We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ariston to your Saves list
Hotel Ariston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
plymouth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly, basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We got the trip to Venice and hotel at a very good price, so we knew it wasn't going to be the Ritz. The staff were very friendly, the room basic but had clean pure white towels daily and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was continental. I don't want to run the hotel down really but the only problem with it really was the distance to Venice. The bus stop was just outside the hotel, but it was a good half an hour away. Sometimes there were no seats available and we had to stand all the way. The last bus back to the hotel is 8.35 pm, if you want to leave Venice later the bus doesn't stop outside the hotel and you have a good 10 minute walk back. We ended up taking the wrong route back and ended going to another hotel and asking them to order us a taxi! We absolutely loved Venice though and it is one of the safest cities in the world. Tips -Shopping to die for so take your credit cards! There were also shops that just sold wine on tap, costing only £1.53 a litre and some of the best wine we have ever tasted. Look out for where the locals eat and drink, food cheaper and better. Take the water buses, Venice is a maze of streets and canals and you can easily get lost. Romantic city with friendly people. Highly recommend it, but next time we would stay on Venice island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    76
    64
    47
See reviews for
52
91
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked a cheap weekend to Venice with friends & were lucky enough to stay at this hotel. The public transport is excellent 2 buses to Marco Polo Airport at 7.20 euro per person each way (H1 to Mestre station, then the airport shuttle) & only 2.60 euro return to Venice itself. The bus stop is 100 yards from the hotel & tickets are sold at the shop next door. The hotels was lovely & clean & the staff were extremely helpful. Rooms were great & included a hairdryer in the bathroom along with a bidet! Although our's was a little cramped. The breakfast was a little limited but the coffee was delicious. The town centre is about 15 - 20 minutes walk away & we found some lovely restaurants there.
Would certainly recommend staying here is you are visiting Venice & don't bother with taxis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes great value for money. Our room was quite large and was very clean. Breakfast was good, a lot of cakes and pastries but plentiful with as much juice and hot drinks as you wanted. There is also the facility to buy soft and alcoholic drinks in the reception area despite there not being a bar. Toiletries are supplied daily and fresh towels. Bath towels are quite large. If anything, the room was too warm (I had seen a review saying that there was no heating - there was in our room)
Its really easy to get to Venice, the bus stop is in front of the hotel and you buy the tickets next door. The late night bus (after 8.35) stops about 10 mins away but it is an easy walk. The hotel has good instructions and maps for everything, getting into Venice, bus times, nearby restaurants etc and reception staff are very friendly and helpful.
I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again if we pay a return visit to Venice,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Ariston, Stayed here in October 2012 and recommend it to anyone wanting a reasonable stay whilst awaiting a ship for a cruise or just wanting a cheap stay whilst visiting Venice.
Staying on the island can be very expensive for accommodation, Situated at Mestre, which is 15 minutes from Venice via Bus.
Easy to get to, on a bus route, and close to shopping.
Not the Ritz, but then neither is the price.
Clean and comfortable with a good selection breakfast thrown in, but .If you want a hot meal you have to pay for it .Wifi is 5 euros for your stay or 2 euros for 20 minutes.
From the airport , catch a #15 bus to Mestre train station ‘ ltrano’, cost is 6 euro
Then cross the road and catch a H2 bus which will pass right outside the Hotel, 2nd stop after the underpass ‘Casera Matter’ .Look for the watch tower. H1 bus returns you.
To go to Venice, catch a ‘ Venezia’ Bus outside hotel, 1.5 euro ,tickets available next door at shop. Stops at Venice train station ,then walk the town, or if flush, catch a gondola, but they are pricey, if going cruising there is a shuttle train from where bus stops which takes you right to boat,1st stop, cost of 1 euro.
Make sure you do all your toiletries before departing, as the cost of a pee stop will set you back 1.5 euros each time unless you find the MacDonalds which is close to Rialto bridge.
From Venice return, catch the ‘Treviso Preganziol bus ,last bus at 2030 hrs ,after that you have to catch a ‘2’ bus which stops at ‘Piscina Coni’ about a 10 min walk.
Supermarket is a 5 min walk to the right, or 15min easy walk to a large shopping centre to the left and take the first street on the left.
Reception speak reasonable good English, Owner is excellent to talk to and gives good advice and directions if needed.
Rooms are small but clean, bed comfortable, bathroom is small, but all amenities including a bidet. Shower is a curtain but hot water OK for time we were there. Replace towels and soaps daily.
No tea or coffee ,making facilities in rooms.
If you want to sit in and watch TV, it is Italian and one channel , so go out and enjoy yourself small bar next door.
Overall great for the price, and I would stay there again no problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

the most terrible hotel I have ever seen, Dirty rooms, in the ceiling in our room, were foot steps of somebordy dirty boots. furnishing is dirty, we even found something missed by previouse gues,, furniture is old, room not clean, Bathroom is awfull, Good think - it;s situated near bus stop, so easy to go to Venice, but very far from any restaurants and shops.
So as we took that hotel as 3 star one, I never gave even1 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ariston3, Direttore at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
I'm sorry for your bad experience. Our hotel is not very new but we care a lot about cleaning and good condition of forniture. If any guest tell at the recepcion about something dirty in the room we will change his room immediately
Regards
Leo
Hotel Ariston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked this hotel as part of a cruise with cruise nation taxi from the airport 45 euro bus to venice service good but last bus 20 35 or its a 20 min walk from the town
Used the bus to the cruise terminal (get the bus to venice then the people mover just across from the last bus stop total cost 2.30 euro pp ) some dirty looks about cases but no problems .
You can leave cases and bags at the people mover station 5.5 euro a bag per day or at the railway station 5 euro per day .
There is some tables outside the hotel and you can buy drinks at hotel nothing is around hotel some people went just down the road to supermarket for drinks
Hotel was good rooms ready at 10 in morning and sorted taxi for airport for us , rooms we had were big with good bathrooms.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a balcony room they seem bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This was booked as a package thru RCI .
The hotel is very dated dirty with broken sinks bedside tables units and active woodworm ..
The breakfast table has a plastic cover which has Not seen any washing for many years well stained

We also were bitten by something other than flying insects .
One thing on the plus side it has bus stop to Venice right outside hotel €1.60

MR K Saddler Mrs D Saddler
Morpeth
UK
4th October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ariston is an elegant hotel , it is an'ideal location for anyone reaching Venice by car or by bus.The young and informal hospitality, the excellent level of service and the cosmopolitan setting will make your stay even more interesting and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ariston Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.