We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly positive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Panoramic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Panoramic to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Panoramic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bustichini 65, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mostly positive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed 3 nights here as part of a Travelsphere tour. Initial impression entering the hotel was one that is very clean and looked after with a receptionist ever present.

The hotel itself has an unusual design where there are 3 corridors to every floor and finding the room number was quite easy. A central circular stairwell is in place for the fitter members of the public but there are also 2 lifts provided which fit up to 5 people each although this is obviously reduced if there are suitcases as well.

The room my wife and I was allocated was was on the 3rd floor at the end of a corridor. As you entered the room, there was a door to the left leading to a small balcony area which overlooked the sister hotel across the road. This hotel contained spa facilities but I didn't use these so cant comment on them i'm afraid.
There were 2 coat hooks just to the right of the door and then immediately following this was a mirrored door which lead to a bathroom. The bathroom contained toilet, bidet, sink area, hairdryer and a bath with a shower attachment and curtain. Water was hot, day and night and the bathroom clean.
The main bedroom was large. A kingsize bed with bedside lamps either side, a unit below a large window which looked up the hill and the old town (nice view) and a TV. Bed was comfortable and an extra pillow was provided in the wardrobe. There was also a safe located in the room.

I liked the food in this hotel. Salad was readily available during dinner sessions and the food was tasty. Breakfast was basic with cereals, yogurts, milk, cheese, ham, etc. Tea cups were small so I found myself having to get up 4 times to make loads more tea.
On the negative side, I thought the drinks were quite expensive and I only had one power point in my room which was located in the bathroom so I needed to be careful there. Otherwise, this was a good place to stay.

There was a swimming pool out in the patio area which I saw one german tour guide brave the elements. It was resonable clean but with the weather at the end of September being a little cooler, I suggest this is for the braver at heart.

Overall - it was a nice stay in a quaint area. Recommend visit the old town by the furnicular and walking round the old roman spa 5 minutes from the hotel.

Room Tip: The single rooms are quite small so a double if you need or can afford to would make you feel that m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    25
    19
    6
See reviews for
34
32
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Italian cities. The Hotel looks very good from the outside and the rooms were clean but could do with a refurb. The bed was rather hard . The bathroom needed attention, the shower over the bath leaked and flooded the floor. The hand towel are like the teatowels we would use for glasses. The bath towels very thin towelling. The air condidtioning is turned off in September so room very hot as window only opened tiny bit at the top.
The breakfast was basic continental buffet with quarters of brownish apple as the fruit choice. If you weren't quick things ran out as there were two other tour groups in the hotel and the nicer foods not replaced. The evening meal was a joke. Soup or pasta for starter. The pasta course was OK but some of the soup very salty and inedible. The main course had two choices ie. prague smoked ham or tomatoe and mozzarella on the first day with semi roasted potatoes. You could help yourself to salad which consisted of 3 different types of wet lettuce, tomatoes and cucumber. The second day was OK we actually had a nice pasta and roast chicken only it was pot luck whether you got a nice breast or a skinny leg. The third day was the worst. Tomato and bread soup, very salty followed by a miniscule piece of fish (menu didn't say what fish)with partly cooked slices of potato on top with overcooked peas and mashed potato slop that still had the water in. No one ate this course!! The deserts were a choice of cake or fruit every day grapes and melon. Everyone in our party made sure we had a good lunch out to compensate for the horrid meals. Why couldn't the hotel serve us italian meals inside of trying to serve us English.
The wine and drinks were very expensive compared to the other two hotels we stayed in. The waiters were OK but we got the impression they were not happy doing their job. On the last evening they even put a tip bowl on the table for us all to contribute. As this was the fish day the bowl stayed empty as we noticed is was on the other tables. We wouldn't want to stay here again. We noticed the travel company is using this hotel again next year. Be warned!! Come on Grand Panoramic do something about the food. I am sure most of us would appreciate some excellent pasta for a main course as this was what you cooked the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Also stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a coach tour of Italy. Can only say we had an excellent room, at end of corridor, very large, our balcony overlooked pool, double window aspect, with fridge and good air conditioning. OK continental breakfast, and good evening 3 course meals. All hotel staff were excellent, we found the waiters very attentive and pleasant. No problems with charges etc, can certainly recomment this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: If possible ask for the room at end of corrridor, overlooking pool area, these are very large, doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September 2012 as part of a coach tour of Italy. Hotel entrance appears quite grand on arrival. Bedroom was a reasonable size with a strange shaped roof balcony.
Waiters were very curt and gave the impression that they did not want to be there. Plates were roughly handled by waiters. Bar was seriously over priced, even by hotel standards, 5 euros for a can of coke! Normal hotel scam of forgetting to give you your change until challenged.
Breakfast OK by Italian standards, limited quantity of food for main meals.
As others have said, in its day this would have been a good hotel, just rather tired and dated.
Air conditoning runs but does not cool and there were still plenty on mosquitos about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The staff were friendly on arrival and throughout even though we were not supposed to be staying here, the Casa Rossa had problems so they put us here. The pool area was relaxing, especially at night when we could dip out feet in and drink latte and beer! our room was nice, the bed was a bit lumpy and the pillows were hard but we were lucky compared to others in our group as they had to stay at the Casa Rossa. the wallpaper in our room was a bit... naff. the bathroom was nice but there wasnt much room for showering! We didnt eat at this hotel so i cant comment on the food but it did smell delicious. overall friendly environment and luxurious setting!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

our room was really really small! we couldn't open our luggage and we had to jump the beds...
the fridge didn't work and the mattress really uncomfortable...so i got back pain!we had not even the wardrobe.
maybe they given us the worst room because we had special discount?
the hotel is hold and really needs a renovation and seems they don't take care about the garden and around.
anyway the room and the toilet were very clean and the staff very nice.
the location is good: close to the park and the city center...quiet and silent.
the food is quite good, but the portions tend to be very scarce and the menu monotonous.
the drinks are not included and super expensive.
if you want to use the garage you have to pay 8 euros x day...????
you pay like 4 star but you get less then 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey. Uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed as part of a coach tour at this Hotel for five days from July 8th,2012 with my husband & friend.. As you arrive the entrance & the reception area is very grand, although the path is made with cobbles making it difficult to pull suitcases.
Our room was ok. We were on 2nd floor @ the back. The carpet was badly stained & the air conditioning kept me awake most of the night, so noisy. The towels for hand & bath are like tea towels. It was clean though.
Breakfast consisted of a choice of 2 cereals, yogurt, dry bread(sliced & been left), cheese & ham, very bland. No fruit ever. Dinner was very small portions and not very good. Although it was a set menu as it was included in the price. But we eat out 2 nights.
Swimming pool was lovely & staff helpful especially on the desk.
All in all a basic Hotel, no frills but clean. As i said definately not 4star but for what we paid ok. Funicular 3mins walk down Hill lovely, Montecatini Alto well worth a visit. Also another 10mins a nice little market, quite cheap & a few good bars. Wouldnt stay @ this Hotel again but Montecatini Terme & surrounding area wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Panoramic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Panoramic

Address: Viale Bustichini 65, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Panoramic 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Panoramic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Panoramic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.