We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful when showering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cappelli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cappelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cappelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Alessandro Bicchierai 139, I-51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Be careful when showering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in June. The reception staff are very friendly and as the temperature soared to 37 degrees C each day the air conditioning in the room was very much appreciated. Be careful when showering as the glass wall of the shower is about 1 cm from the bathroom floor and I managed to flood the bathroom and also part of the bedroom. We told the staff, however all they did was put down a couple of towels to soak up some of the water. We asked for a mop, but nothing was forthcoming. Luckily as it was so hot the bathroom dried out overnight and the carpet in a couple of days. As the staff were not too concerned, I guess this is a regular occurrence!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
30
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geetbets
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Best Western Cappelli is located in Montecatini Terme, a spa town in Tuscany, near Pisa. This town boasts dozens hotels and perhaps this declares the reasonable prices. It also seems that the heydays of Montecatini Terme are somewhat over. I have noticed the relatively high age of most guests, and by extension, of the people on the streets.
The hotel is located in a quiet street with trees on either side and a park across. In the early afternoon it shouldn’t be a problem to find a parking spot in the vicinity of the hotel. In the evening it gets busier, but the hotel has a small garage (charged).
The entrance hall of the hotel tries to rouse an impression of luxury and elegance and that works nicely. It looks like you enter a classy hotel from the Interbellum.
The staff at the reception desk was friendly and helpful and speaks English.
Our room, with terrace and overlooking the courtyard and the pool was very spacious, clean and quiet. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was completely proportional with the room: big. Air conditioning, minibar and flat screen were working as they should.
In the garden of the hotel is a small but nice pool, a jacuzzi and a large number of sun loungers.
We did not use the restaurant so I can not judge its quality. On walking distance yet there are several good restaurants.
Since we had to leave early in the morning we did not have breakfast. That is perhaps the biggest drawback. The receptionist on night duty, turned on the coffee machine and juice machine and collected milk from the kitchen so we did not have to leave hungry.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Mid-September stay here for two nights while driving around Tuscany. We took the train from here for one day trip to Florence. Train station about 15 minute walk from hotel. Breakfast was included in our rate (178 Euros for two nights), but don't expect much as it included only the basics and wait staff were not welcoming. The restaurant in the hotel required reservations for other meals and we did not eat there. Parking was on street and 3 Euros per day if pass was purchased from hotel. Desk personnel spoke English and were happy to answer questions and offer assistance. There is a pedestrian only market street less than a block away which made for a nice browsing stroll in the early evening. Restaurants and center of town were about a 10 minute walk away. This hotel is a little old-fashioned, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night only at the beginning of September 2010. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street. Room size was ok. Overall room decor looked ok but was a bit grubby.
Good things: On arrival check in staff were friendly and quite helpful. Easy to park on street right outside the hotel paying e3 per day. (Not sure if there was off street parking as we weren't offered this). Nice pool and jacuzzi. Good location on a street with other hotels and a short walk to spa (if you're thinking of taking the waters at the spa, we were told you need a doctor's prescribtion), funicular and shops.
Other points: Room too stuffy/hot to sleep well. Although it did say there was air conditioning from 12-12, the air conditioning in our room was not turned on until10.30pm after we asked if anything was wrong with it as our room just wasn’t getting cool. Air con then went off at midnight. Signs on windows requested you keep them closed for your own security.
Breakfast was basic, processed ham, cheese, bread, croissants, cereals, tinned fruit salad, tea/coffee from a machine and juice. Service from the waitress at breakfast was ‘frosty’. There were only four other guests dining and the waitress wasn’t over busy at the time.
Despite being a non-smoking floor, there was an overwhelming smell in the corridor.
Bathroom not particularly clean. Toilet seat broken and mould around bath. Shower was over the bath. In the shower area there were taps on one side of the bath with a window just above and fixed shower screen on the other making it small and awkward trying not to hit your leg on the tap without getting water all over the window sill or floor.

As it was just for a night the hotel was ok, but wouldn't want to stay here for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

We spent 4 nights at the Cappelli in April 2006 as part of a bus tour of Italy. The public rooms were elegant and the bedrooms were spacious. However the bedrooms did not have coffee making facilities, a safe or a working fridge/minibar. Wet towels were simply hung back on the rails rather than replaced. There was a very attractive terrace with a swimming pool and gym. Unfortunately we found the staff to be rather surly and unhelpful and the meals were awful. Breakfast consisted of cornflakes, toast and croissants with fruit juice and coffee. A slab of ham and cheese were provided for non coach party guests but removed when we arrived, as was the meusli. We had booked 2 evening meals. The first consisted of very good home made soup followed by a pork chop, frozen peas and semi liquid instant mashed potatoes. The dessert was a tinned pineapple ring topped with a spoonful of tinned fruit salad. My husband considered it to be the worst meal he had ever been offered in a restaurant.When people complained they were offered fresh fruit or vanilla ice cream. The house wine was charged a e12 a bottle. (By comparison we had a wonderful 4 course lunch at Capa Tosta, Piazza dalla Sala in Pistoia for e9.50, including water and coffee!) The second meal was much better - pasta carbonara, meat stew with green beans and carrots and panacotta for dessert.
However, due to the unpredictability of standards I would hesitate to recommend this hotel.
While Montecatini Terme is an elegant resort, for some reason it was filled with school parties of teenagers who rampaged about the streets shouting every night until the early hours of the morning.
We felt this whole experience reflected badly on the Italian tourist industry which up until now we have found to be first class.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

My wife and I enjoyed 4 nights at this delightful establishment. Our room was large by European standards, with 10-12 foot ceilings, separate bathroom and a/c. The staff was very friendly and responsive. The food was very good and all this at a rate of approximately 60 Euros per person per day (3 meals). I would return in a heartbeat to this family owned and operated establishment and Montecatini was a joy (although we did not partake in the waters and their "cleansing" effects).

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2003

We stayed here three nights in 2000 after finding hotel prices in Florence exhorbitant, and we thoroughly enjoyed Montecatini Terme and this hotel. We had a renovated room on the top (6th?) floor, with a beautiful new marble bath. The view of the mountains from our balcony was stunning. (Only a few rooms have balconies). In looking over the hotel, it appeared that about half the rooms had been renovated; room prices vary accordingly. Service was excellent; I learned that the person who showed us to our room was the hotel's long-time manager only when he refused my tip! The hotel's public rooms included a series of rooms of varying sizes furnished in an older but comfortable style--a bit like staying in a good English country house. Food in the formal dining room was good (not necessarily great) and was fairly priced.
Montecatini was (and to some extent still is) a place where wealthy Europeans came to "take the waters." After dinner--even after dark--people of all ages can be found strolling along the upscale streets and even through the large parks of this spa town. A very enjoyable and relaxing scene. The town makes a good base for exploring this part of Tuscany (Florence, Lucca and Pisa). About 20 trains per day make the 50-minute trip to Florence (to the east) and the 25-minute trip to Lucca (to the west). It's about a 10-minute walk through town from the hotel to the small train station on the single but busy rail line. There are plenty of stores allowing one to shop for art, jewelry, leather and other luxuries, and a few bargains to be found at small street markets. Montecatini has two true 5-star hotels, perhaps twelve 4-star hotels, and well over a hundred 3- and 2-star hotels, most kept to a very high standard by all the competition. This hotel (Capelli-Croce de Savoia) is in the 3-star range--by no means the finest in town, but still very comfortable, satisfying and fairly priced. We recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cappelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cappelli

Address: Viale Alessandro Bicchierai 139, I-51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cappelli 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cappelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecatini Terme
Montecatini Terme Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cappelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.