We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reale to your Saves list
Hotel Reale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palestro 7, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff here were amazing, they were so helpful and accommodating and very friendly!
Our room although was a little dated it was very clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was brilliant with loads of choice, couldn't have asked for a better stay. Special thanks to Allessandro who was brilliant with my emails prior to our stay.
We used the hotels free bikes which were fun. The pool was lovely too.
All in all you can't fault this hotel, it is a perfect location to tour Tuscany and I recommend using the trains to get about. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the Centrale station.
The town itself is beautiful with a fair amount to do. You will not be disappointed with your stay here, it's thoroughly recommended. Thanks to everyone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
44
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel #3 on our 14 day tour. From the first impression to the day we left we loved this place. The gorgeous courtyard with the shady canopy of trees with all the tables and chairs were so welcoming -- even during a brief evening thunderstorm! We stay here four nights during our tour and used it as a hub to tour other Tuscan towns. We looked forward to every evening on the patio with a bottle of wine. The pool was beautiful but very cold! The hotel is very well situated - great proximity to the train station especially (Montecatini Centro). Close to the square with lots of restaurants, bars, music etc close by. Walking around the city was just so pleasant and laid back. Our room was very nice with a great balcony overlooking the courtyard. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice with plenty of lighting and hot water but the quirky bathtub made for a challenging shower! Breakfast was served with flair every morning in the dining room with assigned tables. Coffee machine, juice machine, cold cereals, cakes, fruit, yogurt and cold plates of meats and cheeses with croissants and breads which we found to be the norm in Italy. Breakfast was the only meal we had there. Had drinks at the bar one night and enjoyed chatting with the bartender. The only CON we had with this hotel was that the room key also activates and DEactivates the electricity so there was no way to leave a phone/Ipad charging during the day. AC worked quite well which was a big plus as it was quite warm during our stay.We truly loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again. DO NOT MISS MONTECATINI ALTO!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Having just returned from a week at the Hotel Reale I feel that I must write a review and tell you what an absolute gem this hotel is if you are thinking of going to Monticatinni you would be hard pushed to find anywhere better the rooms were beautiful and clean with bed linen changed midweek and towels changed daily the food was excellent with a selection to suit every taste the outside area was lovely to sit in on an evening and the pool was very inviting after a hot day sightseeing the staff friendly and helpful
WOULD I RETURN WITHOUT A DOUBT WOULD I RECOMMEND ABSOLUTELY

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Close to everything, the staff especially Don Matteo the manager was knowledgeable, and informative, its clean, just a walk from the main street, I loved staying there and would recommended it to everyone from South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a great location for a hotel when visiting Montecatini Terme, a spa town. Parking in the town is really difficult but they have garage parking at a cost of 8 euros a day.
The staff members are always friendly and welcoming. We had bed and breakfast here because we enjoy eating out on holiday, Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice from cooked -on request - to cold buffet.
There is an outdoor pool that would be great in the Summer but although very warm outside - the pool was rather cool for April.
The only negative is that the bedrooms are rather small and we had noisy neighbours for the first 2 days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just returned from staying at this hotel and it certainly lived up to its expectations.

The rooms were basic but clean and the beds were comfortable with linen changed every day.

As we were with National holidays we had two nights evening meals which were good in quality and very tasty.

The staff were very helpful and obliging. Well done and thank you for a pleasant stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My sister and I booked this hotel for one week in August 2013. While we were initially pleased with the cost of the room, we were very disappointed with the service(s) that followed:

PROs:
Friendly staff (although only one or two members of staff speak fluent English)

Great location within walking distance to a park, restaurants, 'town centre', Funicolare cable car ride, markets etc.

Clean room, with towels changed daily.

A good range of breakfast items (you can request hot items from the staff).

We received complimentary Prosecco and snacks for a national holiday.

CONS:

1)The swimming pool is absolutely freezing, and so along with the majority of other hotel guests, we did not use it once.

2)The price of wi-fi was ridiculous, and one day when the system was down, our money was not refunded.

3) The price of in-hotel snacks was appalling. Over £4 for a grilled cheese sandwich, when in a cafe two minutes away it cost just £1-£2!

4) We did not received the complimentary drink we were promised as a reward for booking through their website.

5) Our air-con broke and we had to wait two, very warm nights without it, until someone was sent to fix it.

6) As the hotel is family run, tensions ran high and on our final day, a huge argument erupted in the reception area of the hotel which lasted for well over one hour. Hotel guests looked worried, and I was horrified at how unprofessional it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reale

Address: Via Palestro 7, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#8 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reale 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Reale is an example of a typical Tuscan building, immersed in the tranquility of its garden with secular plants and the comfortable swimming pool provided with hydro-massage. The owners of the hotel have been in the hotel business for three generations. Their management together with the comforts and the modern equipments provided, guarantee the guests a pleasant and relaxing sojourn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Reale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reale Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.