We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs revamp” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Imperial Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giacomo Puccini 20, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Needs revamp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here with friends in early september, this hotel needs some serious work done on it, very dated and tired, although our room was small but ok with matching antique type funiture, our friends room next door was awfull, with old furniture, peeling paint on the walls and ceiling with damp patches, the towels and bed linen were nice but the beds were very hard. Breakfast was the most disappointing for a 4* hotel, the fruit juice although different colours tasted of nothing, there were no cooked options, cereal was basic, no fresh fruit only tinned and any bread and pastries that were on offer were very dry, one thing I really do not like on my breakfast table is a small bin to put rubbish in. I would not recommend this hotel. Montecatini Terme is a good base to explore Tuscany, Lucca is a must.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Old style nice 4 star hotel, nice garden, nice rooms, excellent breakfast, good wine.
Big nice bathroom with small shower (it looks that this become rule for Italy)
Internet works in lobby and garden , but not in the room.
Friendly staff (but not experienced to manage Internet connection in case of breakdown)
Not far from town center.

Room Tip: all rooms o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is the first time to Italy for me and it is the most horrible hotel which I have seen. I don't think it even fits to be a 4 Star hotel. Maybe 1 star. The furnishings were old, lift was small. Room was an attic. There wasn't even a cupboard. Bathroom doors were those folding kind. The window in the bathroom couldn't even be closed. Telephone was dirty, ceiling was peeling, cracks on ceilings with water dripping, cracks on walls, exposed electric sockets, dusty bathroom, dusty/dirty flooring, wet patches on walls & ceilings. Worse of all, the room smelled pungent as it was near the swimming pool. It is not fit for staying at all!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hotel is close to the city-center, have a swimmingpool on the roof where there also is sun chairs. It has 2 lifts to all the floors. Nice garden area with comfortable chairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We always stay at this hotel when in Tuscany. It is superbly located, the roof top swimming pool is usually quiet and has spectacular views and the breakfasts are very good. I love the gardens, they are peaceful and well designed with lots of places to sit and eat. Ideally located for the spas and for shopping. Parking is on the street but not a problem. Staff are very helpful. We have had rooms of varying quality-some in need of renovation but fine nonetheless. our last room seemed to have very old cabin furniture and a fantastic balcony.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed at this Hotel for a week as part of a tour.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the meals are excellent ( 3 choices for each course ), rooms are clean and tidy and reasonably sized as were the en-suites.

There is a swiming pool on the roof ( 5th floor ) which is open till 7pm every day. There is a great view of Montecatini Alto from the roof.

I was allocated a room on the first floor and had a balony that you could have played tennis on. This balcony was shared with 3 other rooms however only one of these rooms was occupied at the time I stayed there.

The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the centre of the town and a couple of minutes from the park; where the local spas are.
It is ideally situated for both the bus and train stations should you wish to visit other towns in the surrounding area.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if you ever visit this area..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We booked this as a late availability holiday, having loved Montecatini Terme when we visited last year. We were a bit apprehensive as to what awaited after reading some reviews, but for us (and I think it helps staying for a week plus in one place as I suspect we got good treatment, perhaps better than the many 2 or 3 nighters on coach tours the hotel was full of), we were very happy with this hotel for what it cost. us-(Just over £20 each per night B and B). In the end it would be unrealistic to expect better for the money is how I view it.
The rooms were a bit old fashioned but spacious, the bathrooms were spotless but chipped here and there. The bed was comfy. Sheets and towels changed regularly though not daily. Doors out onto a roof terrace. The fridge and safe without any extra costs. Well functioning air conditioning. The pool was shallow but had fantastic views and was deserted most days and great for cooling off in.Take your own pool towel or hire one for 5 euros for your stay. The staff were lovely. Friendly, smiling, helpful.
The breakfast wasn't the best we have ever had in a 4* hotel but fresh and adequate -bread, jams, croissants, cake, one type of cheese, cooked meat and cold hard boiled eggs, fruit (fantastic kiwi)and tinned fruit salad, natural yogurt and cereals. Hot drinks and very dilute juices and water. Lots of space inside and out to socialise, enjoy a drink, play cards, relax with a book. The garden around the hotel- sweet smelling shrubs and attractive. A short walk from the station so transfer from Pisa only 4 euro's each which is amazing value in my book. Montecatini is a great base -lots of activities in the evenings, nice people watching place, parkland, cycle opportunities, the spas. Lucca , Florence, Pisa etc all cheap train jourey away. In my view you could do far worse if on a budget.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — shallow pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Garden Hotel

Address: Viale Giacomo Puccini 20, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Garden Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPERIAL GARDEN HOTEL HAS BEEN CLOSED SINCE NOVEMBER 2012 AND DOES NOT EXIST ANYLONGER. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Imperial Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.