We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poca professionalita'” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel to your Saves list
Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Manzoni 46 | 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poca professionalita'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is in a nice position close to the city center, the decor is nice enough for a four star, but nothing really impressive. Breakfast was decent, the bed was not very comfortable for our tastes, but this may just be question of taste, Our main problem is that we asked for a non-smooking room, while the one we got had a strong smell of smoke (although non-smooking on paper). We asked to have a different room, but we were told that there were no other double rooms available in the hotel, just singles (do this kind of hotels still have real single rooms?). It was definitely not high season, it was Friday night and we were only sleeping there one night, so we really don't understand why we were not upgraded to another room. If they really had no other rooms, why don't they cleaned ours better beforehand?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    138
    42
    25
    32
See reviews for
41
223
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed with my wife as part of a group organised by the Travel Department, Ireland in 2012 Never ever again. The receptionists were totally cold and showed no interest whatever in their guests; not surprising really as I understand that the person displaying the least interest is in fact the owner of what passes as a hotel. The room in which we stayed left a lot to be desired with a small balcony and tiny shower cubicle. The only redeeming feature was the view of Montecatini Alto from the said balcony. Montecatini Alto is well worth a visit though with lovely views and nice restaurants - the approach uphill on the small train being a very pleasant experience. The dining room was very cramped and the food was not anything to excite. I will spare you the details, and as for asking for boiling water it would be easier to get vino rosso from a beetroot. A complimentary tea and coffee machine is situated in the foyer. Just you try asking for hot water. The hotel would appear to cater for a large turnover of transient guests who only want a basic bed and continental breakfast in their quest to visit the numerous interesting sights in the region. Speaking of which it must be said that Florence, Pisa and especially Lucca are absolutely fascinating and a wonderful experience. As for the hotel itself all in all a very tepid experience and one which we will not repeat,

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Montecatini Alto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great Holiday in a great hotel! very nice room and service , the food was very nice and the staff polite, all right in the center!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I am an American who travels a lot for business. I am used to big hotel chains with elegant lounges that are sterile and uninviting, where everything is the same, no matter what city you're in: the pictures on the walls; the little soaps and shampoo bottles; even the breakfast, whether it's complimentary or not. No surprises, pleasant or otherwise.

But the hotel chain that I normally use out of habit (and for the reward points) was not an option when I was in Tuscany recently doing some research on my family's history. I stayed at Hotel Adua in Montecatini Terme. No points, but it was still a rewarding experience!

Who knew places like this still exist?! This was not a cookie cutter hotel. It was elegant but it was also comfortable and inviting. The dining room had a prefix menu of “typical Tuscan cuisine” that changed daily but there were always several options to choose from. The breakfast buffet was different from what I am used to. In the US, for example, I don't typically associate rolls, salami, and cheese with breakfast, but in Europe they do. So that was there along with some familiar American standards, but don't go expecting a Denny's Grand Slam Breakfast because you'll be disappointed.

The standard room was a bit smaller than what I am used to in the US. However, except for meals, I didn't spend my time in the hotel. Next time I go back, though, I will make time to use the spa right in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed for a week in the Adua Hotel as part of a tour group visiting Tuscany.

Hotel in a good location close to town centre and within easy walking distance of train station giving good access to Florence / Pisa / Cinque Terre etc. Good wine and bread shops across the road and cafe bar on the corner.

Our room was small but very clean. Beds very uncomfortable and we slept poorly. This was made worse by the air conditioning which was hardly ever switched on, so we slept with the window open and were wakened most mornings by delivery vans from around 5am !

Breakfast awful with limited choice. All coffee from a vending machine and never warm - thought Italy was supposed to be renowned for good coffee? Dinner slightly better but overall fairly bland and nothing ever served hot, only lukewarm.

Only member of staff who left an impression was wine waitress who was cheery and helpful. Rest of staff were virtually invisible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

There is a lovely homely atmosphere in the hotel. The twin room we got had a nice view of the old town, had lots of wardrobe space and was kept spotlessly clean by the staff daily during our stay. There was plenty of space downstairs in the hotel for sitting on comfortable chairs but my favourite place was just outside the hotel (but in their grounds) where they had comfortable seats to sit on where you could enjoy watching people go by or read a magazine in the beautiful warm weather. The location is brilliant because it is in a quiet area and yet the town centre and other amenities are only a short walk from the hotel. Or if you don't want to go as far as the town centre but want a snack or drink, there is a cafe across the road that serves delicious food like sandwiches, lasagne, ice cream and drinks. There is also a small but well stocked bakery up the road from the hotel. My lasting memories of this hotel are that I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ennis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed,must have bought it's 4 star rating,would be pushed to give it a 2 star.Small pokey rooms and unsleepable in due to noisy airconditioning units.Reception staff horrible,not interested in your complaints.Definately not a hotel for Irish tourists expecting to get decent breakfasts and dinners .Would get better in Macdonalds.

Michael, Co. Clare

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel

Address: Viale Manzoni 46 | 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adua And Regina Di Saba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adua & Regina di Saba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.