We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the town - pity the hotel did not live up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cristallino Hotel

Cristallino Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montecatini Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cristallino Hotel
Save
You added Cristallino Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Diaz 10, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved the town - pity the hotel did not live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed at the Cristallino for a week and whilst disappointed on arrival the staff made up for some of the shortcomings of the building by being helpful and hardworking.
The public rooms had obviously been refurbished and were generally good - check out the chandeliers!!

The dinners were ok - could have been much improved by not being plated - would have preferred to serve myself with vegetables etc. Breakfasts were bland and required more choice, fresh fruit and definitely better fruit juices.

The bedrooms certainly require refurbishment - particularly the carpets which were quite dirty - the rooms are generally tired but the bedding however was changed daily which was a plus.

The staircarpet was extremely dirty and worn to the point of being dangerous and should be avoided if at all possible.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    5
    10
    10
See reviews for
9
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Greatly enjoyed our stay -lovely town and very convenient to be able to use the local train station.Hotel was fine.We had a room at the back which was quiet and shady.Also very clean with bed linen changed every other day.Polite ,friendly staff and food good.The Hotel appears to have been purpose-built in the 60`s and as such is a little tired looking but as a base it is excellent and does not cost the earth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I can only say good things about this hotel. Both my wife and myself were very happy with our room and the standard and quality of the food that was served to us. I would like to thank the friendly staff for thier help.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Staff at all levels were friendly and helpful. Ground floor facilities reception, lounges and dinning rooms in good shape. It appears some of the bedrooms made have had a make over in recent times but not room 206. We should have asked for a move. This room was tired with 70s decor and 70s threadbare and stained carpet and a out look on to a communal bus park. late arriving coaches reversing in through a narrow entrance was very noisy. Again early morning coaches starting up engines to keep air conditioning on was upseting.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Enjoyed our holiday but hotel is just a base. Food very bad for Italy. No fresh fruit unless you ask for melon as starter. Only tinned fruit at breakfast. Waitresses and cleaning staff excellent. Rooms very tired. Room carpet stained. Windows of entire hotel not clean. Would not choose to go there again. A lot of noise at front of hotel with main road directly outside. Rooms at back facing wall and car park. On the plus side we met some great holidaymakers, most of whom felt as we did about the hotel and especially food. Some who left before us even offered to send us food parcels! We expected a lot more, especially as the holiday was not cheap, but there again it is Italy. We've been to Italy many times but definitely would not recommend hotel. Disappointing. One evening we had 'entertainment' - keyboard player and the bar was very busy. All other nights it was quiet with people going elsewhere to spend their money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here at 24 hours notice when our school party was being brought back from Rome by road due to the volcanic dust problems. We were booked in here by the company we were travelling with but felt very fortunate.
We have since read some of the comments on the site and feel that they are somewhat unfair. Whilst I agree that the bedrooms are somewhat dated in terms of furniture, they were very clean and provided the amenities you would want.
The welcome from the management and staff and the level of service was excellent, even though we were travelling with 45 teenage girls. Dining Room service was particularly good as they had to serve the whole party of 50 at the same time. There was limited choice but the quality of food and cooking was good.
The public rooms were attractive and well kept. The location is a little way from the town centre, but close to funicular and public gardens and very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

This hotel did not live upto the previous reviews. When I was going to book this trip, I researched the hotel on the internet and photos are very deceiving. The front of the hotel is accurate but for the rest of it, the rooms are very dated and a disgrace. The maintenance of the hotel is something out of faulty towers. Loose front door to our room. Hole in bathroom floor, shower curtain mouldy. Wood worm in wardrobe. And signs of dampness. Make sure you bring plenty of insect repellent with you cause you will certainly need it. There was only a couple of friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cristallino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristallino Hotel

Address: Viale Diaz 10, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Hotel Class:4 star — Cristallino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Cristallino Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cristallino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.