We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for train and car travellers in Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel La Riviera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Marconi 17, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Convenient location for train and car travellers in Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This clean, close to the station, small hotel offered us a friendly and relaxed experience in Montecatini. Vincenzo and his wife, Antonella, prepared a wonderful breakfast each day and also provided the option of a 3 course, delicious dinner that we enjoyed on one evening. Montecatini itself is, in parts, is a little 'tired', although a drive up to Montecatini Alto is a must! It was a very convenient place from which to visit Pisa, Lucca and Florence by train, with cheap and reliable trains on a regular basis. We hired a car from Europcar from Montecatini, which would have been cheaper online. This allowed us to visit the Chianti area, Siena and the gorgeous San Gimignano. Overall it was a great value hotel, with wonderful hosts, in a very comfortable, accessible location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
47
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights (23/10/12-27/10/12) The hotel is a short walk from all the shops/bars/restaurants in the area! But you would be crazy to eat anywhere else but la riviera! The food is amazing, and there's loads of it, so make sure you have a light lunch :) Vincenzo is a sweetie, he's extremely helpful! Theres loads to do in the surrounding area as well and As you can see from the other reviews its clean, welcoming, comfortable etc. it's a "perfect place to stay" ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipton Oliffe
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

La Riviera is convenient to get to as it is a 4/5 min walk up the street directly opposite Montecatini Terme station (beware: Montecatini has 2 stations and the Centro station is further away). The hotel is about a 8/9 minute walk up a straight road to town centre.Montecatini is convenient for travel to Florence, Pisa, Lucca and Viareggio by train - which is a very cheap way to travel and avoids the dreaded ZTL (no cars here zones in Florence and Pisa). If you get car hire I suggest you look these ZTL zones up in detail, as failure to comply will be very expensive. Lucca is a lovely place not to be missed and make sure you go up to Montecatini Alto.Have a coffee before you go as Montecatini Alto prices are 3 times what you would pay in Montecatini Terme.For toilets in Montecatini Alto ask for the key from the funicular railway attendant at the top.La Riviera is clean and comfortable and what it lacks in modern up to date bedroom furniture is more than made up for by the excellent food and welcome. Take the evening meal option as it is inexpensive and very good in quantity and quality ( seconds are available, even having a second (different)starter that you hadn't ordered!).Simple, not particularly expensive, ingredients but cooked to perfection by Antonella. I am quite fussy about food but I was impressed.The house wine is ok but it only costs 7€ a bottle or 1 and a half € a glass. Vincenzo will chat to you in English or Italian and this is a pleasurable change from places where they don't seem to have time for human contact. You will no doubt already know that Florence (and Pisa to a lesser extent) are much more expensive for hotels than Montecatini, so using the cheap trains and using Montecatini as a CENTRALLY PLACED base is a good idea. Also recommended is the confectioners Giovannini just off the main square (Piazza del Popolo) where you will get a BRILLIANT ice cream.(although Vincenzo said La Goma was an even better ice cream parlour, though I find that hard to believe).Admire the window displays at Giovannini's and you can have a good inexpensive coffee there (though there are only 4 seats and no tables!) as it is only really set up for people who want to stand and have a quick coffee. The automatic ticket machines in the stations are easy to use and take cash or credit card or both.You can choose your language before embarking on the ticket purchase process. Don't forget to validate your train ticket by having the date stamped on it at the small machines dotted around the station. You then have 6 hours to use it. Checks we found to be infrequent but I think it is 40€ each if you get caught (not recommended!). There are also buses from Montecatini Terme station to various locations eg Florence. I believe the journey time is not much different to the trains and is probably a bit cheaper.

Room Tip: Balconies at the front seem advantageous but there is traffic noise starting at 7 / 7.30 from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My first time in Italy was Easter 2012 and La Riviera had very good reviews and was reasonably priced. I took a chance and was thoroughly impressed. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the service was second to none, very polite and attentive, especially during meals, and was ideally located just a short walk from the main square and train station. The food was excellent and just kept on coming, and I have a big appetite! The owner, Vincenzo, clearly prides himself on giving an excellent service throughout the stay and made us feel more than welcome. I intend to return to Italy next year and will definitely be staying at La Rivieria.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor provide a beautiful view of Montecatini
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Montecatini's jewel of a hotel! Our stay at La Riviera topped off our trip to Italy with its welcoming owner Vincenzo making us feel very much welcome at his hotel. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent and the food was a perfect authentic taste of Italy with plenty of it, along with the wine! I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and families who are visiting this part of Italy for its ideal location - with the train station being in walking distance, the local facilities in town and its lovely parks for those after dinner strolls.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

For anyone looking for a friendly welcome in Monticatini then look no
Further.
Having just returned home
From another stay in la Rivera all u can say is excellant. It's not only the warm welcome that this establishment gives. But the superbe food. And plenty of
It. Look forward to going back again for my 6th visit next year. Thankyou again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Just got back from Montecatini and I am very pleased to say that our stay at Hotel La Riviera was lovely. The owner Vincenzo was very welcoming and attentive and the place had a friendly, cosy atmosphere. Our room was clean tidy and smart, with very plain and neat furnishings. The food was a real treat, typical italien family fare, with good wine and great service. I would say that this would be a good hotel to choose for a romantic weekend away or a fmaily holiday as it is near enough to town facilities for convienience but far away enough to limit traffic and noise. This town is very pretty and has great rail connections if you are visiting the many tourist sights in the north of Italy.

Room Tip: Ask the hosts - they are very helpful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Riviera

Address: Viale Marconi 17, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Riviera Hotel
La Riviera Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.