We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff and clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montebello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montebello to your Saves list
Hotel Montebello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montebello 54, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff and clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at this small but professional hotel.
Really love an awesome American hot breakfast buffet with scrumble eggs and bacon, and lots of homemade cakes (tiramisu!!!!)
Once we tried the three courses dinner at restaurant and it was delicious.
Very friendly and helpful staff we hardly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    183
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
132
169
31
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I returned on Tuesday having spent 10 days on a half board basis. Our room was a very good size with a lovely spacious bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and the rooms were cleaned daily with clean towels daily. The evening meals were excellent, plenty to choose from each evening. Breakfast was fine but got a little overcrowded on the days there were large groups of students in the hotel.

Surprised to read previous comments re the number of staff being able to speak English, we certainly had no problems and found them to be very polite and helpful, particularly the waitresses who were charming.

Found the hotel to be very central about 5 minutes walk into the centre of the town and very quiet!

All in all a very good choice at an extremely reasonable price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are very disappointed at the service of this hotel. We checked in the hotel in June 2013. The receptionist had no smile and already looked impatient. We went in our room and it was very hot. We tried to turn on the Air Condition but could not. We called the desk and the same receptionist answered the phone and told us that AC could not be turned on unless it was hot enough. She said that it was the law. We told her that the thermometer in our room was showing 28.5 C (83F), that was hot. We couldn’t believe her answer. She said it was not 28.5 C OUTSIDE! She refused to turn on the AC. We went downstairs and talked to her again. She said that the machine was set by the government that it would not turn on. She was rude and said that we didn’t know anything. Her attitude was so bad and told us there was nothing she can do. We told her that when we booked the hotel, the website listed there are AC and it would be false advertisement if they won't turn on the AC. We were very upset but decided to go out and got something to eat. The restaurant and the store that we visited, all had AC on. When we came back, the AC in our room was on. We could not believe that we had to go through to get this.
That was not the end of it. We asked the receptionist to help us to book some locate tours which we picked up the brochures from the hotel. She again was very annoyed (she was the only one there who can speak decent English). She told us it was too late of the day to book any tour. We said the brochure stated that the office not closed until 10:00 PM and it was only 5:00. She was so rude and said that she couldn’t understand my wife’s English. My wife is a Canadian who uses English only as a senior manager in an international business organization in Canada. Eventually she reluctantly called for us.We asked her to translate to English for us about a tour describes in Italian only. She didn’t tell us that the tour was actually a sub tour of a larger tour that we took a day earlier. She tricked us into wasting time and money in double booking the same tour. We travelled a lot and this was the WORST SERVICE we ever received. We WOULD NOT recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you up on the 3rd floor which is the top floor and is extremely hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco C, Proprietario at Hotel Montebello, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Kind Sir,
First of all I would like to thank you in the hotel’s behalf, for the time spent on writing a review regarding your stay and some critical issues.
Regarding your reports, for us very important as they help us to improve our services for our guests, I would like inform you as follows:

• In fact, in order to obtain an international certification relating to the protection of the environment we have adhered to a series of protocols which also predict that the air conditioning is not turned on unless certain temperatures, however, the problem has been fixed in 1 hour and by the time you came back from lunch, as you could notice, the air conditioning was functional.

• For the excursions our receptionist did not do nothing but follow the norms established and after having provided the information in principle, put you in touch with the company’s receptionist that organizes the tour. That was made because the companies require an advance to guarantee your reservation.

I am very sorry that you have spoken only about the first 3-4 hours of your stay, although you have spent 6 more days in our hotel, not talking about our other services you had access to, as follows:
• You, personally have communicated to our restaurant staff that you were very pleased with breakfast and the meals you had.
• You personally thanked the manager for the quality and cleaning of the room that you received.
• You used more than once the services of the company that organizes the local tours and you seemed pleased.

I honestly do not deny that I feel a little disappointed to read that your 6 days spent in my accommodation, trying all our services (Wi-Fi, free bicycles, laundry) should be assessed only for the first few hours on the day of your arrival.

Certainly with our receptionist there have been misunderstandings and for this I apologize on behalf of myself and all my staff, but then again 4 hours on six days seem to me few to give an overall assessment. In fact, the content of the comment speaks exclusively of these few hours, indicating that the rest of the stay was pleasant and obviously positive, given its precise and attentive report.

