We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Columbia Hotel to your Saves list
Columbia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Corso Roma | Montecatini Terme, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Columbia this month and loved it. Staff was excellent, Restaurant staff worked so hard and were Always friendly----food was excellent! Location was perfect, 5 min walk to everything. Our Second time in Montecatini Terme and it won't be our last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    219
    54
    28
    20
See reviews for
51
375
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montville, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for our Trafalgar tour and loved everything about it. Our room was very sound proof, we had a large jet tub, a great sitting area downstairs, a great staff that was helpful and fun, two computers to use, free WiFi, and nice restruant on the fifth floor with a nice view. The front desk staff spoke English and were very helpful with information. The wait staff spoke very little English,but once they knew you and your daily likes and needs, they were extremly helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony. They are only about two feet out, but it adds to the ambiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, ON
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location, within walking distance of restaurants (pizzeria trattoria Il Vicolo was great, family run and everything was delicious), shopping the funicular.

Serving staff were wonderful, and the 5th floor restaurant has a great view.

The rooms were dated, no soundproofing at all. You could hear people dragging furniture, flushing toilets, talking (clearly) at all hours. Some of the rooms are very small and dark, we were not expecting a suite, but there was barely enough room to put suitcases for two of us in the first room we were in. The desk staff were less than friendly, we were luck to have a tour guide who helped us change to a larger, brighter room.

Great location, but it does need some TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.The rooms on the North side, I believe had the balcony's. I beli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a first class hotel run by very professional and caring owners and I would give a Superior rating if it were available. The hotel is extremely clean and well managed. The entire staff, from the owners, to the maids, to the resturant staff are friendly, helpful, and very professional. As an example, one afternoon I enjoyed a few glasses of the Collina Bianco wine and before going up to the room for the evening, I purchased a bottle of the Collina to take up to our room. After the young man charged the bottle to the room, he told me that he wanted to bring me a platter of cheese and ham to go with the wine. FIve minutes later he arrived with the platter, at no charge. He simply said to enjoy. I wish that I had his name to pass to you. The resturant staff is also excellent and the food is outstanding. There is just nothing negative about this hotel or staff. Thank you again. Steve Cranford

Room Tip: Corner rooms are really nice. We stayed in 302 and it was wonderful. As a matter of fact, the pict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stated at the Columbia Hotel for a week. We were very favorably impressed. The hotel does a great job in training its staff. They spoke very good English, and were unfailingly friendly and accomodating. The staff is dedicated to making the guest feel very valued.

The room (No. 307) was very pleasant and overlooked a wooded area. The only problem was that the shower stall was tiny, making it difficult to keep water from spilling onto the floor.

The hotel is well located, close to a number of restaurants and shops. The hotel's gratis breakfast was excellent. Moreover, the food in general was far better than merely acceptable.

There were two computers in the lobby that could be used free of charge.

I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I would recommend room 307. It is a good size, attractive, and with comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for almost 3 weeks with our little baby. And we were impressed by the service provided here. Reception people were always friendly, smiling, helpful, efficient. Restaurant staff was also incredibly kind, welcome and professional! The breakfast and dinner variety and quality were great!
The only thing to be improved is housekeeping.
The rest is great! Thank you for our marvellous stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My camera club of 35 people were recent guests at this hotel. We stayed for a week there. The hotel was wonderful. Food was delicious and the staff was extraordinary. Give this hotel serious consideration if you are heading to Montecatini, Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 19 Corso Roma | Montecatini Terme, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#10 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive four-star hotel with a Wellness Centre dedicated to its own guests. The hotel is situated in a very central position, in one of the most famous Shopping street in the hearth of Montecatini Terme fashion. Montecatini Terme, famous all over the world, is the ideal place for your relax and for a regenerating vacation. It's besides near to the most beautiful Tuscan art cities: Florence,Pisa,Siena,Lucca;all attainable in a few minutes driving.Hotel Columbia Wellness & spa offers a small but painstaking Wellness Area that offers you a range of aesthetic treatments aimed to maintain the perfect psycho-physical shape. Ground floor, 200 sqm : “Emotional Time” : colour-therapy steam bath, KNEIPP course , emotional shower with aroma-therapy, tropical therapy, Relax time in Thepidarium, Relax in Calidarium , Sauna e Jacuzzi.plus news’ ! HYDRO small swimming-pool Salt water and thalossotherapy , back Hydro, , “ millebolle “ Gayser , Hydro bed , chromotherapy First floor , 75 sqm “OCEAN, EVASION “ ! : Rasul bath , Salt Cave , sauna and relax area with chromotherapy, music-therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Columbia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.