We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Puccini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puccini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puccini to your Saves list
Hotel Puccini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Roma 95-97, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Puccini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at Hotel Puccini. We used this hotel as a base for our travels to Pisa, Lucca, Sienna. The hotel ownership and staff were incredible. They booked tours for us on short notice, recommended restaurants in the area that were great. The service was impeccable and the room that we were in had a balcony and was spacious. Everything was clean and the price of the room was the best value of all of the hotel rooms that we stayed at during our 16 night trip.

The room rate included breakfast. They have reasonable rates for wine during Happy hour and their on-site dinners are magnificent (30 Euro's per person). The staff made you feel as a valued guest-like it used to be. When we checked out, all of the staff came out to greet us and wish us a fond farwell. truly "Old School" hospitality and Charm.

We would not hesitate to go out of our way to stay at this hotel because of the value and service we experienced

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    59
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
94
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I picked the hotel because of its high ranking on tripadvisor, but would say the hotel was average at best. The biggest problem was a very hot room - the air-conditioning barely worked at all and since the windows faced the noisy street, sleeping with the windows open was also difficult. The room itself was dark and a little tired. Breakfast was very average as well. The staff was very friendly, but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolffischer, Owner at Hotel Puccini, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear customer I am so sorry to read that your stay at Hotel Puccini was not very comfortable because of the failure of the air conditioning.

The AC centralized system is a modern and powerful one. Puccini's air conditioning unit was rebuilt in 2003 with the renovation works of the hotel.

Just wonder why you didn't simply inform our reception staff, they would have immediatly solved the problem.

On the occasion of a new visit of our city, pls. come back to us, you'll be our special guest at no extra costs

All the best to you and your nice family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place is well situated for visiting Tuscany. The hotel is nice and cosy, everything is very clean and the rooms have been shined up lately with new beds among others (a great +).
Hotel personal very kind and helpful.
Only minus is the (obligatory) dinner which is plain and without interest. And we don't like to eat at fixed hours.

Room Tip: All rooms to the street are a little noisy but have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

As a group the society (www.witchend.com) organised a trip to locations in Malcoms' book, Three Towers in Tuscany. These are my personal views. The Hotel Puccini was an excellent base for visiting Florence. The staff and management delightful. They were attentive and polite. The food was 'good to very good" for a group tour. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel. The rooms were very clean and showers were excellent. Lighting in rooms could be reviewed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent almost a week at the Hotel Puccini and we're made to feel almost like family. We really hated to leave. Both the owners and their staff went out of their way to help us find our way and recommend places to visit and good restaurants. At the front desk, Elena and Steffy were always smiling and ready to help. We are grateful to them for making our stay a happy one.
The hotel is centrally located in Montecatini and makes a great base for visiting Florence and other Tuscan locations. It is an easy walk from the hotel to the railway station and this puts most of Tuscany at your fingertips. Dinner and breakfast are available at the hotel and the hard working restaurant staff do a great job. If you are looking for a great four-star hotel in Montecatini, you will have a hard time doing better than the Hotel Puccini.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent four nights at Hotel Puccini, and overall I would say we enjoyed our stay. The staff was very inviting, most of the staff spoke basic level English, and were very friendly towards Americans. The hotel was located about 5 blocks from a train station, which is essential if you want to travel to other locations within the country. (Below I will leave a train path we used to get to Rome)

We would of given it 5 stars, but we had a minor communication error, in which the staff accidentally booked us for a tour we did not want to take. It burned one of our days, on something we didn't want to do, and we were unable cancel the tour. In the end we chopped it up to a communication error... Still, the staff remained friendly and apologized for the mishap.

Aside from the accidental tour fiasco we really enjoyed the hotel, the bed/bathroom were clean, the staff was very friendly, the food was good, and I would recommend it to future travelers wanting to experience the Tuscan area.

The staff receives kudos for the following things:
- Letting us use the printer
- Scheduling taxis to/from airport
- Recommending some excellent wine :)
- Allowing us to stay in our room well past checkout time until our flight was available to leave

Here is a train path to Rome should anyone need it:
Hotel.......................... ->.........Montecatini Centro.......~10 min..................Walking
Montecatini Centro.....->.........Firenze SMN..................~1 hour..................Train
Firenze SMN.............. ->.........Roma Tiburtina..............~1 hour 20 min......Train (Pre-Book Italo)
Roma Tiburtina.......... ->.........Roma Termini................~10 min..................Subway

Be careful traveling at night... the Montecatini Train station gets a bit shady after dark.

Tips for Americans:
- ALWAYS GET A PRICE UPFRONT! (especially with Taxis)
- Never take an on-tour meal, it's expensive mass produced bulk crap food. Always opt for "free time" and find your own food.
- Use exact change when dealing with street salesmen
- Make an attempt to speak the local language. The locals will treat you better.
- Don't wear T-Shirts with text or logos
- Don't wear sneakers
- Don't wear your military backpacks
- Refrain from Polos
- Refrain from Name Brand clothing
- Wear Button-ups, blazers, loafers, fitting jeans, sweaters, lightweight jackets.
- Have fun but keep quiet, Americans are LOUD!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Puccini and Montecatini were both wonderful surprises. The hotel is located near the town square and 10 minutes from the train station. It is owned and operated by a very kind and warm couple who address every question and request personally and promptly. Each time you walk in the door someone stands up and approaches, asking about your day and how he/she can help. The hotel is immaculately clean and tastefully furnished with high-end furniture and draperies. The shower was so high tech I never did figure out all the options in there...The breakfast buffet was perfect, with home cooked pasteries, yogurt, fruit, cheese, cold meats and boiled eggs. Dinners were 4 courses of expertly prepared Italian favorites, including more wonderful desserts. I had to come home to stop eating. Lucca is about 30 minutes away, as is Florence, and easily done by train. Montecatini Alto, the old city, is reached by funiculare, and is a gem with a view. The spas in Montecatini are beautiful as structures and gardens. Montecatini is a destination alone with a lively night life and market in the square. It was a great trip and I'll go back someday in the Spring.

Room Tip: We had a lovely quiet room on the second story facing the street with twin beds and a refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puccini

Address: Corso Roma 95-97, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puccini 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Puccini is located on the Corso Roma, the main city shopping Street and few minutes from Montecatini Railway Station. The Hotel Puccini breathes a puccinian atmosphere. The hotel is named after the famous Tuscan composer. He attended Montecatini assiduosly and here he wrote some parts of his famous works. The Hotel has been recently completely renewed. Every room is soundproofed, with a modern shower, central air conditioning which can be individually regulated, satellite tv, and WIFI internet connection. A cosy bar a kitchen run by the owners make this a clea, familiar and nice Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Puccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puccini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.