We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Bretagne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Bretagne to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Bretagne
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand Bretagne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Don Minzoni 3, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is our first stop on our 10 day trip to Greece! Upon checking in, early morning, we were told we would be receiving an upgrade (platinum Starwood) and were shown to a beautiful suite! The hotel is stunning, chandeliers in both rooms, wonderful mattresses and bedding! Bathroom very luxurious with gorgeous tub and amazing shower. Breakfast in the Rooftop Garden is wonderful, with a great selection to choose from. Enjoyed late dinner and cocktails in the bar one evening. The pool overlooks the Acropolis! Maria at the butler check in was extremely helpful planning things for us to do! Loving staying here!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded! Suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went to Montecatini at the end of the summer as final destination of a trip around Tuscany. I can honestly say that Hotel Grande Bretagne is the nicest place I stayed across my whole vacation. I've been welcomed by a lady which I believe to be the manager of the place and she made me feel at home as well as all the staff of the hotel, very warm and helpful. Really good price and cute single room. From the Hotel you can easily reach Florence, Pisa, Viareggio, Lucca...all of them within less than an hour with the train (2 minutes away from the front door). I highly recommend this friendly and beautiful hotel to everyone who plans to visit Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week and I can highly recommend it. The staff are friendly and the rooms are great, furnished very well. Plus it is a good location to explore the locality. If you are in this part of Italy, I would highly recommend it!

Paul

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding Of Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for four nights with a National Holidays tour from 9 to 12 September 2013. The rooms at the hotel are very impressive. Ours was more like a suite, with two separate bedrooms, a good sized bathroom, and a second wash room with toilet, bidet, and basin. First impressions were superb. However, the following morning at breakfast we got a bit of a shock!! The food offered was terrible. Raw ham (which I know is a delicacy, but NOT for breakfast!), slimy cheese, bread which tasted and felt stale, dry pastries, and muesli. The latter seemed like the best of a bad lot, but this was inedible due to the milk being left uncooled for over two hours before we got to it. Very disappointing. Our package included two evening meals at the hotel. The process for choosing your meal is to put a tick next to your choice on the limited menu, similar to a UK hospital. Our choices on the first night were: Potato & leek soup, Pork with green beans, or a lettuce omelette. We decided that to avoid disappointment again, we would not partake in the evening meal. On speaking to other members of our coach party the following morning it would seem we made the right choice. As we didn't witness either of the evening meals I shan't comment further!

The location of the hotel is superb, with lots to of lovely restaurants and bars right on the doorstep.

This traditional hotel is a lovely place to stay, so long as you make alternative arrangements for all your food!

Room Tip: Try to specify a room to the rear of the hotel, as the main street to the front gets very noisy very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights and it was first class. this is an old hotel and is furnished to the period of the building but very tastefully. we were on the second floor and room was very large. the ceiling was approx 12foot high but the size of the room overall was larger than an average hotel room. The staff were very friendly and accomodating nothing seemed to be a bother to them. the hotel was clean and tidy and the food was very good with a choice of English or Italian on the menu. we were close to the centre and although there was a lot of people around from 8pm to midnight the noise did not encroach on our sleep. the bed was firm but comfortable and huge so plentyof room to have your own space if the night became overly warm. we would definitely recommend this hotel for a short or long stay. only downside is that there is no toilet on the ground floor if you are drinking outside in the sunshine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

At first I was concerned about this hotel, seeing the previous reviews, but I decided to give it a try. I'm really glad I did! After arriving late from a super long flight from the US, I was so pleased to be greeted by a young, kind receptionist. During my entire week-long stay, she and the other staff were very accommodating, making me feel at home (which is not easy to do in a hotel!). Also gave GREAT advise about the area and things to do/see. Overall, very pleased and will be returning upon my next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We booked this hotel due the fact that it was a 4-star hotel and pictures in the website looked good.
But what a disappointment. We will never ever come back. Rooms were old, small and aircondition was controlled by reception and they decided when to have it on and off.
Breakfast - HA! I wouldn't call that breakfast. Inner court parking, yeah, but they just forget to tell guests that you need to pay for it, so when checking out we had to pay extra for this.
All in all, don't stay here. Go somewhere else in Tuscany.

  • Liked — That we were leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Bretagne

Address: Via Don Minzoni 3, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Bretagne 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grand Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Bretagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;