We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth Visit at this Hotel - Certainly not the last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel alle Dolomiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel alle Dolomiti to your Saves list
Hotel alle Dolomiti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungolago 18, 38018 Molveno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Molveno
Attard, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fourth Visit at this Hotel - Certainly not the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just keep going to this hotel which has recently been renovated to impeccable standards. During the beginning of the year the whole top floor of the hotel was rebuilt and small upgrades have been done in other rooms especially in the bathrooms.

I was very happy with my first visit at the Alle Dolomiti and in my subsequent trips the service with a smile was always great.

The owners as well as members of staff are extremely courteous. They are extremely polite even when they are very busy. They are just intent on making your stay as pleasant as possible.

This was my first time visiting in July. We were lucky enough to be present at a special evening which is held during this month called Ferraluglio. We were treated to a lovely meal with a very special antipasto composed of local specialities. (WOW!). Another couple came with us (it was their first time there) and they were absolutely impressed with that meal.

Breakfast is typical continental but the staff offered us besides what was present at the table freshly cooked eggs to our liking. We liked that. Rooms were very clean as usual. I appreciated the fact that in the evening whilst having dinner (a daily unforgettable experience) the bed in our bedroom was arranged to be very welcoming for the evening. A small but much appreciated touch.

The hotel has a pool overlooking the Brenta Group Mountains. Beautiful although a bit too cold for my taste (even the Mediterranean sea in the middle of summer is cold for me !! :D )

As said before this is was my fourth time travelling to this hotel and this location. It's a haven for me and certainly will be going again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

From the moment my husband and I stepped into this hotel we felt at home. The staff were at the desk to greet us and we were quickly shown to our room on the first floor at the front of the hotel. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, a spacious bedroom with plenty of storage.
and a very nice bathroom with bidet and walk-in shower. The views from our balcony were to the public park areas where tennis courts, bowls, and swimming was available. Also a view of the lake. Breakfast was typical continental with a choice of cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, cakes and various types of bread. A cooked breakfast was available if requested. Dinner in the evening was in a lovely restaurant
with waiter service and something on the menu for all tastes. All served quickly and the presentation first class. A very comfortable lounge and bar is available.
A TV area in the basement of the hotel was comfortable and most useful for the guys who wanted to watch the UEFA cup matches, whilst the ladies could watch another programme on the bedroom television. The hotel is situated on a road which in June was not very busy. A local free bus is available to take you from a bus stop almost opposite the hotel up into the village and if you stay on the bus for the round trip you will be able to alight at the stop for the mountain chair lift etc. We travelled with a Saga group and it was the best holiday we have had in Italy for many years. We will not hesitate to recommend this lovely accommodation and we look forward to being able to spend time there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are with balcony and lake view. Rooms at the rear also have balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is the second year my husband and I have stayed at this lovely Italian hotel , the family treat us as special guests molveno is a lovely village and if like us you enjoy walking this is the place, the scenery here is breathtaking , the rooms and food is first class and so lovely and clean I can't wait for September 20013 when we can go back to our lovely find the hotel dolomite

Room Tip: The new third floor is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

coming from france me and my husband choosed this hotel as a stop to explore dolomites on our way to verona and venice, if you are a big fun of nature and you looking to relax this is the right place, the hotel has a nice view of the dolomites and the molveno lake we could see it from our room, we booked for a country standard room and we were upgraded to superior room, the rooms are laltely refurnished and clean. the staff were friendly and the food was good,
whenever i will need to rest i will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sCOTLAND
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for 7 days in September last year with a saga group It was the most pleasant hotel I think I have ever stayed in the food was amazing the staff and family all very welcoming the setting just wonderful either the back of the hotel looking on to the pink hued mountain to the front view of the beautiful lake. The reason for taking so long to write this review is that my computer was not working very well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

From the moment we set foot in this Dolomite gem, weary after a long journey from Cornwall, we were wrapped in welcoming warmth. This is a "true" family hotel, all 3 generations contributing to a seamless blend of flexibility, charm, individuality and professionalism rarely found together. From Grandmother, Mother Pia and Father (also the excellent chef) Renato,and Daughter lovely Serena, all were so friendly and helpful. The staff too seemed like family, Paulo and Valentino the breakfast and dining team (informed, organised but most of all entertaining) -to Marco (mixes a wonderful gin and tonic), and not to forget our lovely maid Dora (speaks little English, but has an eloquent hug). Even Maia the delightfully discerning family dog added to our overall experience.
Our room was very comfortable, spotless and well equipped, with a stunning view of the mountains...we've never seen so many aircraft "kisses" in the blue sky.An added delight was searching for the safe...hidden behind a classic painting.
The decor of the public rooms is exceptionally beautiful with exquisite wooden carvings and colourful murals.
The hotel setting is perfect! Just a minute or two's comfortable level walk to the lakeside, or up into the nearby village with its few shops selling local crafts and foods. In October several were open, plus a couple of bars, and a good hairdresser (reception will gladly help make an appointment for you) .
There are plenty of walks of varying grades, around the lake, up into the slopes or mountains , or a favourite of ours, by the River Masso to the waterfall and ruined mill, level and easy going, with as everywhere, comfortable wooden benches to rest and enjoy the birds, flowers, and natural beauty all round, in the constantly changing light...heaven for photographers!
We can't wait to go back, this time in May or June for a change.
Thankyou one and all for a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have partial lake view, and generally small balconies, at the back the mountain v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole - on the sunshine coast!
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Well I have been waiting for someone to write an English review of this hotel for some time. Maybe others who have stayed here previously wanted to keep this hotel a secret! So I apologise to them but for the others who are awaiting some feedback, here it is. I should also say that we visited the hotel with the Saga tour company.

