We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old grandeur and in a very nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel & La Pace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel & La Pace to your Saves list
Grand Hotel & La Pace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Torretta, 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old grandeur and in a very nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked for a very good price through Travelbird, and I guess we were lucky to have a room in de main building. Good space, bathroom fine, and we even had a small balcony.
The dining rooms are big and very high, with impressive ceiling paintings.
Breakfast and dinner great, and the personnel nice and effective. They had to work very hard!
Hotel in the centre of Montecatini, which is a very nice and cosy little city.
Last but not least is the hotel near the station, so you can go easily to wonderful Florence or other cities.
Even though the wheather was not warm enough to sit in the garden or swimming pool, we had a wonderfull time!!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room in the main building (we had nr 519)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    77
    36
    34
    28
See reviews for
44
151
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great hotel , room was very grand and with a balcony gorgeous bathroom . great service and friendly staff all round . Spa looks very good although I did not use it . Breakfast amazing. Diner was Evan better .
Hotel a bit run down in places outside but you would expect that from the age of the hotel .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We came to 5 stars hotel and get -1 star rooms number 120 and 121.What a shocked! Smell, small, filthy, old elevator loud ! Next morning I asked to change my room- concierge explain me ,that I don't understand Toscany style! !! I never know dust and old smell in 5 stars hotel Toscany style! Finally we moved to 3 stars room in 5 stars hotel. The trick is - hotel has two "buildings" - main and service. In main building - nice 5 stars rooms , hall , normal elevator . And " service building". You will tell me "you got what you pay!" no,no,no!!!! I spoke with people -they pay even less, but got suit with 2 rooms and 3 balcony ( probably they tip concierge guy?) I am willing to tip somebody too, but I don't know to whom. Good side of this hotel - location, parking, breakfast , lobby , restorant seems good ( not try yet) one more leacking shower- when you get shower - you create pool in bathroom.... If they don't care.... Why I should care... I put two bath robe on the floor...

Room Tip: Ask room in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked 3 nights here through Voyage Prive & then read the reviews that worried us slightly... However a quick call to VP prior to going clearly gave them a chance to truly deliver!

We arrived early, yet our suite was readily available for us! Yes we had a suite which consisted of a huge bedroom, separate old style Italian bathroom with frilly shower curtains & a great shower plus a separate lounge with freestanding sofa, 2 chairs & antique style tables with massive lamps. Our mini bar was well stocked, we had a safe to use, oh & all rooms opened up to old school balconies! Air con worked fine. We had room 442.

Service from the front desk was ace. Breakfast was outside & had a huge array of choice, from scrambled eggs & bacon to sweet pastries & cheese, hams, fruit yoghurt and of course coffee!

The pool was gorgeous & the bar manned from 10 - 6 pm with plenty of sun loungers & towels provided. Oh the hotel also has a spa on the 1st floor & shows all the famous people that stayed there in the 50's & 60's (Audrey Hepburn for one!!)

It's lovely old school grand glamour with chandeliers, big mirrors & arty paintings. We used it as a base to explore what a tuscany has to offer :)

Room Tip: 442 suite on second floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked a 5 night break at the hotel through Voyage Prive and were very disappointed with the quality of this hotel. As previous reviewers have mentioned it is extremely tired and in need of updating. The original room we were offered was more akin to a cell than a luxury hotel room. Old furniture, little or no attempt at decoration and very poor amenities (we had no glasses, minibar contents, telephone or overhead shower). The public areas of the hotel were better but overall I'd say this hotel struggles to reach 3 stars let alone the 5 stars it advertises itself as. We were most definitely missold our 'Tuscan Sanctuary' break.

Room Tip: Don't book through voyage Prive - we got a definite feeling that VP had been shown the top rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was looking forward to staying here but was a tad disappointed. The location and grounds are excellent as is the service especially staff on reception who were wonderful. My main gripe is the room in which we stayed . It felt down at heel and was a tad grubby. Although maid service is twice daily with lovely linen and towels I feel the hotel needs to acknowledge that we are in 2013 and that it can't rest on its laurels as it clearly still feels it can. Our room was dark and dreary with a dark and dismal bathroom . A lick of paint and lighter furniture and a bathroom overhaul were needed.It may be traditionally Italian but that doesn't justify grubby curtains and dusty floors. Finally the air conditioning was woefully inadequate and didn't touch the quality of lower graded hotels we have stayed in in Italy.

Room Tip: Probably don't try to book a budget deal as yu will not get a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several years ago. We chose not to stay here because of lack of air-conditioning . We seen some famous people De niro, Miss Colombia among others. One of the best front desk staffs ever. We recently attempted to dine at La Magnoli located in the garden area of the hotel. The staff seen me pushing a baby carriage which i think led to the prejudges I encountered. Let me set the seen I was wearing expensive silk shorts and same type shirt. When I asked to be seated I was looked up and down as I had the plague and was told shorts are unacceptable. I looked out at others seated and noticed two others wearing shorts. One of which was cut offs and the others a jean material. In my heart I feel they didn't want a kid in their restaurant. I left upset walked a few blocks away and had an amazing meal at La Pecora Nera. I would highly recommend staying away from a hotel that allows restaurant to be so shallow towards customers who like to spend money on a good meal.

Room Tip: I would not stay because the room I stayed in had no air they gave me two fans as it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel & La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & La Pace

Address: Via della Torretta, 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel & La Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful property,built in 1870 in Liberty architectural style, is located in the heart of Tuscany, few miles from Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena and the seaside. Close to Florence and Pisa International Airports and a few steps from Railway station. The hotel features a great heated (28°C)outdoor swimming pool(seasonal),a Tennis clay court,both free of charge, a modern style SPA with Wet Area (a heated pool with Jacuzzi corner, the ancient Rasul bathing ritual and relaxation area),regenerative and anti-age treatment, holistic programmes, massage and remise en forme) and the enchanting SPA SUITE, a private corner with jacuzzi, rasul and relaxing area. Member of the Montecatini International Golf course (special discount for green fee available). Private park of 20.000 sqm. Private parking lot. Buffet lunch by the pool and candle light dinner with piano music in the Patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel & La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And La Pace
Grand Hotel La Pace
Grand Hotel Montecatini Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel & La Pace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.