We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bicchierai 99, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 109 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Loved our stay at the Giglio. The owners and staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The only thing we would change is to stay longer then 1 night. When we return to Florence we will stay at the Giglio.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is a family owned and operated hotel. The ambiance is very family oriented, and the people at the hotel are very hospitable and pleasant. The room was clean however there was no shower curtain which was impossible to prevent water from splashing all over the bathroom floor. The internet access cost 2 Euros for ½ hour. The surrounding area is precious, lovely to go for a walk after breakfast or after dinner.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

this hotel was ok. key things made it poor.
the food was great, the service in the dinign room was great.
soem front desk people were very helpful but others were terrible. This made the whole experience go from great to average bordering on bad.
People at the front desk should at least try to be helpful.
The room was average for the bedroom. the bathroom was great.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Booked the hotel Giglio for two weeks half board, we have stayed in Montecatini three times.
We booked a superior room but when we checked in at 6pm on a Sunday evening tired and hungry we were very dissapointed.
The room was shabby, plaster coming off the walls on the corner as you enter with cheap broken furniture and old poor quality carpets, this was not in any way a superior room.
The bathroom looked as if it was quite new and in no way reflected the poor quality of the rest of the room.
My husband went to complain and we were then shown two more rooms which were not much improvement on the first.
We decided to go to the Belverdere where we had stayed before, they had a room we looked at it and it was much better so the staff on duty sent the porter with my husband to get our luggage and the rest of our holiday was fantastic.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

HI, first, we booked this hotel last minute for an exceptionnal pricing with Transat Tours in Canada. Our package including : hotel, flight, car rental, breakfeast and dinner.

This hotel is a 3*hotel in an City dating of beginning of 1900.

The city itself is not bad. Except the market street. This street is more like a kind of European Wildwood boardwalk.

The city is really used by few tourist group who stay one night or two with their bus group to explore Tuscany from this Tuscan central point.

(the city is located between Pise and Forence - 20 minutes from Lucca).

About Montecatini : all hotel in the city (whatever the category - are not really loke like charming... or history flavor - decoration around 1960 and 1970 seems the standard for hotel lobby and cafe or pasteria of the city (pink wall, old sofa, little old green...and really old lamp) But the street reserve for pieton in the city have a charm and the look on Montecatini alto is really nice. Montecatini Alto is really more charming then Montecatini Terme. The train station deserve Florence in less then one hours and train stop at each 30 minutes at Montecatini (except on the lunch hour from 11 to 1 p.m. (no train)) Lucca : 20 minutes run and Pise : 45 minutes

Also the highway A11 just pass to Montecatini and the hotel is maybe 5-10 minutes from the highway. (A11 also reach Florence (Firenze) Pisa and Lucca). But train is higly recommandable to Florence. (no parking and just walk)

The hotel outside is well maintain and is on a quiet street - in a neigboorhood full of other hotels in the same style.

The breakfeast is serve from 7 to 9:30 (limited choices of pastry, cheese, juices and yaourt) and choice of coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Fair

The dinner is serve from 7:30 to 8:15.... (it was a problem for us like we want to take our dinner around 9, at the return of our visit to Tuscany). BUT! The hotel is also affilated to Belvedere hotel and Nizza Suisse hotel where diner was continue to be serve until 9:15. We taked our dinner to those hotels instead of our hotel and also got free wine. (what was not the case at Giglio).

Also, Giglio including a free parking... but a very small parking. We only parked the first day at the hotel. We found parking in the street beside the hotel few days. And we parked at the other hotel (Belvedere) one day. But around 15 minutes walk.

The dinner was regular level (not bad, not tasting and wonderful! :-); but ok). You have a 3 services. First plate : soup or pasta ; Second Plate : meat (chicken, veal, grilled entrecote or steak or fish) and a choice of dessert. Also include : a kind of salad bar with oil and vinegar from italie

** Note : the only negative point about the dinner was the availability time and also the time of service..... too FAST!!!! you don't have enough time to finish the first plate.... and the second plate already arrived!

The room : small, clean and practical (basic decoration). In our case, the stop of the air conditionned during the night was not a problem, the room stayed very cool. The bathroom was large, but no shower glass or something to stop the water was a problem. ALL ROOMS ARE DIFFERENTS - some rooms are more recent renovations then other.
Our room problem was the location beside the stairs. The tour group leaving around 7 a.m. and make noise few days during our stay.

The reception was cold for people who not speaking italian.... but acceptable.... but not more! No explanations about the inclusion, you have to ask for everything.

About the web, we used the web and they did not charge us, just ask to the receptionnis. They also called to our next hotel to confirm few informations for us in italian and translate in french for our informations.

In resume : A good average hotel, no bad suprise, but no exceptionnal things.

We are satisfied (for the low rates we paid).

  • Liked — pricing; central location and near of the train station (10-15 minutes walk)
  • Disliked — the lack of atmosphere.... ; the decoration
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lost
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

nice hotel, friendly people.++++++++

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed two nights July 18 & 19, 2007.
This hotel has not put in one cent since it was built.
When we pulled up to the hotel, there was alot of elderly Italians sitting on chairs in front of the hotel - it looked like it was a retirement home.
The bathroom had NO shower curtain, the water went all over the floor no matter how hard you tried.
They had ONE key only to each room (and the key was attached to a very very heavy piece of brass). If the other person needed in, the front desk had to use the master key.
They turned the air conditioning off during the night (around 1:00 a.m to 5:00 a.m.) so you would wake up in the middle of the night sweating.
If they had air inn the lobby and restaurant, it wasn't much.
Food in the restaurant was FAIR at best.
They have one computer in the middle of the small lobby and the internet was about 6 Euros for 1/2 hour.
We were on a tour, so it was not our choice.
It was fair at best.
Bathroom was original from 1930s.
It was reasonably clean, but the room furnishings were 1960 or 1970's Salvation Army style with red DIAL telephones and red ball lamps for bedside lamps
On the positive note, it was quiet.

  • Liked — Walking distance to everything
  • Disliked — Crappy furnishings, air turned off during night, no info given at checkin
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Montecatini Terme
Address: Viale Bicchierai 99, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 109 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.