We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Vivit

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Vivit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Al Vivit
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ferretto 73, 30174 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 hotels in Mestre
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been staying at the Vivit on business for years..... Great location, friendly staff and good value.

The Piazza has everything from shops to bars and decent places to eat as well as an ice cream seller and an Irish bar for the sport and beer.

Ask for a room overlooking the square on the second or third floor.....

See you soon

Alan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    92
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
108
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights on work. There isn't a lift, so you have to carry your baggage up yourself. But the guy at the reception gives a hand. The hotel's in a pedestrian square, so the taxi doesn't actually come up to the front doors. Lots of restaurants near by. There's free wifi, which is useful. Breakfast is fairly typical small hotel fare that you see everywhere. People are decent. The bus for venice is very close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We opted for this Hotel as it was handy to visit Venice. Liked the idea of a bit of luxury and the older style of decor and it was to some degree very nice. Lovely large room on the first floor. Well appointed high ceiling large room with King bed, large bathroom, big comfy sitting chair, large desk, and plenty of space for all our bags. But our large opening windows had no view (only down to the footpath leading to another street), or straight across to the aircon unit attached to the opposite building. The day we arrived it was 35 degrees celicus. Great, we can check in and go to our aircon room and change into dry clothes before heading out on some sightseeing. Aircon not working. Long story but apparently doesn't come on until 6.00pm and shuts off at 8.00am. That night's overnight temp was 24. Nevermind. Breakfast was very good. Well done here, good fresh juice, nice selection to start the day. Would we stay here again, probably not would opt for a modern hotel, just to ensure the aircon for the warmer climate.

Room Tip: Our room was a nice and average but not for the hot day with no aircon to cool down in. Perhaps room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a mini trip to Venice. We were travelling from Treviso airport, so this hotel was on the way into Venice city itself. We caught the airport bus for €7, which took about an hour. The coach stopped at the Mestre train station, which was about a 15-minute walk (straight up Strada Cappuccina). Travelling into Venice city was also about a 15-minute bus ride (no.7) which we caught from just around the corner. The guy on reception was very helpful, gave us a map, and even sold us the bus tickets (€2.60 return).

I'd booked a suite as it wasn't much more expensive than a double room, which was huge! A four-seater dining table, a jacuzzi bath, a king-size bed... very good value indeed.

The hotel is really convenient for Mestre centre - it's right on the piazza (which had a food festival on the weekend we were there), many shops and also a few bars (with an Irish bar next door). It was great to go out in the evenings somewhere different to where we had spent the day times.

Breakfast was ok - continental but a large variety of everything... cheese, cold meats, eggs, cereals, breads, pastries, juices, hot drinks. Great value all in all!

Room Tip: Go for a suite - it's a good deal for not many extra euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Sydney
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in a good room and enjoyed the excellent breakfast. The hotel is value for money and a quiet place to stay. Another website advertised this hotel as 900 Metres from Mestre rail station. We walked from the station and later clocked the distance in a cab and discovered the true distance to be 2 kilometres!

Room Tip: Catch a cab or bus from train station. Don't pull a bag for two kilometres.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before flying hone to dublin. Excellent staff couldnt have been more helpful. Irish pub next door food is amazing and the piazza where the hotel is located is perfect for a stroll in the evenings

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent five nights at Hotel Vivit. The staff was very courteous and extremely helpful whenever we had a question about public transportation, bus tickets, airlines etc... Our room was on the first floor, facing the lovely piazza; high celiling, ample room to move around, wall to wall closet with shelves. The ride to Venice took 15 minutes and only a coullple of minutes to walk to the stop. Vivit in Mestre was a lucky find for us and a very comfortable and pleasing rest after busy Venice. Do not expect a blasting freezing US style air conditioning. For us it was just right and cool enough.

How and Viv

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Vivit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Vivit

Address: Piazza Ferretto 73, 30174 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#9 Business Hotel in Mestre
#10 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Vivit 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Venice Mestre, the 3 star Hotel al Vivit is pleased to welcome you to a prestigious palace from the early twentieth century, with 35 rooms and apartments complete with every amenity, facing Piazza Ferretto, close to the Toniolo Theater, the best shops and public transportation for the new Ospedale dell’Angelo and Venice. Passion and Cordiality Since 1909.Just a few minutes from Venice, Hotel al Vivit in Mestre receives its guests with passion and cordiality, a steady tradition since 1909 that has made the satisfaction of its dear clientele the main reason for hospitality. Hotel al Vivit is considered a historical establishment by the Region of Veneto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Al Vivit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Vivit Hotel
Al Vivit Mestre
Hotel Al Vivit Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Vivit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.