We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minerva Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Minerva Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Minerva Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 14, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was part of a Cosmos tour and we stayed at Minerva for 1 night. My room was small with a single bed but as I was only using it to sleep and the water was nice and hot, it was all I needed. The breakfast next morning was one of the best so far on my tour - with lovely bacon and eggs and this is the first time toast was available. We had an included dinner in the hotel which included chunky vegetable soup, a pasta dish, chicken and green beans and a cake/icecream slice for dessert - all were very nice. Besides the best breakfast so far, Minerva had the best cappuccino I had tasted so far. Thank you to the lovely man behind the bar who made it for me. I found the staff in the restaurant and bar to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
20
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Thank you Hotel Minerva for making our stay in Montecatini extra special. Special thanks to Mary for making our dinner and breakfast very pleasing and very memorable. This is one experience that my family and I will never forget:-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Although the hotel is in a central area it is very dated and the upkeep poor. The room was very depressing with a bad smell. The shutter and the lock were very difficult to open. The A worn patch on the carpet. Peeling ceiling in the bathroom. The air conditioning worked constantly and we did not manage to turn it off at night. The bathroom was also dated but roomy with running hot water. Buffet breakfast was average but plenty. The evening meal was very good. The staff in the restaurant very friendly and helpful. We traveled in a group but I would not choose this hotel again. The general atmosphere is very depressing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Cute old hotel, lovely location. My favorite bathroom, large with huge bathtub. We were on first floor above lobby with lovely balcony. Quite frankly I do not remember the food . The breakfast was fine, the only that I recall scrambled folks their eggs and served hot right onto their plates. One friendly older guy waiter, and a very unfriendly blonde older woman.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel must have been something spectacular during its day.  Stayed here as part of a high school group during the March break.  It's a bit dated but the rooms were spacious for Europe.  The beds were a bit hard and the pillows a bit flat.  Although the hotel was not noisy, voices and noises traveled quite easily though out.  The bathroom again was a bit dated but very roomy.  I would have loved to explore around the hotel more but there was never time.  The area looked interesting.  The food for supper was excellent and the service excellent.  Breakfast was also fairly good with a variety of bread, meats, fruits cheeses and cereals.  Wireless internet was available for a $5 fee.  The was also a good variety of juices and coffees available.  Other than the fact that it needs an update, the hotel was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam. Andhra Pradesh
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Worst hotel I have ever seen in Europe. Al-tough located in convenient location, food and breakfast worst. Bad service. Lousy staff. Very bad rooms. Suffocating in summer as no fans and no breeze from outside. Horrible experience. Never to stay again. Needs lot of renovation

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minervapalace, Direttore at Hotel Minerva Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir ,
we are very sorry and so surprised about it. It's difficult for us to understand it, because all reviews about our hotel are very different.
Then, we cannot find out, how the fan in your room was off as usually, air conditioning system is working 24 hours per day.
Really we cannot believe that you are talking about our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a lovely old world hotel in a geat location (centre of town is short walk). Unfortunately, the rooms stink of cigarette smoke and showing the years. The rooms do have a fridge. The food at the hotel was not great. Try something in town. For ice-cream head to Giovanini in town, known for its homemade ice-cream. Note that the hotel does charge for wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as the street is noisy with late night revelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Minerva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva Palace

Address: Via Cavour 14, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minerva Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Minerva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Minerva Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.