We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but disappointing half board” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cappelli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cappelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cappelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Alessandro Bicchierai 139, I-51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Geel, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good location but disappointing half board”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is excellent located: nearby the center of town.
Parking in front of the hotel for 3€/day.

The outside pool and the whirlpool are OK.
Rooms are very rudimentary: walls and ceiling are painted white; furniture is very basic. The beds and the bathroom are OK. The air-conditioning was probably the best bit of the room.

Most fitness tools are broken or malfunctioning.

Avoid half board: as Italy is known for its good cuisine, the meals you get served here are a bad reference. The dishes presented sometimes looked like they were used cooking for a hospital or school. The diner isn't cosy.

Almost every staff member of the hotel is trying there very best and they're aware of the short comings almost every guest complains about (i.e. the food) , but as a tourist you don't care about that: you want to get what you've paid for!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
32
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

There is a free car park round the corner, the hotel has a reasonable pool and terrace. The restaurant is pretty good. This was our second stay at this hotel, and it did not disappoint.
The rooms are cool and comfortable.
The two people who share reception duties are delightful and you are assured a warm welcome. The breakfasts are average for this type of hotel.
The pool is popular and we even saw people leaving towels on loungers to reserve them, - before breakfast. The hotel is quiet and peaceful, it is a short walk to the nearest spa and the market is yards away. There is a very nice corner cafe just outside the front entrance.
You can have a very nice evening sitting by the pool drinking the hotel wine and beer which is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is not only one of the best 3 Star hotels but one of the best Best Western 3 Star hotels we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot. From first checking in to last checking out, the staff have been so friendly and helpful and nothing has been too much trouble for any of them. Our Italian is pretty ropey to say the least and they put us to shame with their excellent English. The buffet breakfast is more than anyone could want to start the day and both the rooms and the public areas are excellently decorated. The outdoor pool and whirlpool are a joy to come back to after a hard day exploring the Tuscan countryside, towns and villages. The hotel is ideally placed to get easy access into Florence by train (9.20 eur pp return) and an easy 50 minute drive to Pisa, where the driving and parking is much easier. There are lots of reasonably priced restaurants within an easy stroll of the hotel and the town itself is very pleasant to walk around. We would certainly recommend this as a base for this part of Tuscany.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool and never heard a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in June. The reception staff are very friendly and as the temperature soared to 37 degrees C each day the air conditioning in the room was very much appreciated. Be careful when showering as the glass wall of the shower is about 1 cm from the bathroom floor and I managed to flood the bathroom and also part of the bedroom. We told the staff, however all they did was put down a couple of towels to soak up some of the water. We asked for a mop, but nothing was forthcoming. Luckily as it was so hot the bathroom dried out overnight and the carpet in a couple of days. As the staff were not too concerned, I guess this is a regular occurrence!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geetbets
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Best Western Cappelli is located in Montecatini Terme, a spa town in Tuscany, near Pisa. This town boasts dozens hotels and perhaps this declares the reasonable prices. It also seems that the heydays of Montecatini Terme are somewhat over. I have noticed the relatively high age of most guests, and by extension, of the people on the streets.
The hotel is located in a quiet street with trees on either side and a park across. In the early afternoon it shouldn’t be a problem to find a parking spot in the vicinity of the hotel. In the evening it gets busier, but the hotel has a small garage (charged).
The entrance hall of the hotel tries to rouse an impression of luxury and elegance and that works nicely. It looks like you enter a classy hotel from the Interbellum.
The staff at the reception desk was friendly and helpful and speaks English.
Our room, with terrace and overlooking the courtyard and the pool was very spacious, clean and quiet. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was completely proportional with the room: big. Air conditioning, minibar and flat screen were working as they should.
In the garden of the hotel is a small but nice pool, a jacuzzi and a large number of sun loungers.
We did not use the restaurant so I can not judge its quality. On walking distance yet there are several good restaurants.
Since we had to leave early in the morning we did not have breakfast. That is perhaps the biggest drawback. The receptionist on night duty, turned on the coffee machine and juice machine and collected milk from the kitchen so we did not have to leave hungry.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Mid-September stay here for two nights while driving around Tuscany. We took the train from here for one day trip to Florence. Train station about 15 minute walk from hotel. Breakfast was included in our rate (178 Euros for two nights), but don't expect much as it included only the basics and wait staff were not welcoming. The restaurant in the hotel required reservations for other meals and we did not eat there. Parking was on street and 3 Euros per day if pass was purchased from hotel. Desk personnel spoke English and were happy to answer questions and offer assistance. There is a pedestrian only market street less than a block away which made for a nice browsing stroll in the early evening. Restaurants and center of town were about a 10 minute walk away. This hotel is a little old-fashioned, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night only at the beginning of September 2010. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street. Room size was ok. Overall room decor looked ok but was a bit grubby.
Good things: On arrival check in staff were friendly and quite helpful. Easy to park on street right outside the hotel paying e3 per day. (Not sure if there was off street parking as we weren't offered this). Nice pool and jacuzzi. Good location on a street with other hotels and a short walk to spa (if you're thinking of taking the waters at the spa, we were told you need a doctor's prescribtion), funicular and shops.
Other points: Room too stuffy/hot to sleep well. Although it did say there was air conditioning from 12-12, the air conditioning in our room was not turned on until10.30pm after we asked if anything was wrong with it as our room just wasn’t getting cool. Air con then went off at midnight. Signs on windows requested you keep them closed for your own security.
Breakfast was basic, processed ham, cheese, bread, croissants, cereals, tinned fruit salad, tea/coffee from a machine and juice. Service from the waitress at breakfast was ‘frosty’. There were only four other guests dining and the waitress wasn’t over busy at the time.
Despite being a non-smoking floor, there was an overwhelming smell in the corridor.
Bathroom not particularly clean. Toilet seat broken and mould around bath. Shower was over the bath. In the shower area there were taps on one side of the bath with a window just above and fixed shower screen on the other making it small and awkward trying not to hit your leg on the tap without getting water all over the window sill or floor.

As it was just for a night the hotel was ok, but wouldn't want to stay here for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cappelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cappelli

Address: Viale Alessandro Bicchierai 139, I-51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cappelli 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Cappelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecatini Terme
Montecatini Terme Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cappelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.