We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guidi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Guidi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Guidi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Forte Marghera, 197, 30172 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 65 hotels in Mestre
Limoux, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed with my husband and two friends for three nights in October. We had an excellent stay. We had big rooms.The staff were very pleasant. The buffet breakfasts were wonderful and the dining area pretty. The no 12 and 12/ bus was five minutes away, the stop was called Sansovini.It was 10 minutes on the bus to Piazzle Roma. We had bought 72 hour tickets for 35 euros for the land bus and water buses and really had our moneysworth on our stay. I would highly recommend it to people and would certainly stay there again. We found that the shower cubicles were a bit past their best but there was plenty of hot water.All in all a very good 2 star hotel.Be prepared for very firm beds. They suited us fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister and I stayed here in September 2012 we wanted to visit Venice for 2 days before we headed to Verona.We flew into Marco Polo where we got the number 15 bus outside 6€ each that dropped us right at the hotel..The staff had emailed us this info before we flew out..which was really helpful..When we got to the hotel the girl that was on was so helpful..She gave us maps..told us were the bus stop was for us to get into Venice..which was only around the corner the number 12 bus or 12/..She told us to go into the little shop where we got our bus tickets €1.30 each..The trip into Venice it self is about 15 mins id say or less where you get off at the last stop Piazza Da Roma...The hotel itself was lovely...Our room was really comfortable... plenty of space...and the bathroom was nice too :) The breakfast was lovely...nice fresh juice croissants rolls ham cheese yogurts cereal and more :) It filled us up for a good few hours...even the lasagne they do in to hotel for a good €6 is lovely..One of the staff he cooked it for us one night and it was gorgeous...Free wifi too :) But best thing The Staff :) They really were so helpful..We only went to Venice for 2 days so we wanted to see as much as we possibly could and we did :) There's a lovely little terrace too on the first floor where u can relax with a nice drink or just to unwind after your day of sightseeing...there is a little bar downstairs also :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor just beside the terrace...But i cant remember the room number :( Sorry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spend 2 nights in Hotel Guidi. And to us it was perfect!
The rooms were not too big, but when you are near Venice, you only need your room to sleep and a bathroom to shower. On the first floor there was a lounge area. When returning from Venice it was a nice place to be and drink something and do some surfing on the internet.
The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpfull. They really do their best to help you with public transport and find a place to eat in the evening.
I accidentally forgot my adapter for my galaxy tab. After a phonecall and a mail with my adress it will be returned to me by post. I think this is how a hotel has to be run: no fuzz, easygoing and to us it looked: anything goes. I specially want to say something about the brakfast: it was very well. Mostly in Italy breakfast is not very varied. In hotel Guidi tho it was! Excellent and enough choice. So really nothing to complain about and really enjoyed our stay (and Venice)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent three nights in hotel Guidi in August 2012. The location of the hotel is really great! In Mestre away from crowded and overpriced Venice, really close to a bus station from where you can get to (crowded and overpriced) Venice in 10-15 minutes. It is a very nice neighborhood! Our room was decent and quiet as it did not face the road. No great soundproofing though. The staff kind and willing to help!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Though not exactly attractive from the exterior, this hotel provide us a very pleasant stay in Mestre. Rooms are large, neighboorhood is quiet with easy access to Venica and to/from Marco Polo airport and some options to have a cheap dinner of ice cream if you wish. Breakfast is very nice with some nice and fresh sweets. Staff is very friendly and professional. Excellent value for money having in mind that we are in Venice area.

Room Tip: We stayed in an interior room facing the patio and I guess that it would be quieter than to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I spent 3 nights in Hotel Guidi. Mestre is close to Venice, as you might already now, and many bus lanes can get you to Piazale Roma in Venice. The buses no 12, 12/ and 12L have a station at about 3-5 minutes walking from the hotel, wich is very good. On the way to bus station you can find a big supermarket, which is good for buying water, beer, fruits or anthing else you want.

The room is small, but confortable and cleaned each day. The airconditioner was very helpfull since it is warm in august
The breakfast was good, not excellent but decent: cheese, ham, salami, boilled eggs, yogurt, cereals, fruits, croissants, milk, coffee and tea
Many congratulations to the staff who was very helpful and friendly.

A little far from the train station, but you can manage the distance by a bus, or 30-40 minutes walking

I would totally recomand Guidi to anywane who wants to visit Venice and not spending a lot on hotels

Room Tip: You may want a room on the back of the hotel if you want a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked this hotel with my wife because of the reviews on the net and we did not regret it! It is much better than it looks!

Advantages:
-clean room
-very polite and helpful personnel that gives all the information you need
-good breakfast
-cheap price
-close to Venice (only 15 min by public bus which is also cheap)
-secure
-parking available for free

Conclusion: If you do not want to spend hundreds of euros to stay overnight in Venice or in a luxury hotel, this small 2 star hotel is a perfect alternative.It has everything you need. I could say that in overall is much better than 4 star hotels that I have been in Italy.

Recommended for everyone!!! Great value for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Guidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guidi

Also Known As:
Guidi Hotel Mestre
Hotel Guidi Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy
Address: Via Forte Marghera, 197, 30172 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Guidi 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guidi is located in Mestre overlooking Canal Salso, the ancient waterway that connects Venice to the mainland. Set on Via Forte Maghera, Hotel Guidi is within easy reach of Veniceâ€'s historic centre, just 10 minutes by bus. This comfortable 2-star hotel provides all the comforts one would usually find in a 3-star. Rooms offer en-suite bathrooms and modern amenities including LCD TV and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Guidi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guidi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.