We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parma e Oriente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parma e Oriente to your Saves list
Hotel Parma e Oriente
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Cavallotti, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very impressed by this 3* hotel. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, with helpful staff and excellent value for money. Breakfast was simple but very good. We ate there on two evenings and enjoyed the food. The pool area is very pleasant and a good place to relax after a day's sightseeing. It is easy to get to Lucca, Florence, Pisa etc. by train, so the hotel is a really good base from which to travel around the area without a car. Our room was lovely - we had doors leading on to a small balcony and a further large window overlooking the swimming pool.

Should we re-visit the area we would certainly be happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    77
    25
    7
    0
See reviews for
44
68
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Would like to say good, but mixed experience, so can only give this hotel an average. Good points: hotel is quietly situated, room was very clean, the outside space for our superior room (long balcony overlooking the swimming pool) was good, staff were friendly and helpful, dinner was tasty and typically Italian. Not so good points: breakfast was very basic - nothing hot, very limited choice and the coffee from the machine tasted decidedly weird with the addition of the machine's heated milk. Better with cold milk added. Timing for dinner was quite inflexible at 7.45 - the town is within day trip distance of both Florence and Pisa, but this timing was not helpful if you wanted to stay there until even early evening. The waiters were generally good, but did give the impression that we were stopping them from carrying out their prime purpose - which was to prepare the tables for the next breakfast or dinner service! At one point my pasta was delivered before I'd finished eating my salad, which just had to be moved to accommodate it. However, overall a pleasant hotel and good value for the price.

Room Tip: A superior room on the 4th floor will give you good outdoor space if you want this
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our week in Montecatini and we were very pleased with our choice of hotel, our superior room was very comfortable and being a building 90 years old had lovely high ceilings and 2 windows and a small balcony. The furnishings were charming being hand painted in an Italian classical style. The hotel was exceptionally clean. We swam in the pool which was well maintained and the garden area was very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds and chairs, there was also a very pleasant outdoor seating area. The restaurant was bright and immaculate, breakfast was perfectly adequate and we ate 4 nights in the hotel and enjoyed the good quality €20 set meal with 3 choices the restaurant staff were friendly and very professional. All in all a very good 3* hotel, it would have been nice if there was more tourist information available in the hotel including train and bus timetables which would be easy to rectify.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Parma e Oriente for only one night because I went to a party on Saturday night.
The hotel is situated very near to the main Montecatini public “Spa”.
The rooms are big, simply furnished and a little old but it was clean.
Our room has a little balcony where you can see the swimming pool of the hotel. We didn’t use the swimming pool because it was cold but it looks nice but not so big.
The bathroom was big but old and there wasn’t toilet paper holder… a little lack but not so pleasant!! I think a toilet paper holder doesn’t cost a lot!!
The courtesy line (shower gel, shampoo ect) was very poor.
The breakfast was simple with an automatic machine for coffee, tea, cappuccino.
The staff was gentle.
The parking in Montecatini Terme has a rate of euro 1,50 each hour in the weekend, but if you stay for all the day it’s better to park in the hotel parking for 10 euro a day.
In conclusion if you stay in Montecatini Terme for only one night I suggest you to go to the Hotel Parma e Oriente because the price is not high (59 euro per a double room)… but not expect a luxurious treatment !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

For anyone that is going to Montecatini to take the waters, it is important to feel really comfortable where you stay. I loved the staff immediately, their kindness was authentic. The breakfast room and the pool were great. We had an amazing time and were made to feel very much at home. I was in a party of 3 and our room was quite sufficient and extremely clean. We loved just sitting on the veranda and enjoying the "passeggiata" in the evening. Everyone gets out and walks. A delightful stay, all in all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel four nights and it is very good situated in central Montecatini. The room was clean, but rather small. But everything worked out fine with the room nevertheless. The pool was nice and breakfast OK. What bothered us more was the staff, who was very arrogant and unfriendly. The girl at the reception seemed to know only one word "no"... Wifi cost EUR 1,-/hour. Furthermore they didn't put the wine in the fridge, which they saved for the next day so we had to drink warm white wine and when pointing this out they were very arrogant.. So we won't stay at this hotel when coming back to Montecatini as we think service is very important. And service is not what you get at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is an absolute gem. The owners and their delightful family are a joy. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly even though we could not speak Italian. Nothing was too much trouble. Both the exterior and interior were very pleasant, well furnished and with good detail. We had breakfast each morning which was continental but with a wide choice. You helped yourself to any type of coffee, tea, hot chocolate from a superb machine, but if you wished staff would be quickly on the scene to help. Dinner can also be ordered, typical authentic Italian food. The bedroom we had was more than adequate for us and had a good bathroom, shower but no bath. One of the most important items when staying in a hotel is the cleanliness and we could not find fault with this anywhere throughout the whole hotel complex, including gardens and swimming pool. It is situated in an excellent position, with beautiful gardens close by and of course the famous spa's. We recommend this hotel and hopefully we may be able to return one day as we enjoyed our stay so much. We cannot emphasize enough the feeling of true friendliness of everyone we were fortunate to meet, from the owners to all the staff at this hotel. I hope you may experience it too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Parma e Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parma e Oriente

Address: Viale Cavallotti, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parma e Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a semi-pedestrian street in the centre of Montecatini Terme, just 150 metres from the main thermal buildings and magnificent parks, and 400 metres from the funicular to Montecatini Alto, the Parma & Oriente Hotel was built in 1922. Elegant and harmonious, the hotel is enriched by the Liberty terrace that perfectly reflects the style of the building, which has itself been renovated many times, most recently in 2010, and is equipped with all modern comforts without ever betraying its spirit. Everything in this hotel emanates personality, style and balance: the hospitality culture condensed into a harmony of shapes and colors that let you experience a unique and different holiday, aa thermal health spa holiday in the green heart of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Parma e Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parma e Oriente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.