don't be ridiculous we are nor going to sit on different
tables with strangers. They were not interested they said sit on different tables. We said we will go back and sit on the drivers table which we did, but by this point I was shaking and in no mood for eating, the drivers then came in and they refused to sit apart from each other, but they didn't know what had gone on before, so we just got up and left so we didn't have dinner there. We later found out the drivers refused to eat at the table we were at. It was very badly handled they wasn't enough chairs put out for the number of people!!! In the morning we went in for breakfast we were leaving so i needed a coffee, and again there was nowhere for us to sit so we had to sit at a dirty table left by the russians so we could have a coffee, i was absolutely disgusted but we didn't get an apology or anything. Montecatini was great and would definately go back but definately not to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have just returned and found the location to be spot on, right in the town and next to a lovely park, there is a huge market on Thursday that is a 10 min walk away

The room was adequate but ours was next to the lift that had a sliding door so was quite noisy at times but on the plus side we had a huge balcony.

The tv just had Italian channels .

Do take your own travel kettle as the hotel do not have the facilities.
There is a hairdryer but not very powerful but again its adequate.

All in all this place is worth the price as we went with National Holidays and it was just right for us because you are hardly in the room.

Any question please ask.
Sue.

Room Tip: Do take your own travel kettle if you like your brew as I do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#14 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintage Hotel
Vintage Hotel
#64 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#7 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fonti

Address: Via San Francesco, 4, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Fonti 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Le Fonti Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fonti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.