With the hope of being able to salute you again in Montecatini, I send you my most cordial greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at the above for 4 nights in April and what a great experience it was. Having spent a large part of the day travelling we were tired on arrival and the receptionist told us that we could have a meal in the hotel for the princely sum of 18 euro. Our room was ideal, a little bit old fashioned but served our purpose very well. After changing we headed downstairs and had a smashing meal and a glass of wine. Food was very tasty and well worth the money. Montecatini is a lovely town with plenty of attractions and lots of lovely shops to browse. We took the funicular up to Montecatini Alto which is well worth visiting and had our lunch there. Plenty of little side streets to explore and the views was spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days there and the cost of the hotel for 2 of us for 4 nights including breakfast was an amazing 196 euro. Fantastic Value

Room Tip: We appeared to be in an extension not sure, which was very quiet. Not a sound all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very clean centrally located hotel near to bus and train station. We chose half board and the food was very good but avoid the pizza unless you like a really thick base!! There were four courses and for what we paid it was a bargain. The aircon in our room was excellent - totally silent so it could be on all night without waking us up. Train tickets can be bought at reception. - don't forget to validate them at the station - This saves having to queue when at the station as there is usually only one person serving and if there is a problem it can take forever. There are ticket machines available, one tip - download a map of the railway system as none of the stations seem to keep them and it is helpful to see where you are and how many stops to your destination!! Most of the guests seemed to use the train from Pisa airport to the hotel but as there were 4 of us travelling we decided to use a taxi. Searching online the price was 110-120 euros each way and although we had to pay cash to the driver the taxi firms wanted all my credit card details !! I emailed the hotel and they booked a taxi for us at 85 euros each way with no card details needed!! All of the staff were very helpful and if we visited again would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. There are only a few tables outside the hotel and no other seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights late May 2013. Had a side room with balcony overlooking small park, the room had plenty of storage space and very clean. The shower is very small so watch out for this.We found the staff very nice and friendly, ate in the restaurant on the first night and can not find any fault - it was a lovely meal. Breakfast was good with lots of choice, only issue was with the coffee machine, cappuccino very milky.. other wise no issues. Walking into town only five minutes, lovely shops (expensive), restaurants and cafes.. lovely park to wander around. Went to Florence and Lucca by train for days out - Florence 55 mins, Lucca 25 mins,, visited Montecatini Alto.. The weather for our stay was not what we were normally used to in Italy but did not spoil our stay, found everyone very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the small park - hoping the weather is good,, sun will be there fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is not bad, but could be so much better. Its location is good if you are coming in by train, as it is only a short walk away. The rooms are adequate (very much, you get what you pay for), although the beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast, by Italian standards, was also a surprise as most days there was the opportunity to have eggs and bacon, and not just the normal cake. There are plenty of restaurants close by so we never tried out the hotel restaurant in the evenings. What really lets it down are two things: the fairly dour staff who are polite enough but do not offer anything else, and the building site opposite. We had balcony but there was no chance to sit out in the evening. Who wants to look at a building site ?? We were also above the outside sitting area so people were quite loud well into the night. If you are slightly rotund or over 5ft 10inches, then be warned about the size of the shower !! It is extremely small and very claustrophobic !

Room Tip: Do not let them give you a room at the front. Insist on a room at the side, then at least you can lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco C, Proprietario at Hotel Montebello, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Kind Sir,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time spent on writing a review in the hotel’s behalf. As for your suggestions and statements we would like to let you know as follows:
• We really appreciate clients as yourself that make suggestions in order to improve our services for breakfast and room comfort to international standards.
• We thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our staff although cold at the same time; our staff tries to offer an adequate service respecting our guest’s privacy.
• As for the view of your room , we must admit that you sojourned in a room overlooking a historic Art Nouveau building which is in restructuration, surrounded by trees (the work will be finished at the end of August). We apologize (even if not for our direct fault) for the discomfort we have caused, but we are sure that if you would have contacted our front desk, an alternative solution would have been found.
Hopping that you enjoyed your stay, we would like to have the chance to salute you again as a guest of Hotel Montebello in Montecatini Terme.
Marco Callarelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello

Address: Via Montebello 54, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#1 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montebello 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montebello is ready to welcome you in a pleasant and professional atmophere. In the city centre of Montecatini Terme, near train station and the beautiful spa park, we provide free internet connection, spacious rooms (some with balcony), tv-sat, lounge bar and a rtestaurant with traditional tuscany style cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montebello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.