We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for Tuscan Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale IV Novembre, 2 B, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Babylon, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Tuscan Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here as part of our Cooking in Noble Tuscany Tour. Since we were on a cooking tour it was no surprise when we had dinner at the restaurant that the food and service were excellent. The location was great as a home base for visiting beautiful Tuscany. We had a nice 4th floor room with 2 balconies, however there was a water leak above the balconies that made it unusable and it was not fixed until the day we were leaving. Also, the furniture in the room was a little dated. The good thing was we didn't spend too much time in the room and the price was good. Pluses include the employees, who all went out of their way to provide exceptional service, and the new spa which is 5 star!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sir:
I would like to thank you very much indeed for the nice review that you have so kindly written about your stay in my hotel.I am very happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel services and I sincerely hope that you will return as very welcome guests.
With sincere expressions of appreciation and gratitude Yours faithfully,

Eugenio Pancioli-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    52
    23
    10
    24
See reviews for
40
71
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our travel group stayed at the Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe while touring the Tuscan countryside. This hotel had an old world elegance and charm to it. The staff made us feel like family. The location was great for getting out to restaurants, shops and just walking through the town with the locals after dinner, as well as close proximity to many other cities such as Sienna, Pisa, Florence, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We are so glad to receive your feedback and to read the kind words you spent to describe your stay in our Hotel!
We saw you visited us last year, we are glad to invite you again to discover our brand new SPA and the additional services we offer.
Thanking you again,
we send our kindest regards from sunny Tuscany !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Curates egg - good in parts, staff brilliant, however cleaning of rooms a bit vague. we travelled in a group and food was cooked OK, set meals at set times, but pathetic choice, at the end of a week I could have killed for fresh fruit, veg or salad! Did not use restaurant so unable to comment. Breakfast in particular lacking in anything fresh or a selection of breads. Some rooms updated and gorgeous, others not so.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your review and we are sorry to find you disappointed on a few points, especially the following, which in our opinion do not reflect the reality:

1- “ Set meals at set times” = Upon your request (a group of 92 Bridge players) we served dinner in 1 hour and 15 minutes (including time to take drink orders) to allow you play at the tournament at established time. You understand that meals and times HAD DUTIFULLY TO BE SET….!!
2- “Pathetic Choice” = Every day we proposed on the Dinner Menu, choice between 2 First Courses ( typical soups and a pastas) , 2Main dishes (choice among different meats, poultry, fishes, omelets alternating the choice day by day), Every day 2 cooked vegetables as side dish, Dessert. Fresh fruit salad every night. Might you had had the need to eat a salad bowl, you could have asked for (as other customers did) and we would have served you with pleasure.
3- “Did not use restaurant” ……mmh … Sorry, we thought you eat in our Hotel …. in the wide and naturally lit “Granduchi Restaurant” mentioned even in the Michelin Guide….!
4- “Breakfast lacking in anything fresh or a selection of breads” …. This is the list of each piece (salty and sweet) present at the breakfast buffet:
Scrambled eggs, Boiled eggs, (Fried eggs and omelets upon request) Crunchy hot bacon, Yellow cheese, Tuscan salami, Mortadella cold cut, White sandwich bread, Wholemeal bread, bread rolls, Gluten free bread, Rusks, Low-fat yogurt and fruit yogurt, Corn flakes, Muesli,
5 types of jams, Honey, butter chocolate cream
Cakes and pastries daily made by our Pastry Chef : 3 different fresh cakes, Plain croissant, Croissant with chocolate, croissant with cream croissant with jam; Plum cake
Canned fruit and fruit salad in syrup, fresh fruit upon request (never denied)

Honestly, Sir, we accept any constructive criticism as long as it is truthful

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I spent four nights at the Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe last week, when I played a golf competition in the nearby Montecatini Golf course.I really enjoyed the excellent service provided by the hotel staff and the luxury of my room, which was equipped with all comforts.The hotel restaurant has a warm and cozy atmosphere and food is simply gorgeous! I especially enjoyed the new Spa, which features many treatment rooms, steam rooms, massage services and a whirlpool.
I will definitely come again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sir:
I would like to thank you very much indeed for the lovely review that you have been so kind to write.
I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in my hotel.
I really hope to have you again as a very welcome guest.
I remain with obsequious greetings and sincere expressions of esteem.