The hotel is situated in the village which is placed at the head of lake Molveno. The hotel is family- run and I do mean family-run. All the family members seem to have a part to play, including Grandma! The staff who are not actual family members are also excellent and nothing is too much trouble for them. You would indeed think they were all one big happy family. Particular credit must go to the head waiter Paolo (Paul). He is a master of his craft who runs the meal services with charming efficiency.

The hotel has a lovely family atmosphere, which you can feel when you first walk in. Everything is very organised and all the rooms are kept very clean and well-maintained. There are several indoor public areas, all very comfortable and also an outdoor swimming pool, with pool-side loungers, tables and chairs.

The chef, Renato, is the owner of the hotel and whilst the food is not Cordon Bleu we found it to be well cooked and well presented but in an Italian style. For instance the vegetables, both hot and cold, were served as a first course from a side buffet but the next three courses were all brought to the table by waiter service. The main meat/fish course was usually served with potato and/or pasta. Special diets were catered for. The portions are just right and again the atmosphere in the restaurant is good. I am sure you won't go away hungry. Again it is all very well organised and efficient. There is also an excellent wine list. The cheapest bottle was 15 Euros. Breakfast is continental style with a good range of food including cold meats, cheese, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt and breads etc. Freshly cooked eggs are prepared for you if you so wish. My only criticism of the breakfast is that there was no fresh fruit. A chopped fruit salad would have been nice.

The rooms vary in size so I can only report on our room, which was 206. We found this room to be very spacious. It is on the front of the hotel facing the road. Even being on the road we did not find it noisy as there was very little traffic. It may be different in the height of summer should all the windows be open. The room had a 'partial' lake view (see photo). It had plenty of cupboards and hanging space. There were tea making facilities with two tea bags to start you off so bring you own tea bags or be prepared to buy some in the local shops. There was also a small fridge to keep some fresh milk in. The fridge is only small and is not suitable to be used as a larder and that is actively discouraged! A flat screen TV with English news channels is mounted on the wall. An English film is shown every night which can be viewed in your room or on the large screen downstairs. There is also a good signal for your mobile phone. The rooms at the back of the hotel have views of the mountains (see photo). There is a small safe in the room for your valuables. The bathroom was on the small side but had a shower, bidet, toilet, wash basin and mirror and was well lit. There was no bath. There was a hair drier but no dedicated shaver point. Remember to take an adapter as there was a socket to use near the mirror. The bedroom opened onto a balcony which had two chairs and a small table. The comfortable double bed had quite a firm mattress with sheets and blankets. We would have preferred a duvet type covering but our request for extra pillows was met straight away.

All in all I believe that the hotel deserves 5 stars. In fact I would say 5 stars plus because of the charming family that run it!

A lot of people come to Molveno to do the walks around the village which are stunning. I would advise anyone who is not a seasoned walker with their own equipment to bring some stout footwear with you as some of the paths are quite rough and can be dangerous. A pair of proper walking boots is essential if you are going anywhere other than the level walk around the lake, which takes about two hours without a stop. Normal trainers are not really advisable on the mountain tracks. Come prepared for quickly changing mountain conditions and do tell somebody where you are going and when you are likely to return. Maps of the area are available from the tourist office in the village.

The village has a selection of shops although some were closed at the beginning of May. However there are two small supermarkets. The Co-op is the larger and is nearest to the hotel.

Molveno was nice and quiet when we were there at the beginning of May. Indeed some of the facilities i.e. ski lift, free bus service, boating on the lake etc do not become available until June. So check it out before you go so that you are not disappointed.

Would I stay there again? A definite yes!

Room Tip: Stunning mountain views from the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel alle Dolomiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alle Dolomiti

Address: Lungolago 18, 38018 Molveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Molveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Molveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel alle Dolomiti 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an enchanting mountain scenery of rare beauty, this panoramic Molveno family hotel is the ideal destination for winter and summer holidays, based on sport, nature, leisure and well being. Spend your days lounging around the hotel pool in the garden complete with an up-market decking area where you can sip a refreshing drink whilst topping up your tan. Outstanding cuisine is served at the elegant hotel Alle Dolomiti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel alle Dolomiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel alle Dolomiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.