We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, friendly and helpful staff and good Venice links” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cris Hotel to your Saves list
Cris Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Nero 3/A, 30171 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice room, friendly and helpful staff and good Venice links”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location for bus/train link to Venice - bus is literally 1 minute away from hotel and takes approx 10-15 mins to get to Venice and cost approx €1.50 for a return!

FREE Parking was a bonus

The hotel staff were very helpful and gave great advice

Room was very good as well - excellent bathroom

FREE Wi-Fi

Breakfast was usual continental and was very nice

Not sure how much there is to do around Mestre - did eat at a local Pizzeria which was very good but looks like most of the action is in Venice

If you don't want to pay Venice prices (and have a car) then I would recommend you stay here

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    85
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
81
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We opted to stay at Hotel Cris in Mestre instead of the more expensive hotels on Venice. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bus to Venice stops just around the corner and was very convenient. Hotel is also walking distance from the main train station. Even though the hotel is so close to the train station, my daughter and I felt very safe staying here as they keep the place securely locked. Room was a bit small but very clean and very nice bathroom. Much nicer than the other hotels we stayed at on our vacation in Italy. Breakfast was good too.
Tip: buy the transportation pass from the hotel. It is good for the bus to and from Venice and also the vaporetto (water bus). Vaporetto costs 6,50 euros each way so the pass pays for itself very quickly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We chose this hotel as it has secure free parking for our motorbike, it's also much cheaper than staying in Venice. The staff welcomed us and the lady on reception went above and beyond expectation with her excellent info and advice. She gave us a map, and explained about the bus service (just round the corner and every 10mins). We bought our water bus tickets at the hotel, which saved us a big queue in Venice. The tickets include bus travel, but be warned the buses are extremely crowded and you spend most of the 15 minute trip in someone's armpit! The room was clean and comfortable, and the shower is excellent. We enjoyed the breakfast, better than average, it the weather is nice you can eat in the courtyard. We made the mistake of eating in Mestre the first night, there's not much there at all. After looking all around for a decent place we ended up in a miserable spot! Do make the effort to head into Venice for dinner. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

An excellent base for trips in and around Venice. An easy-to-find express coach from the airport goes directly to Mestre station (for €5), and from there, it is a simple 10 min walk along the street directly opposite the station to find the hotel. A bus to Venice is just around the corner from the hotel and leaves every 10 mins. Tickets can be purchased from reception and a map of Venice is provided. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the WLAN functioned without any problems. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - well above the call of duty. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Shower is possibly a little bit small for larger or taller people, but was perfectly OK for my size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

If you need good rest and be close to Venice- go for it!
Very friendly personnel, clean rooms, close to railway station and bus to Venice.
Adequate price compared to the prices in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I would classify this hotel as a B&B only. The room is very small. The bathroom is tiny, almost impossible to take a shower. The breakfast is ok, considering it is free. Although it is more expensive, i would stay in Venezia next time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We flew in and stayed here for one night so we could pickup the MSC Cruise ship the next day. The room was very clean and comfortable. Air condition worked fine. Bathroom was very nice and clean. The shower was quite small. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection. The hotel building was in very good condition and the interior decor was done up nicely. I believe the woman who checked us in ran the hotel too. She helped bring our luggage up to the second floor and showed us our room. She also was at breakfast making sure everything was in order. The hotel was just off the main street in a quiet area. It's a little walk from the train station but worth it. There are some restaurants close by. Ristorante S. Marco is a restaurant we ate at twice located on the main street. Overall we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cris Hotel

Address: Via Monte Nero 3/A, 30171 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#13 Business Hotel in Mestre
#14 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cris Hotel Mestre
Cris Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.