Eugenio Pancioli
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

On. Arrival the hotel felt like understated elegance. It was in the style of a grand old hotel. It is in a shady avenue 100 metres from the main town.
I am with a group and are being fed separately from other guests. The breakfasts are very sparse with no fresh fruit.
We have to give our choice of menu 24hrs in advance for dinner which is not ideal. No coffee/tea is served with dinner.
The staff are a joy - helpful and with a great sense of humour.
My room is comfortable but some people are complaining about the temperature - too hot and too cold
Again I can receive wifi in my room but others cannot.
For me generally a nice hotel others not so good.

Room Tip: Wifi even numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sir
In response to your notes for which we thank the aim of improving our services, we would like to point out that:
point 1
your group consists of more than 90 people, as well as another big group from Germany of 50 people, and both were placed in the main restaurant of the Grand Dukes, which is the biggest and the only one suitable to accommodate so many guests (up to 200 guests) we can ensure that it is not a discrimination as you thought.
point 2
we take the menu order 1 day before just to meet your needs: you asked for a dinner served in 1h15 and then play bridge, any human being will agree that it is TECHNICALLY IMPOSSIBLE take 92 orders, bring them into the kitchen, cook and serve in 1 hour and 15 minutes !
point 3
with regard to the wi-fi it is 'free and cover all public areas, including the outdoor terrace, and in '80% of the rooms while in the remaining 20% by choice, are "non- electromagnetic pollution", which some customers we require.

We thank you for according us your preference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location is great for this hotel, about a 10 minute walk from the train station. It is a very grand building, with great architecture in the lobby and stairwells, etc. That said, the rooms are bit dated and all the windows have huge sliding shutters with a note saying that the hotel suggests that for safety, the sliding shutters are closed each night. It makes it very dark. We found the room a very good size, with the family quad being a great thing. My wife and I had a queen bed, (bit hard) and the boys each had twin beds in a separate room. They also had their own bath, which was excellent. The first morning, when my wife took a shower in our bath, the floor flooded with quite a bit of water. We toweled it up and thought it might be due to the European shower set up. However, we ran it again and I could see the water coming out from UNDER the tub fairly quickly. We quickly told the front desk on our way out and we were promised they would look at it. The maid did a great job of helping to clean up all the water. The following day, she took a shower again the the same thing happened, requiring all the towels to mop up the water. Again, we told the front desk, who said that he had already told everyone and they would get to it. They never did and we ended up showering in our kids bath so as not to flood the hotel.
The staff were barely friendly. Not that they were unfriendly, but after our previous two hotels where the staff seemed so happy to see us, the Tamerici staff seemed to be tolerating us. The waiter at breakfast and dinner was very pleasant and helped my kids learn some Italian, but he was really it. Also, it is clearly a tour hotel with busloads of older folks being bussed in and out on a daily basis with their own dining room.
Not the worst hotel we've stayed in, but maybe we were spoiled by our hotels in Rome and Sorrento. Think I'd skip it next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed in the Tamerici by accident (the hotel we had booked was still under renovations so we got moved). It was a great move. We had a corner room with two balconies. The bathroom was spacious and lovely. It seemed to have a towel warmer, but I couldn't figure out how to work it. There was a seating area at the end of the bed as well. The bed was a bit too firm, but all in all a wonderful, classic old-school style luxury hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have two balconies on many - with remote control blinds on the bathroom one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tamerici M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your positive review! I am very glad to know that you had a good experience in Tamerici and I will be happy to host you another time.

Best regards,

Eugenio Pancioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe

Address: Viale IV Novembre, 2 B, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a big Art Nouveau villa the architect has obtained a modern building and the previous motives embellish the large and bright halls which are enriched with carpets of great value, draperies, Murano crystalware, ancient bronzes and nineteenth century Italian-style paintings. Relaxing and peaceful areas of semi-darkness interchange with the halls brightness and the brillant vivacity of colours. The hotel is happily located, in a quiet area in the middle of the green Spa parks, 2 Top Suites, 25 apartments and 130 bedrooms. 10 meters from the Montecatini Congress and Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tamerici And Principe
Grand Hotel Tamerici Principe
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tamerici & Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.