We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basically good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Garibaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Garibaldi 24, 30174 Mestre, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 64 hotels in Mestre
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“basically good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed overnight in this nice hotel in Mestre. The rooms are basic but work pretty well. I had a good nights sleep. There is no view or razzamatazz but if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep it will do well. There is a pretty plaza just outside the front door. I was told it was only a short bus ride to the public transport plaza where people then walk into Venice - and I'm sure it is although I didn't have the opportunity to go in myself. The man on reception was helpful and friendly and put on a pretty decent breakfast the next morning. This hotel was pleasingly cheap compared to hotels in venice that I have previously stayed in.

Room Tip: when I was at the Venice St Lucia railway station I noticed that at this time of year it is worthwhi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Owner at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Garibaldi. We are glad we succeded in offering you a pleasant stay!

Best Regards

Grazia, Luigi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
26
43
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic but spotlessly clean. Breakfast was adequate and good value. This hotel was ideally situated next to the number 2 bus stop for Venice Island. This bus runs about every 10 minutes to Piazzale Roma. You can alight at the railway station in Mestre, cross the road and catch the number 15 bus to the airport for the total cost of 6 euros. Much cheaper than a taxi! We had 2 nights in this hotel. One night before boarding a cruise and one on our return before flying home. It was an ideal base.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Proprietario at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel with other travellers.

It was our pleasure working for you, and it is the greatest joy to read your words. Looking forward to hosting you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although located in the mainland city of Mestre the Hotel Garibaldi was an excellent bas for exploring venice. The hotel has friendly help ful staff who were ready to help and explain everything, starting with an urgent guide to where the restaurants were and what time they closed on the night we checked in. The recommendations were good.
The room was clean comfortable and quite with a small but effective ensuite shower room.

Breakfast was a well stocked and wonderfully varied continental buffet including the option of boil your own eggs. A tremendous start to the day.
Next thing was advice about gettign to and touring Venice. The hotel provided a map and was able to sell bus/vaporetto tickets and point to the No2 bus stop just around the corner. The No2 is a most useful bus - direct from the hotel past Mestre Station and over the bridge to Pazale Roma in Venice in just 15 minutes.
The return bus is even more convenient stopping right outside the front door.

When we needed internet access the staff quickly made it available for a 1 hour period in the room absolutely free.
Alll in all a superb stay and I would choose to use this hotel again any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Proprietario at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We are so glad we succeeded in making you feel confortable in Venice. Thanks again for chosing our hotel, and thanks for taking the time to write this review!

Regards,

Grazia, Luigi & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is in an ideal position, a very short and pleasant walk into the centre of Mestre where this a square with lots of restaurants. Bus stop for going to Venice Island is just around the corner and the one on return is right outside the hotel, tickets are available from the reception, bus goes approx every 10 minutes and takes about 15-20 minutes, really good service. Rooms are clean and tidy with a fridge and bed is comfortable, yes the bathroom is quite small but adequate. Breakfast was in a very clean, light and well decorated area and the continental breakfast provided was good with plenty of tea and coffee, there is also a small garden patio area. Would definitely stay here again.
Where the 'helpful and honest staff' comes in is that I was silly enough to leave my camera in the bedroom and didn't realise until I got back to the UK. The hotel staff were extremely helpful when I rang and my camera had already been handed in. I arranged for FedEx to collect the camera - excellent service from FedEx would recommend them if anyone finds themselves in a similar situation. The hotel staff very kindly packed my camera in a suitable package and completed the necessary paperwork for FedEx, I cannot praise them enough, it was an excellent service.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grazia Z, Proprietario at Hotel Garibaldi, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks a lot for dedicating some of your time to write this review! And no need to thank about the camera, we are glad we solved the problem... and that you were able to recover the pics from your vacation, especially :-)

Thanks again!
Regards

Grazia, Luigi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were on holiday in Austria and decided to visit Venice for a couple of days. We had our car and therefore needed to stay outside of the city and decided on Mestre. A quick look through reviews and the Hotel Garibaldi was chosen.
I took down the names of the reception staff as I really wanted to thanks them individually, but unfortunately lost the piece of paper with them written on. Both the guys and the lady were remarkably helpful and allowed us to park our car there for two days even though we only stayed overnight. The rooms are basic (bear in mind that we paid €80 for the night, including breakfast) but perfectly adequate.
A little surprise was the fact that Mestre itself was a really nice town too!
2 or 3 minutes from the hotel is a bus stop and one can catch a bus there that will deposit you at Piazzale Roma in about 20 minutes. The hotel can arrange bus tickets (from memory, I think it was circa €5 for the two of us, return)
In all, we will certainly use Hotel Garibaldi again. Many thanks for making our trip memorable. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been in this hotel during a romantic week end in Venice with my boyfriend.

Position is convenient to visit the water city, as the bus stop is very close. The hotel is a family run business where I felt like home. Everyone was so kind and ready to give many useful advice!

Bathroom was a little small, but the room was nice and clean, and super-silent in the night!!

Croissant served for breakfast were so good... and they won't say no if you ask for a refill ;-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The bus stop to Venice islands is situated directly outside of the hotel and arrives approximately every 10minutes. We found that getting to and from the island took approx 15minutes. Rooms, facilities, etc are more than adequate and clean, staff very helpful. We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Viale Garibaldi 24, 30174 Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garibaldi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Mestre
Hotel Garibaldi Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garibaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.