We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Value for Money - Should be 4 star not 3!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montebello

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montebello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montebello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montebello 54, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Great Value for Money - Should be 4 star not 3!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just got back from 5 nights at this hotel. My partner and I thought it was really nice.

The rooms were modern, clean, comfortable and great value for money. The location is perfect for exploring the town and reaching the public transport links.

The breakfast buffet served each morning was great, lots of choice and tasty.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only downside would be the lack of any English TV channels except BBC World News. Obviously it wasn't a major issue as we didn't go on holiday to watch TV but a movie in the room 'the day after the night before' would have been welcomed.

There is a restaurant called Cibus just near by which serves lovely food, we recommend a visit.

Overall we were really, really happy with the hotel, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    158
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
142
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Gimignano, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Unfortunately my stay was cut short for reasons not connected with he hotel, but on the one night I stayed I found the front desk helpful, the location good, the breakfast perfect and the free wi-fi fast and effective. My one less than terrific comment would be that the hotel is getting a little tired; if it had a new carpet and a paint job, I would give it five spots. I would still be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in October. Room was clean and modern. The breakfast had a variety of foods including eggs. Location was great as we were traveling by train. For those on a budget, I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Montebello.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in late October - a weekend away to Italy (which we love and have visited often) for our 39th Wedding Anniversary.

The Montebello was, according to Star ratings, a little below our usual choice, but reviews persuaded us to give it a try. Were the reviews right? Oh yes, and then some!

The room was a little small (aren't all Italian rooms!) but beautifully clean and well appointed and equipped - including dressing gowns! The baloney added outside sitting space, which meant the bijoux room didn't matter - the sitting room was out in the glorious Tuscan fresh air.

But the total surprise? The restaurant.

We'd booked half board, thinking that the food would be adequate (is there an Italian who can't cook?) and we would eat out on the evening of our anniversary. At this hotel, half board is the bargain of the Century. Four courses of superbly cooked and presented authentic Tuscan delights.

I know it says 3 courses, but they provide an ante-pasta that any UK restaurant would call a starter and charge £4 or more for. You can't eat shellfish? My wife can't and one evening a beautiful plate of mixed seafood was waiting for us as ante-pasta. "No problem. I'll get you something else", which turned out to be an enormous portion of hams, salamis and cheeses.

And that was the freebee!

The primo (pasta) is more like a UK main course. The secundo IS a main course and the desserts home made pastries (or cheeses if you ask). And all served with friendly courtesy. UK 4*'s should send their staff here for training!

Wine? A great wine list that starts at €8 up to €22 and bar prices that are below most UK pubs.

Everyone at the Hotel seems committed to making your say what you want, not what they think you want. Given its convenient location between the main shopping area and the spas & parks area, easy on street parking outside (€3/day) this hotel is the best value for money we can recall in many years of independent travel.

Room Tip: There is a park to one side and buildings to the other. A park view is best. We stayed in a standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great hotel just far enough away from the centre of Montecatini to be able to sleep well at night, but close enough (5 min walk) to be handy for all restaurants, cafes etc. About 10 min walk from Terme train station.

Room very clean and comfortable with good bed, wardrobe etc. Bathroom had all necessaries, including a hairdryer. Good shower also.

Bonus is free bicycle hire - quite flat around most of Montecatini so this is a good way to see some of the surrounding countryside. Hills to the north (to Montecatini Alto) best accessed via the funicular railway about 15 mins walk from the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent, with a full continental (good choice of pastries, eggs, cheese, bread, cake and juices / coffee). Dining area has a pleasant view of the ajoining piazza. English spoken well by all staff we met.

Above all this, though, the staff / service was fantastic. The chap who met us when we arrived was incredibly welcoming and friendly. We booked through Travel Republic, and it seems that there had been some kind of computer error with our booking and as a result we had to stay in the hotel next door for one night (this hotel was itself just great). To apologise for this, the Montebello upgraded our room(s), took care of all baggage movements and left us a nice note and a bottle of house wine on the table in our main bedroom.

Montecatini itself is a marvellous town with a large picturesque park / spa area, numerous restaurants / cafes and regular (and often free) concerts. Very tidy and clean also, and within c. 1 hour of Pisa, Lucca, and Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is very strategically placed for visiting Florence, Lucca, Pisa & Siena. Montecatini Terme itself is a very nice (upmarket) centre & the hotel is a short walk from the centre but in a very quiet street overlooking a small grassy square on one side & a quiet street on the other. The staff are very friendly, helpful & speak good English.

The room we had initially was small, clean & modern with air conditioning but no balcony as the hotel was full. Later however we were moved to a fantastic room with dual aspect and balconies with lots of room & one with a view of Montecatini Alto in the hills above. We were actually told on arrival that our first room was temporary for the first three nights & we did not need to 'haggle' for this to be done. This is reflective of the general customer service at Montebello.

Breakfast was a little routine with narrow choices although the usual cereals (cardboard cornflakes), danish pastries, scrambled eggs, meats, bread, juices (which tasted powder based) & small foil topped preserves were there. The white bread was particularly bland- the brown was better.

Bar service was good and the drinks very reasonably priced.

Car parking was OK when we were there (September - slightly off peak) but may be more problematic in peak season. However, the train station is around a 10 minute walk away & from there you can travel to Florence (around 1 hour) & other places. Tickets can be purchased in the hotel itself.

Compared to other hotels around, this seemed particularly busy - which speaks for itself. There also seemed to be a good patronage of the hotel by locals - which again speaks for itself.

All in all a very enjoyable stay & a recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure it includes a balcony preferrably overlooking the grassy square or via Montebello itself (roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A first class hotel for a very reasonable price. Very convenient for train station where you can get a train to many places, Florence, Lucca, Pisa. Lucca is fantastic - don't miss it, and not as crowded as Florernce.

The breakfast was great - plenty of choice. The bedroom was spacious with air conditioning. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Everywhere was very clean to a high standard. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Montecantini is a very quaint little town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montebello

Address: Via Montebello 54, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#1 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montebello 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montebello is ready to welcome you in a pleasant and professional atmophere. In the city centre of Montecatini Terme, near train station and the beautiful spa park, we provide free internet connection, spacious rooms (some with balcony), tv-sat, lounge bar and a rtestaurant with traditional tuscany style cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montebello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.