We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roberta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roberta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Roberta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sernaglia 21, 30170 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 64 hotels in Mestre
Bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Roberta for two nights in September. The best feature of the hotel is its location: a 2-min walk from the Mestre station. To visit Venice, you can take number 2 from outside the station. The bus takes about 20-30 min depending on traffic and can be crowded. Bus number 15 to the airport from the side opp the station. Buy the ticket at the bars/cafes near the bus stop.

There's a very nice restaurant next door to Roberta, a couple of cafes, and a supermarket about a minute's walk on via piale. I hesitated before booking after reading reviews from guests feeling uncomfortable with the park on via piale, at night. I cannot comment on what it looks at night but one can walk on the side away from the park.

The room itself was clean (had a slight musty smell when we entered for the first time but it wasn't bad and we got over it quickly). There is no elevator and no staff help to move your luggage - which might be a problem if your room is on the 2nd floor and you have heavy luggage. Mattress was comfortable and the linen clean. Refridgerator and safe (though it didn't work).
The bathroom is large and clean: complimentary soaps, shampoos, hairdryer.
Staff spoke limited English but it was enough for basic communication.
Overall a good experience. By venice acco standards, its value for money.

Room Tip: No elevators. If your room is on the 2nd floor it might be a problem moving your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    44
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
24
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I visited twice this hotel in 2011, once in November and once in December and both times I had nice experience. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel has great location - near the train station ( 5 min. walking) from where you can easy take a bus to the Venice airport. The hotel is also near the center ( 10 min.walking). I recommend this hotel for those who want to visit Venice and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: I recommend to book a room with a balcony, looking to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Forrest, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Hotel Roberta helped us out when we had trouble with our "booked" accommodation and were able to provide us with a room for two nights in August. Clean rooms, good breakfast and located close to train station, buses and supermarket. Thank you for assisting us out with our problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights the previous week. Is very close to bus stop to Venice but the one night I got back just before midnight I had to walk in front of prostitutes at via Piave to go to the hotel. Strange faces in the park made me feel insecure.

Breakfast was not included ( I had a single room), bathroom was not same to the one showed in photographs and stuff spoke a little english.

Next time I'll prefer the other hotel where I spent the other 2 nights.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This place is located in Mestre in a rather bad part of town. Its not horrible during the day but the park around the corner is shady and the whole place is like a third world country at night.. scary for a woman travelling by herself. I was always paranoid that someone was going to kidnap me or steal my stuff and there were all sorts of crazy noises outside at night. Great location if you are visiting Venice though and don't want to pay the price and just want to stay by the train station. The staff was nice enough, they don't all speak great English and some are nicer than others. The breakfast is ten euros and the kitchen staff are kind of rude. Wifi is pretty good and they have another computer there for use. The rooms were kind of small for a single and everything was kind of cramped but the A/C was great and it definitely functioned for a single traveller. Overall my stay here was average and it worked out and served its purpose.. probably a little better than most hotels in the area

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The quality of the hotel is a standard 3 stars, rooms were cosy, bathrooms have the basic and everything is clean. Staff is friendly and helped us when we needed.
The location is almost perfect: Best - near the train station, and easy to get to Venice (centre); Worst - surroundings were not the best and we felt insecure while we were walking at night.
Overhaul, we liked this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Location and Amenities:
Very well located. Very good for young people or old ones not bothering on taking the bus to Venice City every day back and forth. The Hotel is just about 20 metres from the bus stop, and the bus do stops directly in Piazalle Roma (Venice City entrance). Public transportation is very good on schedules and safe, 24h/24h.
The Hotel dos not have any special amenities, despite having a 2nd floor reading room to relax, or a interestingly decorated breakfast room. Could have free Wifi included (but disconnecting for a while is also very good) or the wonderful breakfast coffee machine working all day long.

Service/Staff:
Friendly and kindly staff, although we didn't have much contact with them. Very very simple registration process, we didn't sign anything, they just asked us for the ID Cards. Be patient if the staff has a poor English, only one of the receptionists could really maintain an English speaking conversation and give instructions or advices. At night, when arriving late (after 1am) you will be presented with the Hotel entrance key (!).

Room:
The hotel is exactly as described, with an old and a new alley. Very well decorated. Our room was in the old alley, so it wasn't nothing special. Just enough to sleep at night, very tired. It had a TV, air conditioned, few clothing space, a large and clean bathroom, a large window with street view, good mats, and good pillows.

Best/Least:
The Location / The very poor English speaking receptionists.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roberta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roberta

Address: Via Sernaglia 21, 30170 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 64 hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roberta 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Roberta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberta Hotel Mestre
Hotel Roberta Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roberta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.