We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore to your Saves list
Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very conveniently situated in the centre of town by the pedestrian area. our room was small clean and comfortable, The food and service was excellent and vegetarians were well catered for. Montecatini is an excellent choice for anyone wanting a central location to explore Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    179
    63
    28
    8
See reviews for
93
227
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a week half board at this hotel as part of a group from The Travel Department. The staff were very friendly and helpful- nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was quite dark and small but very clean and adequate with TV, hairdryer, toiletries and white towels changed daily. It overlooked a courtyard. Meals were excellent with several choices for four course dinner. Breakfast was buffet style. The restaurant had a beautiful chandelier.
The hotel was convenient to train station and situated on a traffic free square.

Room Tip: Ask for a large bright room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a Shearings tour. Old fashioned "grand" hotel with impressive entrance and restaurant. Large room with old fashioned furniture but beds were modern and comfortable. Overlooking outdoor terrace square with entertainment which could be noisy if windows were open. Excellent evening meals with a choice of two dishes and supplemented with salad and vegetable buffet, served by friendly and attentive staff who spoke English. Good choice for breakfast. Ideal location for access to shops, park and funicular up to Montecatini Alto. The shop across the road is well worth a visit for Italian biscuits and pastries. Highly recommended, we are looking at returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

An elegant hotel with a relaxed ambience, visited as part of a group tour in May. Our room was a little small, but very comfortable, clean and very quiet at night. Staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were OK - usual standard selections. Evening meals were chosen at breakfast from a choice of two and consisted of tasty starters, various fish/meat mains with salad, or veg followed by dessert. A rather tedious selection of two additional veg was my only criticism along with an absence of tea/coffee to follow evening dinner. This hotel has an absolutely ideal central location - close to railway and the beautiful Terme treatment centre and grounds. Only 20 mins walk from the funicular, well worth a visit to Montecatini Alto for the splendid vista and pavement cafes! Would recommend this hotel for its location, a great base to explore the delights of Tuscany, but make sure you save time for Montecatini itself - a really pretty, peaceful and classy little town, certainly one of our favourites!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Impressive entrance hall, staircase & restaurant, although the lack of carpet & curtains in there made meal-times VERY noisy! The food was very good, with choices, including regional dishes, every day (nothing repeated during our week's stay), supplemented with a salad buffet & at least 2 hot vegetables. The hot & cold buffet breakfasts were more than adequate though exactly the same every day.
Our 4th floor corner room had views of both the square & the main street, & we enjoyed watching the strolling crowds & on Sunday evening, the (slightly amateurish!) marching band. Other reviewers commented that they were disturbed by noise from the street - this seemed to come mainly from the 2 restaurants opposite & died down shortly after 10pm.
The room itself was bright & spacious, though the bathroom needs updating. The blue tiles were very 1960's, the hot water was unreliable & the mechanical plug in the washbasin didn't work (do they ever?)
The weather wasn't warm enough for us to use the courtyard tables (apart from our welcome meeting on the first evening) or the swimming pool.
Our room-maid Angela & the restaurant staff were friendly & did an excellent job. One of the female receptionists, however, was less than co-operative when we asked to pay for our drinks daily, rather than run up a tab to pay at the end of our stay - this is apparently not allowed for tour groups!
All-in-all we enjoyed our stay here & would recommend the hotel as being well situated for the town centre, the station & the thermal spa park.

Room Tip: Room 429 is spacious & pleasant, & though the lift to get to the 4th floor is small, we neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spent a week on half board through Inghams at the end of May 2013, and although the weather was not very good, the hotel itself was excellent, although we did have a couple of niggles. The cold/continental breakfast was adequate (although this may have been more to do with Inghams than the hotel as other tour groups were fed in a different area and had hot breakfasts) but the evening meal was good and consisted of four waiter served courses.

We contacted the hotel direct by email asking for a room with a balcony and got just that! There is a very large communal balcony at the rear of the hotel on the first floor and our large (by Italian standards) room opened out onto it. The room was very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean, but we did have a problem with the very slow running bath water as it took a good ten minutes to fill deep enough to have a decent bath.

The hotel is right in the resort centre and the staff are all friendly and helpful so it is an ideal base for a holiday in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband I visited this Hotel for the first time last year for two weeks, we are back again this year for three. This Hotel is in the centre of Montecatini and is perfect for visitors who like to walk and catch the train. It is close to everything, shops, very reasonable restaurants, and the train is 5 minutes walk . The Staff of this Hotel are a credit to the Hotel Business world wide. My husband and I are older travellers but have been in a variety of countries in the the top Hotels in many. We came back to this Hotel due to its staff and the feeling of the Hotel. It is an older Italian Hotel and we enjoy this experience, we can have stainless steel and white walls anywhere but this has comfort and charm( what we expect from Italy). If you are older travellers you can expect the very best of service and assistance from Frankie, Sylvia, Alina( my spelling may not be correct) but these young people are a credit to the Hotel industry! We are in a large room with ample space for storage and a lovely bath! Ask for an inside room or if pre booking discuss your needs with the helpful Management. Try the red chianti it's rare to find it in Australia!

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room we have been on the first floor on both visits and the room is very large wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#4 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tuscany Inn Hotel
Tuscany Inn Hotel
#61 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#18 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore

Address: Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.