We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore

Save Saved
You added Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed as part of a group tour and the right in the center of town and close to the highway. The service and staff were outstanding. We ate many meals and the hotel and enjoyed them all. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    110
    40
    27
    7
See reviews for
47
127
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent seven nights at this hotel. We had most of our meals there also. The food was excellent and served by the best waittors. The hotel was very clean and our BR was a nice size. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located in the city, need anything, just a few minutes away. Many people have been bothered by the noise from the people in the streets. In February it was not bad at all. The Hotel lobby and sourrounding rooms are very elegant. It also has a small bar for the evenings. Give it a try.........

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel as part of a group. All of the chairs in the lobby needed upgrading. All of the seat pans sagged badly. I understand the look they are seeking, but I do believe you can achieve the same look by replacing the seat foam and recovering. The chairs in the dining room were so fragile, I was afraid if I moved, one of the legs would snap. Our room was in dire need of upgrading. We turned the heat in our room up to the max but it never came on leaving us cold. Others in our party baked in their rooms. There is hope as the entire second and third floors were cordoned off for construction! A bright spot is the patisserie across the street. Not only is it open early for pastries, but also until midnight, serving coffee and limoncello!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent one week with my family at the Grand Hotel Plaza and enjoyed it very much. Our children as well, they felt like at home. The staff couldn't be better and the experience positive, from any point of view. Really satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Don't stay here if you want modern and minimalistic......it is one of the oldest hotels in Montecatini and has lots of character. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the food too.
Swimming pool area quite small but kept clean.
An ideal base for exploring Tuscany. We stayed on a Cosmos Touring holiday and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
You must try Gambrinus bar just down the road. Great cocktails and they often have live music.

Room Tip: We overlooked the main square and although very busy at night the noise didn't go on too late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arica, Chile
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Plaza with my family and we all enjoyed it very much. It was so charming. I would like to thank all the staff, so nice and helpful everytime we needed them. Hope to see you very soon again, in our next travel to Italy. Thank you very much. Miguel Vezanes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Linton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel has character and does not suffer from the blandness of some chain hotels. It is comfortable and the staff are excellent - always friendly and attentive. The room was fine and had a good view over the front of the hotel. My only complaint? Powdered scrambled egg for breakfast - not nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore

Address: Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.