We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minerva Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Minerva Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Minerva Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 14, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One night only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Cute old hotel, lovely location. My favorite bathroom, large with huge bathtub. We were on first floor above lobby with lovely balcony. Quite frankly I do not remember the food . The breakfast was fine, the only that I recall scrambled folks their eggs and served hot right onto their plates. One friendly older guy waiter, and a very unfriendly blonde older woman.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
24
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel must have been something spectacular during its day.  Stayed here as part of a high school group during the March break.  It's a bit dated but the rooms were spacious for Europe.  The beds were a bit hard and the pillows a bit flat.  Although the hotel was not noisy, voices and noises traveled quite easily though out.  The bathroom again was a bit dated but very roomy.  I would have loved to explore around the hotel more but there was never time.  The area looked interesting.  The food for supper was excellent and the service excellent.  Breakfast was also fairly good with a variety of bread, meats, fruits cheeses and cereals.  Wireless internet was available for a $5 fee.  The was also a good variety of juices and coffees available.  Other than the fact that it needs an update, the hotel was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam. Andhra Pradesh
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Worst hotel I have ever seen in Europe. Al-tough located in convenient location, food and breakfast worst. Bad service. Lousy staff. Very bad rooms. Suffocating in summer as no fans and no breeze from outside. Horrible experience. Never to stay again. Needs lot of renovation

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minervapalace, Direttore at Hotel Minerva Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir ,
we are very sorry and so surprised about it. It's difficult for us to understand it, because all reviews about our hotel are very different.
Then, we cannot find out, how the fan in your room was off as usually, air conditioning system is working 24 hours per day.
Really we cannot believe that you are talking about our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a lovely old world hotel in a geat location (centre of town is short walk). Unfortunately, the rooms stink of cigarette smoke and showing the years. The rooms do have a fridge. The food at the hotel was not great. Try something in town. For ice-cream head to Giovanini in town, known for its homemade ice-cream. Note that the hotel does charge for wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as the street is noisy with late night revelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had an unexpected stay at the Hotel Minerva in Montecatini Italy! It was delightful!
A gracious host, spacious hotel room with comfortable beds, it was spotlessly clean, and we had a delicious meal.....Lovely little spa town!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was one of the hotels we stayed in during our trip with a tour company. Our room was huge, clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. No balcony and our window seemed to look out onto an alleyway so not much of a view but we weren't in our room for very long periods anyway. The dinner provided through the tour company was really good and we were able to get a decent self-serve breakfast. Montecatini is a wonderful, old, Italian town. This hotel is near the main square where there is lots of shopping. One evening, we went to a free music concert in the church in the square. Just sitting in the square and watching the world go by with a great espresso and an Italian gelato was such a treat. Montecatini is within driving distance of Florence and would be a wonderful place for a long-stay holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We took a Trafalgar tour and stayed in 6 rooms in various Italian cities. This was my favorite. We lucked out on being assigned one of the biggest rooms with a balcony. It was clean. The staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet was great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Minerva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva Palace

Address: Via Cavour 14, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minerva Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Minerva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Minerva Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.