We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the stars fool you” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bicchierai 113, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't let the stars fool you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel sports four stars but don't let them fool you. The restaurant is sub-par with "eclectic" interiors, the pool is small and is partly lined with giant fans for the heating, the (free) wifi is extremely slow in the rooms - only the lobby hotspot has reasonable speed. Rooms are uneven and generally uninspiring, although the view from the fourth floor balconies (towards the street) is quite nice. Overall, this is a very basic hotel that has maximized its (self-reported) rating by getting all the requisite amenities for a fourth star, while skimping on most other things that make your stay worthwhile. The staff is friendly but English is not their strong side. While not at all "terrible", I cannot honestly recommend it. The four star rating is actually quite vexing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    16
    14
    3
See reviews for
11
21
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I can only make two positive comments : the front desk staff is friendly and good location. The rooms are extremely small and remind you of sleeping in college dormitories. I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and was unable to sleep because of large, noisy groups of tourists. The dining room was set up with large tables, so they could accommodate the large groups. Therefore, you were unable to carry on a conversation with people sitting next to you. The shower had lots of mold which made the room smell moldy and musty.

As far as location...the hotel was located in the center of Montecatini Terme but the town is small so any hotel in Montecatini would have a great location. The last time I stayed in Montecatini, I stayed at Croce di Malta and the hotel was wonderful...so I recommend staying there.

Meals were included at the hotel and they ranged from poor to horrible.

I do not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing to talk about this hotel but nasty aspects like cleanliness, food or lack of service. No need to mention about the attidute problem of the staff. l think this hotel's licence, if there is any, should be cancelled.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel is quite nice, not far from the city centre and cable railway station. The service is very good, the rooms are clean and nicely designed with either red or blue colour.
One of the Montecatini termal spas is just outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Basic typical small European hotel. Room adaquate, bathroom tight. Restaurant service was very good, food ok, breakfast better than dinner. Front desk service poor. Seemed like every question was a bother. Located about 15 minutes from the train station. (Train system in Italy is great.) Hotel was clean, provided internet service. Pool looked nice but it was too cool to use it. Very limited workout facilities.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We were part of a large tour group run by Legendary Journeys and arrived at the Royal Palace Hotel around 4 pm.

My wife and I were assigned to a room on the 3rd floor and we could not believe what that room looked like! It was very small – even by European standards – had only a tiny window, and was painted in a color that can only be described as Roaring Fire Orange. I immediately went to the front desk and told them that room was unacceptable and was given another room on the 4th floor, painted in Ocean Blue, and had a balcony overlooking the street. It was a huge improvement over the first room. The bathroom was small but functional and there was never a shortage of hot water. Walls were quite thin and you could hear conversations from adjoining rooms.

Dinners were included for our tour group. The dinners were supposed to be typical Italian fare. It started with a mad rush to a very meager salad bar with not wilted veggies. There was a very small pasta course with a good tasting sauce. Next came the meat course which was a single slice of unyielding pork and gristle with 3 deep fried Tater Tots on the plate. Dessert was a rubbery slice of custard-like “stuff”. If you wanted water, you had to buy a bottle of water. This was truly a disgusting meal and is certainly not typical Italian food.

Nights at the Royal Palace proved very interesting for sleeping. This was the first week in November and temperatures dropped to around 45 at night. I did keep the balcony window open a tiny bit for fresh air. I had no idea that mosquitoes would be in that part of Italy. By morning, I had been bitten several times and my wife also had mosquito bites on her. I looked at the walls of the room in the morning and there were lots of mosquitoes resting up from their nightly feeding. The choice of being drained by Italian mosquitoes or a stuffy room was not hard to make from that night on.

Breakfasts were actually decent at the Royal Palace. Coffee was from a pair of table top machines and it made good cappuccino. There were cold cereals, cold meats, hard boiled eggs, cheese, breads, and at breakfast, the bottled water was free. We ate our fill and then made sandwiches for lunch while we were travelling.

The location of the Royal Palace was handy for walking to the downtown shopping area and also to the train station. We used the trains to go into Florence for sightseeing and also to the walled town of Lucca.

The staff at the hotel was working to make our stay pleasant. The Legendary Journey hostesses seemed to be working not to make our stays pleasant. I cannot find any kind words for their service at all.

After the initial dinner meal, we enjoyed dinners at local restaurants and they were very good and decently priced. I had some of the best lasagna I have ever eaten at one restaurant and another had a special of an antipasta bar and entrée for 8 Euros with wine included.

The Royal Palace is a very typical tourist hotel that only has tour groups as clients. Most of the clients are senior citizens and are just satisfied to have food put in front of them and a bed to sleep in for the night. The Royal Palace has no personality and is not typical of a real Italian hotel. Would I return to the Royal Palace Hotel? The answer is NO! Would I use Legendary Journeys again? The answer is NO!

Room Tip: Definitely apply mosquito repellant before going to bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel was on a road that was able to contain many large touring buses. This made it easy for us when we were going on tours. The breakfasts were very good and the dinners were typical Italian fare. Our room was nice and big enough for the 6 days we were there. Heat was unavailable because Italian law disallows heating after April 1. But there were not that many days when we were cold. There was free wifi but only two stations and some tour members hogged them.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel

Address: Viale Bicchierai 113, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.