We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ariston to your Saves list
Hotel Ariston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Thurso
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as expected..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is quite run down and shabby, with very little in the way of amenities. There are no eateries in the near vicinity, however the lady on reception offered to order us a takeaway which we could eat in the breakfast room - which we did. The staff were polite and helpful, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the choice at breakfast was sufficient. These are the only real good points. Unfortunately, I wouldn't book in here again - major overhaul required!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    76
    64
    47
See reviews for
51
91
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived after spending a week on a cruise what a massive disappointment The hotel is run down and very shabby our bedroom although clean had various broken objects the wall paper was peeling of the walls The hotel has very limited amenities this is one hotel I will never be revisiting

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Like other reviewers, we were booked in for two nights by Thomas Cook before a cruise.
If you travel by bus from Venice get detailed instructions before you travel, about which bus and where to get off. Taxi is a safer start, specially from Marco Polo airport.
The bus leaves from outside the hotel and goes to the bus station at the top end of the Grand Canal. You can get 12 hour rover tickets for bus and vaporetto (water bus) from the tobacconist next to the hotel. The reception has maps and bus information.
If you arrive at the hotel expecting to get something to eat you will be disappointed, there is no proper restaurant in the hotel or nearby within walking distance.
The rooms are decorated in a shabby chic Venetian style, but there is a definite real shabbiness which is disappointing, storage is limited, the rooms are small and the public areas are untidy. There was only enough light to read a book in the bathroom!! Our bed, however, was comfortable and the bathroom was reasonably clean. Room 407 has a massive balcony area which would be good in hot weather but very noisy from the road. We never found the TV remote, so we don't know if the TV worked. Breakfast was very disappointing even for our low expectations, no cheese or meat, a cornflake dispenser that didn't stop dispensing and a choice of dry biscuits. I have never been offered chocolate Swiss roll for breakfast before. The choice seems dictated by what is on special offer at Lidl up the road.
I suggest that Thomas Cook find somewhere better in Mestre for their guests as soon as possible!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on 4th floor (407) for balcony Road is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights prior to a cruise by Thomas Cook. It was awful, dingy and dark.Our room had broken unusable furniture and no drawers for clothes, cheap laminate flooring that was all peeling and a broken tv with an array of dangerous looking wires hanging from it. The bathroom was clean but with a very slippy floor and no shower curtain so everything was wet. Breakfast was served in a very cramped space but tasted ok. The biggest problem was the lack of eating facilities in the area in the evening. The nearest restaurant was a bus ride away and the last bus back was 8pm. Why a reputable holiday company would use an awful hotel like this is beyond understanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night post cruise thanks to Thomas Cook!! Allocated a room on first floor with a bathroom which was disgusting. Mould all around the shower tray and ceiling, toilet right in front of shower tray, cracked tiles, extractor fan totally clogged with fluff, and one energy saving lightbulb which took an age to heat up. Had to beg to get air con on, sheets on bed were damp due to humidity, view from window was over a buliding site with rubbish. Would not give this hotel one star, has definately seen better days, nowhere to eat for miles so go to the Lidl supermaket and buy provisions!!!! Thank god it was only one night. Breakfast w as OK, the usual breads cereals etc, the staff were actually quite nice I felt sorry for them with the nuber of complaints they were getting, young man on reception said what did you expect for the price? well that would have been a fair comment if I had booked it myself but as it was included in my cruise package I never thought that Thomas Cook would send its customers to a hotel of such a bad standard. Definately NOT 3 star more like 1. If you want a very cheap hotel within striking distance of Venice this is the one for you if not steer clear,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or terrace I believe these are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Be careful about booking into this hotel. It is not as near to Venice as you may think and the bus services are not as good as they make out. Taxi services are expensive. The facilities in the hotel rooms are really poor - we didn't even have air conditioning, My advice would be to spend a little more money on something better, especially if you can get closer to Mestre centre or even better Venice itself!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was clean, room cleaned daily it just looked a bit tired. Room a bit pokey and with a wet room, not shower or bath. I did not have breakfast, so cannot comment. No smoking but there was a balcony. The best thing was the bus service outside which was cheap, ran often and did not take too long to get to Venice. There was a nearby Lidl. There was an eaterie attached to the place, food was not good and they wanted me to leave before I finished because they closed at 9pm, really bad, they should not have served me as I went there at about 8.40

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ariston is an elegant hotel , it is an'ideal location for anyone reaching Venice by car or by bus.The young and informal hospitality, the excellent level of service and the cosmopolitan setting will make your stay even more interesting and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ariston Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.