We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and Dreary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garibaldi to your Saves list
Hotel Garibaldi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Garibaldi 24, 30174 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dated and Dreary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Chose this hotel mainly because it is Thomas Cook recommended and because it was more or less in the right price bracket.
The first negative is it's actual location which is much further from Venice than anticipated.
Whilst the immediate area of Mestre surrounding the hotel is quite pleasant it is no Venice and never will be and this and other hotels in the town are purely trading off the popularity of Venice under false pretences.
Yes there is a good bus service into Venice which stops just outside of the hotel but don't expect a seat because it's always full up!
The hotel itself is clean enough but very dated and the bedrooms are small, dark and dismal.
The en-suite is a cramped, low quality shower cubicle and the towels supplied are derisory.
Plus points are the air-con unit and quite comfortable albeit small beds.
Finally the reception staff come across as very cold and not that helpful!

Room Tip: If you still want to brave it then request a room at the front of the hotel which will not be as qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience you had in our structure. Luckily other guests are showing different reactions to our offer.

We are particularly surprise of the bad impression you had of mestre, test most of out guasta find nice ance very convenient to visit Venice.

Wishing you the best!

Grazia, Luigi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    38
    14
    2
See reviews for
28
50
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We chose this hotel because we wanted our own rooms but didn't want to pay the price of 2 doubles. We opted for Mestre because I have been to Venice many times where a good single room can be hard to find. We each had a clean room with a comfortable double bed, efficient shower and air conditioning. The Garlibaldi is in a good location with a choice of restaurants close by.The No 2 bus to Venice stops outside the hotel and takes under 30 minutes. You can connect to the no 15 to the airport at Mestre station. (for uk travellers make sure you are on the right side of the road!)The continental breakfast was good (boiled eggs, cheese, ham, fruit, yoghurt etc) The reception staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient. On the downside, the hotel does not have a lift but does have bedrooms on the ground floor. We opted for rooms on the 2nd floor and were helped with our cases. Our first impression was of a gloomy room that smelled of smoke but once the shutters were up and the windows were opened it was fine. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy road with a bus stop right outside. Ask for a room at the back or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing this rich and detailed review with the other customers! We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us!

Hoping to have you back soon.
Kind regards,

Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I decided at the last moment to spend two nights in Venice before we boarded a cruise ship for a seven day cruise. Because of the high prices in Venice we looked at a place to stay in Mestre instead. We had a look on the web for a place to stay and our first choice was the Garbibaldi Hotel until we started reading the reviews which caused us to reflect if this was the hotel to choose. With much trepidation we decided to book mainly because of the very reasonable tariffs they offered. What a good choice it turned out to be. Luigi made us feel welcome immediately after a very traumatic trip from Brennen to Venice and was very helpful with suggestions for dinner that night. The room was small clean and very quiet with a small bathroom on-suite with all amenities. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast very good (their coffee machine makes the best cappuccino, I have ever tasted). I can really recommend this hotel for its location, its cleanliness, its friendly and helpfull staff. We loved it so much we booked two more nights after our cruise. Thank you Luigi for your help and hospitality

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review! We are really happy we succeeded in making the best of your stay!

Looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,

Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mestre
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Place of Hotel is good and to go to Venedig is via bus directly from Hotel.
The Service and people are very kind and exellent, but the ground of our room was not clean. I think, they have to change the carpet.
For the parking of the cars there were not any problems. I would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for your review. We will consider your suggestions to improve our business, and are glad we succeded in satifying your needs.

Thank you!
Kindest Regards,

Grazia, Luigi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

There was a very warm welcome, great breakfast and very good service. It is just a few minutes walk to the pedestrian shopping area where there are a good selection of local restaurants. The bus stop right outside that takes you directly to Venice.....We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Susan...

What can we say, many many thanks for your nice review! We are really happy we succeded in making the best of your journey.

Hoping to meet you again soon!

With Kindest Regards,

Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked this hotel mainly on the low cost, but also that it is directly next to a bus stop for Venice. The hotel was very easy to find from Mestre railway station, just take the number 2 bus.

Check-in was easy for me, as I had already booked a room. My travelling companion hadn't and therefore paid considerably more than myself.

The main part of the bedroom was clean and tidy, but looked dated. The bathroom, however, needed a good clean. The toilet still had stains from a previous guest and the shower (which was a wet room) had hairs on the floor mat. The room was very quiet, until a road sweeper came past early in the morning.

Breakfast was partially a buffet, except rolls and croissants were delivered to your table on sitting. There wasn't much of a selection and this would probably become very repetitive after a few days.

Overall, I probably wouldn't recommend this hotel again until they modernise it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry we did not succeed in making the best of your staying Thank you for your useful advices!

Best,
Grazia, Luigi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a first time solo-traveler, this hotel, its location and its staff could not have been better! I was pleased at the location and proximity to bus service/train and found the staff pleasant and very willing to assist/accomodate my needs and many questions. My room/bathroom were very clean, the hotel quiet and relaxing, and navigating around town was quite easy to manage. Overall, the value was fabulous and absolutely worth the stay. I most definitely would return should I be in the area again. Great job, Hotel Garibaldi--and thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Joanna,

Thanks a lot, it was great having you!

Kindest regards,
Grazia, Luigi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Viale Garibaldi 24, 30174 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garibaldi 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garibaldi is in the very heart of Mestre, a lively area with nice shops restaurants and events in the beautiful Piazza Ferretto. The bus stop to Venice is just opposite to our property; you will enjoy this nice and easy ride to the Old Town, and tickets can be easily bought at our counters. Ran by our family since 1969, at Hotel Garibaldi you will find is a modern structure where you will feel like home (don't forget to check out our quiet garden, ideal for a breakfast in the sun or reading a book sipping some wine). We offer our guests free Wi-Fi to be connected, free bicycles to get around, and free parking place to make your life easier. Our rooms are provided with all comforts (TV, safe, mini bar...) And the staff will be there to support you 24 hours a day. Ask us for maps and tips to make the most of your time in this special corner of the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Mestre
Hotel Garibaldi Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garibaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.