We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base, shame about hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garibaldi to your Saves list
Hotel Garibaldi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Garibaldi 24, 30174 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good base, shame about hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Due to a flight cancellation we had to leave home 2 days early for a cruise and this is the hotel our booking agent arranged for us. It's not one i would ever have booked for myself but as they were paying we had little choice!

First the positives.
The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Cant fault them at all.
The position of the hotel is good. Just a couple of minutes stroll to the main square with lots of restaurants and market stalls.
Bus stop for Venice is just around the corner and right outside the hotel on the way back.
Tickets are a couple of euro return and can be bought at reception. Bus takes about 20 mins into Venice.
Taxi to hotel from airport was 35 euro.

Now the negatives.
As has been said before there is no lift. We were on the second floor and having to carry heavy suitcases to the room was difficult.
Our room was small and dark. Not helped by the fact that it has tinted glass in the window and dark wallpaper. We were at the back of the hotel and our view was of an apartment that was being refurbished. We entered the room, i opened the curtain to look out and was confronted by the sight of a builders bum about 15 feet away from me!
Work on the building starts at 8am and goes on till around 6pm. Lots of drilling and sawing but to be fair, with the window shut the noise was minimal.

The bathroom was very small. Lots of mould on the tiles and grubby around the base of the bath and sink etc. I'm no Twiggy but i'm not exactly obese either and sitting on the toilet wasn't easy. One arm was wedged against the side of the sink and the other up against the toilet roll holder. Anyone of more ample proportions would have had real difficulty in using the thing at all!
On the plus side the bed was comfy.

Brakfast was basic. The dining room is small.At one end the tables seat 2 and are so close together in a line along the wall that it's almost impossible to sit at one if the table next to it is occupied.
Warm rolls and croissants are brought to the table and you help yourself to cereal, yoghurt, tinned fruit etc. Tea, coffee, juice and water from a machine.
Dont bother thinking about having breakfast in the "garden". It consists of 3 small tables in a yard - the photos on the hotel website make it look quite inviting - it's not!

As i have said i wouldn't have chosen to book this hotel but have to admit i'm at that stage of life where i can afford a bit better than this and maybe i have been spoiled in the past! It does have it's good points if you just want it as a base to get to Venice so dont dismiss it out of hand, just be aware of what you will be getting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    42
    16
    2
See reviews for
30
56
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Garibaldi as a couple on twice and as a single twice I picked this hotel for its location and size it is close to everthing bars restaurants and shops with a good local market twice a week. the bus stop for Venice is 2 minutes from hotel. I have found the rooms comfortable and clean yes the rooms are small as are the bathrooms so what! the price for room and breakfast is very good and all staff are helpful.I will return to this hotel. If you want luxury pay more and stay in 4 star plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is in a good location however, it does have a downside. The hotel does smell strange like a hairdressers from the 80's. Some rooms smell of smoke. Rooms are unclean. Ensuite bathrooms are tiny and unclean. Bedding is not pleasant with stains on the bed spread. Hotel staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel is situated very close to the town's bell tower and quaint old town square. It is very close to the town's great shops, restaurants and bars. It is right beside the number 2 bus stop which can take you into central Venice quite regularly. It is not close to the train station at all, but the number 2 bus also runs from the station past the hotel.

The staff were very helpful in suggesting restaurants, providing us with bus information, maps and selling us travel tickets for bus, train and water bus in Venice.

The breakfast room is the most pleasant room in the hotel. It is bright and airy and there is a selection of cereals, yogurts, tinned fruit, bread and eggs available. The coffee machine, however, is terrible!

Despite all of these positive points I would not recommend this hotel due to the standard of the bedrooms. I was in a party of 6 using 4 bedrooms and staying 4 nights. We all felt the rooms were far from clean and comfortable. The carpets were not hoovered and had stains on them. The rooms were uncomfortably warm and stuffy and worse still, constantly smelt of smoke, even the bedlinen and towels. The bathroom was small and not clean. The shower was either in a cubicle or in a narrow bath with a curtain that clung to you! There is also no lift which was a nuisance with lugguage.

Room Tip: Out of 4 rooms in our party we all had bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

In the center of Mestre, this hotel is ideal for people going to Venice. The bus stop is outside the hotel and takes about 15-20 min to Venice. Is situated 2 min from the central piazza of Mestre with everything you need: restaurants, cafes, shops, even an open market of fruits and vegetables.

Stuff is very gentile and helpful. They can offer you stamps for the postcards and tickets for the transportation.

Room is as described. The only negative is the lack of elevator.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Though we were a little concerned about staying in Mestre versus in Venice, based on some positive comments from reviewers that’s what we did. Though we don’t have anything to compare, we liked our choice. The bus trip right outside of the hotel really was ~20 minutes and very convenient
As for the hotel – this is a nice, small family run establishment. The owner was extremely helpful in a wide variety of ways. Though our triple was obviously a double with an added bed, it did the job. The breakfast was fresh but but the same every day, which got a bit old during our 6 day visit.
No problem in recommending the Hotel Garibaldi, good value for the money, good location, good staff – with just one caution on some very bad Internet service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This place was a real find. Clean and quiet, it is ideally located. Management and staff are very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.6 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#23 of 66 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#52 of 66 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alla Giustizia
Hotel Alla Giustizia
#40 of 66 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Al Vivit
Hotel Al Vivit
#11 of 66 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#5 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Viale Garibaldi 24, 30174 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garibaldi 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garibaldi is in the very heart of Mestre, a lively area with nice shops restaurants and events in the beautiful Piazza Ferretto. The bus stop to Venice is just opposite to our property; you will enjoy this nice and easy ride to the Old Town, and tickets can be easily bought at our counters. Ran by our family since 1969, at Hotel Garibaldi you will find is a modern structure where you will feel like home (don't forget to check out our quiet garden, ideal for a breakfast in the sun or reading a book sipping some wine). We offer our guests free Wi-Fi to be connected, free bicycles to get around, and free parking place to make your life easier. Our rooms are provided with all comforts (TV, safe, mini bar...) And the staff will be there to support you 24 hours a day. Ask us for maps and tips to make the most of your time in this special corner of the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Mestre
Hotel Garibaldi Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garibaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.