We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ariston to your Saves list
Hotel Ariston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Burgas, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after getting off a cruise (not a good idea). After being treated like royalty for a week and then end up in this less than average hotel, was a recipe for disaster. Checked into the hotel, quite gloomy reception, as are the landings to the bedrooms. From the website was expecting...
more

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    80
    68
    50
See reviews for
56
96
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by Thomas Cook Cruises what can you say about it ? Well it is clean the beds are comfortable it is very poorly equipt very old fashion and what is more important it is miles from anywhere. There is not an eating establishment within miles. The bus into Venice is convieniently close by and there is a breakfast included.It is typical of small Italian hotels but it is disappointing when you first arrive fortunately we only stayed one night.Would I go back NO.

Room Tip: WE had three and there isnt one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The moment we arrived I knew it was the biggest mistake I have ever mad booking that hotel. Would not recommend it especially if you have kids. Clean but needs new furniture, soft furnishings, carpets (burgundy but look brown). Every bad review they received here was accurate. We arrived 13 August and checked out 15 August 2013. It was a nightmare!

Not a place to take the kids. Booked 5 nights we checked out after 2 nights and went to a better hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel especially with children. It looks and felt like a drug spot for thugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after getting off a cruise (not a good idea). After being treated like royalty for a week and then end up in this less than average hotel, was a recipe for disaster. Checked into the hotel, quite gloomy reception, as are the landings to the bedrooms. From the website was expecting something a little more bright and cheerful. Room (339) was our no. this room was not great, very basic nothing to make you smile. The eating area for breakfast was extremely crammed with basic furniture nothing inviting which included the Breakfast. The milk was wrotten,only thing was nice was the orange juice. Would not recommend this hotel, if your looking for a hotel near venice, as you have to take a bus and then a water taxi to get into the centre. We were so exhausted after walking around for the day when we got back to freshen up, we decided to stay local and walked about 10 min away to a pizzeria on a corner and had a super meal and a few drinks. Overall impression, Cheap and not up to scratch, would not go back even if I were given it for nothing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived earlier than check in time on a Cosmos Holiday and were able to go straight to our room. Most reviews here are saying the reception staff are rude and unhelpful - I can understand where they are coming from but believe that is the Italian way and the staff were helpful when asked. The reception area has payable tea/coffee/soft drinks and the wifi is only available in this area at a cost of 5 euro per day. (I didn't use it so cannot rate the speed/quality). There is a shopping centre 5 minutes drive away with free wifi and fab ice cream!!
The room (335) was a double and a single and had plenty of room. It was clean with fresh towels everyday. The flatscreen TV did not work for the duration. The bathroom although quite cramped was clean but the shower was poor with not much power and the curtain too short so the bathroom floor was very wet after each shower.
Breakfast consisted of bread, pastries, biscuits, croissants, cake, boiled eggs, cereal, tea/coffee, fruit juice. OK for the first day or two but a more healthy variety of food would be nice. We timed breakfast well on our four day visit but if one person was getting their breakfast it was difficult for anyone else to get in and I wouldn't like to be there if the hotel was full.
Location is great, easy to get to from the airport (15 minute drive) and with the bus stop into Venice just outside, it was perfect. The bus into Venice runs every half hour and cost 1.20 euro each way - it takes about 20-30 minutes, traffic dependent. We bought a 16 euro pass which lasted 12 hours - this allowed travel on the bus in and back and full use of the water buses in that 12 hour period.
The town of Mestre is a 10-15 minute walk and worth a look. Lidl, a 5 minute walk sells 1.5 L bottle of red wine for 2.49 euros.
Overall a nice hotel, not the best but for what we needed it for it suited us just fine.
Check out was easy. Don't forget you have to pay the tourist tax on leaving which was 2 euros ish per day per adult.

Room Tip: 335 overlooked the side of the hotel and has no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed June 2013. We were mortified after booking and then reading the reviews on here but decided that if it was that bad we would move hotels (as the price that we had paid to go was 1/2 the price of anywhere else available). Unfortunately our plane was delayed so we arrived later than anticipated which meant getting to the hotel was a bit of a worry. however we managed easily by getting to mestre station then jumping onto the H2 bus which dropped us outside the hotel. We arrived, and admittedly reception and the outside of the hotel is a bit run down but the man on reception could not of been more helpful and friendly. He told us everything we needed to know about getting to venice, tickets and then helped us to get something to eat (it was late at night). We went in the small lift (seriously people?!) It fitted us and our luggage in and if it hadn't we would of done 2 journeys!!! We went to our room expecting the worst....... Well perhaps we were lucky !! Yes it was small but it was clean and had everything we needed for a short city break. I opened the door to the bathroom expecting to find a small cupboard ... But again was pleasantly surprised! It was again perfectly adequate. The balcony was large but the patio furniture was a bit yucky but we weren't too concerned about that. The next morning we were quite excited to experience the breakfast again to see if it was as bad as expected. Again we were please ... Yes we were crammed in like sardines but the coffee was delicious and the food variety was typically Italian of sweet breads and cakes! It would of been nice to have some fruit but we made do with a few glasses of orange juice then picked some fruit up from the aldi supermarket on the way to catch the bus to venice. We hardly spent time at the hotel and had not planned to as venice is 20 mins away on a direct bus, so once there wanted to stay until late. If you miss the 8.30 pm bus out of venice, you need to catch a different bus which drops you 10 mins away, but it's a straight road to the hotel. Overall - yes the hotel is a bit basic, but for the price we paid we felt it was completely satisfactory. We didn't go to venice to stay in a hotel or watch tv we went to spend time together and spend time in venice!! If you want to stay in venice, then double the amount you will pay for your holiday and enjoy, but we felt this was a great option for a budget break that enables you to see beautiful venice :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two kids past August. The location is in a quiet residential area and there are no local restaurants etc. to go and get something to eat from a walking distance. Its close to a bus stop from where you can catch a bus to Venice but there are other hotels too that are located more conveniently to the bus stops. The front desk is less than friendly and there is no free wi fi. We bought some hours of wi fi but I was surprised that I did not even use my time and my wi fi session was expired. It happened twice and then I realized that I was probably ripped off on my wi fi time. The rooms are small and bathrooms are really tiny. Poor interior of the rooms. Secondly, the breakfast is a total shock. Its nothing but coffee, orange juice and some sugary cookies!! Do not expect eggs and Italian breads here!! We felt that it was a rip off and could have stayed at a better hotel in a lesser price but no regrets...we paid for the experience!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ariston is an elegant hotel , it is an'ideal location for anyone reaching Venice by car or by bus.The young and informal hospitality, the excellent level of service and the cosmopolitan setting will make your stay even more interesting and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ariston Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.