We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly bizarre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Byron

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montecatini Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Byron
Save
You added Hotel Byron to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bicchierai 68, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly bizarre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We soon discovered that the hotels in Montecatini are divided in two very distinct categories - expensive tranquil spas and budget priced older hotels that really are just dormitories for tours around Tuscany. Once you get your head round that, the Byron really is a very acceptable base. It's super clean and the staff are delightful and very helpful - I wouldn't have their job in a million years! Yes, the food isn't great - especially if you don't eat meat and the house wine is very rough but there are several decent places to eat out in town or up at Monetcatini Alto. If you fancy a proper coffee in the morning there is a lovely little cafe just over the road, past the wine shop. In April and May you might want to consider asking for a room away from the main road since it seems to be the main route into town for all the Italian teenagers on school trips which means no chance of falling asleep before midnight!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have recently returned from this hotel where I went with a bus party. The hotel itself was quite nice, but the food was something else. We were told the courses would not be as we would normally expect, but to get sausage roll with soggy spinach for the main course or escalopes with brussel sprouts was going a bit far. The rissotto was really just flavoured rice pudding, with the same consistancy. Potatoes do not seem to exist because we never seen one. The sweets were the same type of cake trotted out every night until it was finished and if you wanted fruit instead, hard luck. Ali in all this was one of the worst hotels for food I have been in other travellers beware.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with a group of seven teachers and 56 fairly well behaved children between the ages of 10 and 13. The staff at the hotel were excellent, patient, kind and very helpful. A group of rather grumpy German buisness people complained about the noise our children made at dinner ( perhaps they don't have children in Germany) I hope that they don't write a negative review, because children thoroughly enjoying a holiday should not reflect badly on a hotel.
The food served to us was very good and they catered for the various dietry requirements of the children (we gave prior warning). They were able to accomodate our various changes of plan and move the meal times to suit us and fit around other parties that were also staying in the hotel.
The rooms are somewhat basic, but comfortable and there was plenty of hot water, it was spotlessly clean and proved to be a fantastic base for our tuscan choir tour.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We holidayed with 'National Holidays' and a trip called 'Rome and a taste of Italy'. We arrived quite late at night and were told there wasn't the room in this hotel and we were then shuttled next door to stay in the snallest room ever, considering it was meant to be a twin for myself and my 16 year old son, the beds were pushed together and there was only millimetres seperating them, which made us both incredibly uncomfortable!
Our main complaint though was the Hotel Byron's breakfast, which was virtually non-existant. I have never heard of a hotel who refused to give croissants to guests as others had eaten more than one apiece... Bizarre! We paid for breakfast, I wasn't expecting to have to fight to get any food!!! It may have been a budget holiday, but it was breakfast, ffs!
The two dinners we were served were pretty awful, as far as we were concerned, and I would have preferred to have eaten out instead. On the second night we would have done if we had been alone.
On the plus side of the holiday, we made loads of fab friends, and the whistle-stop nature of the tour meant we saw more of Italy than we otherwise would have done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went with National Holidays for "A Taste of Italy". We were given our keys and left to carry our own luggage. My single room cost £73 extra and it was in the attic, three steps down into a little box, despite air conditioning the heat was unbearable. I did complain to the staff who were very busy and couldn't change the room. The next day I was moved, but to another hotel. This was a decent sized room but I had to go to the other hotel for meals.
The breakfasts were very basic and not enough food to go around. On the mornings we had to be served early the staff were very curt an "shooed" us out of the room as "they weren't ready for us."
The evening meals were very poor, luckily there were only 2 of them. The first one had a small piece of meat on the plate covered in some disgusting looking sauce. A bowl of cold potatoes, lettuce and grated carrot appeared on a table at the bottom end of the room (not enough potatoes to feed everyone). The second meal was chicken & chips which seemed to have bee thrown on he plate, this time just a bowl of grated carrot on the bottom table.
On the last morning I pressed the juice machine and some flies came out with the juice.
The hotel was clean but the towels were more like tea towels - this is not a hotel for comfort!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if you need a single room or want decent food
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed as part of a tour with National Holidays, as a centre for visits to Florence, Rome and Pisa.
Good location, clean and tidy, although rooms basic/adequate - but a busy, 'value' tour so its a case of a shower and a bed that is required!
The staff were friendly enough, however, the food service for the Breakfasts and the two evening meals on the itinerary was quite poor. Breakfast - Croissants ran out before all had taken Breakfast, Ist Evening meal - Potatoes ran out with a number of clients still to be served, 2nd Evening meal the vegetable provision was grated carrot and lettuce. The 'poor' element of the service was the attitude of the hotel management - basically - 'tough' the earlier clients should not have taken so much!!!

Room Tip: Rooms adequate but Eat Out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of the National holiday A taste of Rome and Italy.
Staff were welcoming and friendly. Booking in was quick and simple.

The room was on the slightly small size but adequate as it was only really being used to sleep in as we were out every day. The room was cleaned on a daily basis and there was a safe and fridge in the room also. The towels in the bathroom provided by the hotel were more like table cloth material rather than towel. The bathroom sink was too big for the bathroom as if you were of a larer build you would struggle to get into the shower and the distance between the sink and the shower was limited gap to get through.
We stayed in room 111 and the air conditioning worked perfectly well considering tempretures at the time of our stay was 35 - 40 degrees.

The breakfast was continental but there was no fruit or toast and the bread was a little on the stale side for my liking. There was plenty of mwat, cheese, yougarts and cereal.
Evening meal on the two nights that we ate at the hotel was tasty and plentiful. Only down side is you were not offered a selection of starter and main course and as one passenger was vegeterian this did not go down well as on both occassion as it was chicken on one night and pork the other. The person who was vegerterian was given a boiled egg.

Overall it was a basi clean tidy hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Bring your own towel as the ones provided by the hotel were not suitable more of a tablecloth than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Palace Hotel
Royal Palace Hotel
#66 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brennero e Varsavia
Hotel Brennero e Varsavia
#63 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#37 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#18 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brasile
Hotel Brasile
#60 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Byron

Address: Viale Bicchierai 68, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.