We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own clorox and your own wrench” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nizza Et Suisse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nizza Et Suisse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nizza Et Suisse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Verdi 72, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bring your own clorox and your own wrench”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed at the hotel two nights while on tour of Italy with a tour group. The shower curtain needed to be changed out - the bottoms of the curtain had dark stains indicating they needed clorox. Same dark stains on the grout on the bathroom tiles. The bathroom sink faucet handles didn't work, but the shower and bath handles did so I used my bathtub faucet to brush my teeth. The beds were okay and comfortable enough to sleep. The room was nice and warm. The breakfast buffet was nice. The front desk man was not too happy when we were looking for the bartender at 10:00 pm in the bar area. The bartender served one drink and then disappeared. When we went to the front desk to find the bartender to pay the front desk person was not very helpful. The area in which the hotel is located is beautiful

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    26
    14
    22
See reviews for
32
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hotel gets better every time I go. My room was beautiful and the breakfast is even better now with eggs and bacon, all kinds of meat and cheese and rolls and danish and wonderful yogurt and fresh fruit. Coffee is excellent with all varieties. Flat screen TV's have been added. The location , of course, is fantastic as it is in the center of the city.The most wonderful is the staff. Enrico, Beatrice and Elena are at you service all the time to take care of all your needs. You could not ask for a more special place to stay. I would highly recommend the Nizza Suisse to all!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week, using it as our base for a tour of Tuscany and Liguria. Staff was very smart and helpful. Extremely good and varied food. Location is very central. A roman catholic church is also close by. The small room we had should have a light coloured decor...... But we definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Montecatini and we stayed in the Hotel Nizza Et Suisse. It is our fourth stay at this Hotel since 2003 and as usual the service was fantastic.

The hotel is not the best looking and some of the rooms are a bit dated, but the staff more than make up for those short comings. From the receiption and admin staff, Enrico, Nicola and Beatrice, the barman Adriano and the restaurant staff, Jan Franco and Alessio, our stay was very enjoyable.

From the lovely breakfast on the terrace to the great Dinners it is no wonder that this hotel is full when many others we less than half full.

The hotel is trying to improve the standard of the rooms and it may take time but it is the staff that make this hotel special .

Montecatini is a fantastic base to see so many fantastic places, the Tuscan coast, Pisa, Florence, Luca and so many other places all just 50 min by Train, and then there is Montacatini Alto and the wonderful and beautiful Spa's where there are fantastic concerts in the evening for very little or no cost.

If you want to relax, come to Montecatini and if you want to feel at home stay at Hotel Nizza et Suisse.

Thanks again to everybody at the Nixxa Et Suisse and especially to Enrico for the great room and Alessio for the fantastic service at breakfast and dinner.

Thanks again to all the staff at the Nizza et Suisse

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

What a lovely stay! We loved everything!
Very nice and large room, wonderful breakfast and really nice dinner too!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I was looking forward to my one-long week stay in the Tuscany region. Montecatini Terme (MT) is an excellent point of departure for a number of sights in the area. Nizza et Suisse is a very central hotel in Viale Verde - one of the very few main roads in MT. The tourist office is just a few doors away. For the price we paid, the hotel is excellent value for money. True, some common areas (such as the staircase) need reonovation. But my room was cozy and the bathroom was compeltely refurbished. I can only heap praise on the staff - always at one's service, smart and helpful. The food was always excellent. We had four-course meals every evening as part of the package and the desserts were out-of-this-world. Would I recommend this hotel? Of course I do and without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at the Nizza with a Saga group. We would not usually pick a large hotel & definitley not full board. The good things first. Monticatini is a delightful town and well worth exploring. The old spas are amazing and opposite the hotel an excellent treatment can be obtained at competetive prices. Monticatini Alto can be visited via a 1898 fennicula and is delightful. Do visit the church. The town is an excellent springboard for all the delights Tuscany has to offer.
On the down side. First impressions of the hotel are heart sink. The whole place needs decorating & if the outside looks shabby you can bet the inside is poor. Right first time. All the carpets are worn and the decor dark and uninspiring. Once you reach the bedrooms things really take a dive. Our first room was dark, shabby with two small single beds made of iron springs. We asked for another room which was a litte better. The TV is circa 1970 & the 'mini bar' is in fact a knackered old fridge. Everything needs attention, if we had not already paid up front I doubt we would have stayed there for one night. In the heat you really need a nice pool. We couldn't face this one.

The staff were very kind and attentive. The food was dire, I can cook better pasta. No we won't be going back there, but will be returning to the region.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nizza Et Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nizza Et Suisse

Address: Viale Verdi 72, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#13 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#16 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nizza Et Suisse 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nizza Et Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizza Et Suisse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nizza Et Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.