We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spa Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terme di Montecatini Spa

Terme di Montecatini Spa
Viale Verdi 41, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
0572/778543
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treat yourself to a full-body mud bath, a facial, soothing massage or Turkish bath at this elegant century-old spa located in a magnificent park setting.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Spa Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Evidently, the spas in Montecatini Terme are a series of places, not just one building or location. I was confused until I figured that out. I went there on a day trip from Lucca, which I suggest doing because it was quite convenient. From the train station, the spas are just a few blocks walk. I found the town itself to be a bit shabby and dated, so was glad I wasn't actually staying there. I went to the Terme Redi Spa, which is where the thermal swimming pool is. It is 12 euro for one hour. That is all the longer you are permitted to stay in due to the water temperature. The water is 32-33 degrees celcius or about 90 degrees F. It is warm but not hot. Also salty. The pool is not large but is very pleasant. The public hours for swimming are very definite so you need to call or check the schedule before you go.

A few blocks away is the Excelsior Spa. This is a very beautiful historic building and the area is quite lovely. You can book various treatments here. I had a massage and a pedicure and was very pleased with the service. It was nice to have beautifully painted wooden cupboards in the dressing area rather than a roomful of metal lockers! After the treatment I was invited to relax in the Solarium with a cup of hot tea before I got dressed. The view is of a nice park below and was very enjoyable.

I visited during a very low season so did not experience the outdoor music everyone else wrote about. But it was a nice place to spend the day and there are a lot of shops and cafes to visit after your spa treatments.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    59
    24
    18
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hot bath (with strangers!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I had the thermal pool experience for 1 hour (which is plenty of time). It was really relaxing and the facilities were very clean and smart. Its a little strange as it feels a but like having a nice warm bath with 10 other people, only 1 of whom you actually know.
You don't need more than an hour as the prune effect takes full effect by 45 mins.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great spa services but the Tettucio is a dream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spa services are basically the same everywhere but if you are looking for a grand experience you must try the Tettucio water therapy. The location is jaw dropping: Picture a Roman bath. For 14 Euros one is given a drinking glass and entrance to the grounds. There are four therapeutic waters that are to be drunk in sequence. I suffer from significant intestinal problems and found that the waters were very beneficial. There is also a grand bar there should you require as well as a very accomplished musical ensemble for your enjoyment while you sit, drink, read the paper or have a conversation. An absolute must if you go to Montecatini.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were blown away by the spa, lots to look at, and the grounds outside were lovely to walk around. Sculptures and paintings galore.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Morning Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Tettucio Spa is close to the hotel and is an excellent place to spend a morning in the grandeur of its superb buildings and landscaped gardens. We had lunch there, listening to the pianist and singer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terme di Montecatini Spa also viewed

Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 

Been to Terme di Montecatini Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terme di Montecatini Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.