We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parma e Oriente

Save Saved
You added Hotel Parma e Oriente to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Parma e Oriente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Cavallotti, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 109 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value, Great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days here. Top floor room facing the street. Very quiet as this is a restricted traffic street with no busses allowed. Parking is 10 Euro per night or free 4 blocks away. Hotel is very cute and the pool area is relaxing. Ok breakfast, overpriced dinner (we only ate there 1 night).
The owners and staff were just awesome and we really enjoyed the visiting with them.
On the downside: the elevator broke down twice during our stay, once while we were in it! Promptly fixed though.
Our shower in 401 was awful. The angle was messed up and the pressure was minimal.
Overall a great value and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was an OK hotel, quite central in Montecatini Terme. Close to the Funiculare, and close to the centre. The pool was fine, though with limited space for sun bathing.

The rooms were fine - we had to stay in another building close by, but that was OK. The breakfast was OK.

We paid EUR 65 per night for a double room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very impressed by this 3* hotel. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, with helpful staff and excellent value for money. Breakfast was simple but very good. We ate there on two evenings and enjoyed the food. The pool area is very pleasant and a good place to relax after a day's sightseeing. It is easy to get to Lucca, Florence, Pisa etc. by train, so the hotel is a really good base from which to travel around the area without a car. Our room was lovely - we had doors leading on to a small balcony and a further large window overlooking the swimming pool.

Should we re-visit the area we would certainly be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Would like to say good, but mixed experience, so can only give this hotel an average. Good points: hotel is quietly situated, room was very clean, the outside space for our superior room (long balcony overlooking the swimming pool) was good, staff were friendly and helpful, dinner was tasty and typically Italian. Not so good points: breakfast was very basic - nothing hot, very limited choice and the coffee from the machine tasted decidedly weird with the addition of the machine's heated milk. Better with cold milk added. Timing for dinner was quite inflexible at 7.45 - the town is within day trip distance of both Florence and Pisa, but this timing was not helpful if you wanted to stay there until even early evening. The waiters were generally good, but did give the impression that we were stopping them from carrying out their prime purpose - which was to prepare the tables for the next breakfast or dinner service! At one point my pasta was delivered before I'd finished eating my salad, which just had to be moved to accommodate it. However, overall a pleasant hotel and good value for the price.

Room Tip: A superior room on the 4th floor will give you good outdoor space if you want this
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our week in Montecatini and we were very pleased with our choice of hotel, our superior room was very comfortable and being a building 90 years old had lovely high ceilings and 2 windows and a small balcony. The furnishings were charming being hand painted in an Italian classical style. The hotel was exceptionally clean. We swam in the pool which was well maintained and the garden area was very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds and chairs, there was also a very pleasant outdoor seating area. The restaurant was bright and immaculate, breakfast was perfectly adequate and we ate 4 nights in the hotel and enjoyed the good quality €20 set meal with 3 choices the restaurant staff were friendly and very professional. All in all a very good 3* hotel, it would have been nice if there was more tourist information available in the hotel including train and bus timetables which would be easy to rectify.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Parma e Oriente for only one night because I went to a party on Saturday night.
The hotel is situated very near to the main Montecatini public “Spa”.
The rooms are big, simply furnished and a little old but it was clean.
Our room has a little balcony where you can see the swimming pool of the hotel. We didn’t use the swimming pool because it was cold but it looks nice but not so big.
The bathroom was big but old and there wasn’t toilet paper holder… a little lack but not so pleasant!! I think a toilet paper holder doesn’t cost a lot!!
The courtesy line (shower gel, shampoo ect) was very poor.
The breakfast was simple with an automatic machine for coffee, tea, cappuccino.
The staff was gentle.
The parking in Montecatini Terme has a rate of euro 1,50 each hour in the weekend, but if you stay for all the day it’s better to park in the hotel parking for 10 euro a day.
In conclusion if you stay in Montecatini Terme for only one night I suggest you to go to the Hotel Parma e Oriente because the price is not high (59 euro per a double room)… but not expect a luxurious treatment !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

For anyone that is going to Montecatini to take the waters, it is important to feel really comfortable where you stay. I loved the staff immediately, their kindness was authentic. The breakfast room and the pool were great. We had an amazing time and were made to feel very much at home. I was in a party of 3 and our room was quite sufficient and extremely clean. We loved just sitting on the veranda and enjoying the "passeggiata" in the evening. Everyone gets out and walks. A delightful stay, all in all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parma e Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parma e Oriente

Address: Viale Cavallotti, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parma e Oriente 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a semi-pedestrian street in the centre of Montecatini Terme, just 150 metres from the main thermal buildings and magnificent parks, and 400 metres from the funicular to Montecatini Alto, the Parma & Oriente Hotel was built in 1922. Elegant and harmonious, the hotel is enriched by the Liberty terrace that perfectly reflects the style of the building, which has itself been renovated many times, most recently in 2010, and is equipped with all modern comforts without ever betraying its spirit. Everything in this hotel emanates personality, style and balance: the hospitality culture condensed into a harmony of shapes and colors that let you experience a unique and different holiday, aa thermal health spa holiday in the green heart of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Parma e Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parma e Oriente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.