We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biondi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biondi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Biondi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale IV Novembre 83, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wonderful everything , just loved it. Friendly staff, nice hotel, close to everything you wsnt to visit in Tuscany. Montecatini Terme is a beautiful city with great night life. It also has natural roman thermal baths. It has great shopping and great food at very good prices.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    14
    19
    6
See reviews for
19
31
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a short walk to restaurants and a fun sidewalk market. It is situated in a stunning location. The room was spacious with two bathrooms! Staff were courteous and the hotel is lovely. Our only regret is that we spent so little time in this lovely town as we were part of a busy Cosmos tour of Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We came to this hotel on a coach tour, stopping 5 nights. Is this hotel punching above its weight ? A 3 star hotel posing as a 4 star ? I offer this question because there was so many things not customer friendly.

It’s too regimented to be customer friendly. Efficiency is all well and good as long as it doesn’t infringe on the customer’s relaxed holiday experience.
Some of the staff and management were rude and rushed, and if you asked questions that were not to their liking they gave answers in a dictorial manner, obviously trying to deter you from asking any further question, again not customer friendly.

The ‘welcome drink’ had to take place on the second night, because the first night we arrived at the hotel too late, due to our coach being late, not the hotels fault. But Why did they bother, because non of the hotel staff spoke welcoming us. A small glass of wine was offered and that was that. Nobody spoke welcoming us and no effort was put into to making us feel welcome

The menus had little choice and what was on offer was pretty poor with no imagination, and not the Italian experience we were hoping for.
Here are some of our complaints.

Breakfast
Stale bread or rolls every morning
Tinned fruit cocktail, no fresh fruit, hello I thought we were in Italy.
Warm milk instead of cold for cereal.
Could not serve yourself at the Coffee Machine because one of the staff rudely insisted that it was her job, this often caused frustration, especially when busy.
The toaster, totally inefficient. I put the stale bread through 3 times, and it still didn’t toast the bread properly, all time consuming, when trying to meet time schedules for the coach excursions.

Dinner in the evening was not the Italian experience we were hoping for:
Not much choice, and the Pasta every night was dry and rubbery with very little sauce.
Also where were the popular dishes that the Italians are world renown for, example In the whole time spent at the hotel, no pizza, no Ice Cream offered .
They offered mashed potatoes one night, you could practically drink it through a straw, it was that watery.
On the third night we asked for the possibility of having Ice Cream, and that we would pay for it if necessary, the waitress was very rude to my wife. It caused so much of a stir, not to mention embarrassment, that the manager was brought in and only by his sanction were we allowed to have Ice Cream, and may I add with not so much as an apology.
Because of that incident and lack of imagination with the way the food was cooked, we dined out for dinner for the last night, thus ensuring we would remember our holiday for good Italian cooking and not the poor Hotel Biondi experience.

The room had a fusty smell to it.
There was a ‘heat wave’ and we could not control the air conditioning as the hotel kept switching it off. At night it got so hot we opened the windows, but it was very noisy, especially from early coach leaving tours first thing in the mornings.

The swimming pool although very nice, seemed disorganized, getting a towel was a bit of a lottery, our friends on the trip wasted valuable time walking between reception and the pool trying to find somebody who could give them a towel. Also the pool closed at 7pm at night, often too late for us to enjoy as our Ecursions often arrived back at the hotel late.

We are seasoned Coach tour travellers, but have found that this hotel falls far short of the standard we have been used to and the Hotel, we feel is misrepresenting the Italian experience that we had hope for and doesn'tdeserve it's 4 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just had a wonderfull holiday at this hotel in Montiecatini Terne. Breakfst was great & the evening meal was very good. we had plenty to eat although some of the men said there wasn't enough for the evening meal. The staff were all very friendly & helpfull. The lounge & outside seating was very good.The pool was lovely (open 7am-7pm) We had a room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel, it wasn't noisey & we slept very well,shower was over the bath (no curtain) & the bath was alittle small.Ideally situated for the lovely park (literally a 2 minute walk) where many of the 'spa's are & 5 minute walk into the heart of the town. One of the local train stations was a 7 minute walk. It cost 3 euros 1o cents (each way) to get to Lucca a great walled town. Trains run about every half an hour. Trains available to FLORENCE, Piza, and many more. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, Montecantini is a great base for discovering Tuscany. That unfortunately is the main plus point. This hotel is out dated and needs to a refurbishment desperately and so do most of the staff as well as a good shower.

My room was clean, with the most amazingly high ceiling which did not help the fact that the walls wer made of paper. Every movement in adjoining rooms and in the corridoors could be heard. If staying here i would reccomend ear plugs.
The food can only be described as interesting. I would never thought to have put veal and tuna mayonnaise together and my tip is don't it doesn't work. The breakfast was not much better and i will happily never eat stale bread and plastic cheese ever again.

The staff tried hard but just couldn't get it right and a previous review called this hotel the Italian fawlty towers, there was indeed many Manuels and Basils.

I would only reccomend this hotel if you have a good sense of homour, if you don't take life too seriously then the shambles that is this hotel is very funny. They did give me a free bottle of wine on arrival i think this helped ease the pain.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed here for a week with a large group. Didn't sleep well, the bed was hard and the pillows even harder, plus I was often disturbed by noise from the corridor or neighbouring rooms. The hotel itself was in a quiet location and I had great views of Montecatini Alto. The room, though tired, was clean and had everything I needed for the amount of time I spent there.

The food had to be experienced to be believed. I can praise the croissants at breakfast, but not much else. If you have a penchant for squirty cream and chocolate chips, you'll like the desserts here as they seem to be compulsory toppings.

Montecatini Terme is a great place to use as a base while exploring Tuscany, but there are plenty of hotels to choose from so I wouldn't recommend you pick this one.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel is probably one of the worst hotels that i have stayed in, and i travel alot. The rooms were old and tired, infact my room had a hole in the wall that went to the outside. The walls are made of paper, i could hear word for word everything that was said next door, hence sleeping at night is very difficult.
Breakfast was appalling, watered down juice, tinned fruit cocktail and some stale bread- this was the same every day.
Montecantini is a beautiful town but do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biondi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biondi Hotel

Address: Viale IV Novembre 83, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 108 hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Biondi Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Biondi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biondi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.