We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ariston to your Saves list
Hotel Ariston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
billiedog
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine for a short break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here on 11/12 September 2012 whilst we visited Venice. For a base it was fine & no problems. The facilities are very basic but adequate.
The continental breakfast was not to our taste, lots of cakes & bread rolls. Perhaps if the owners are reading this some type of toaster would be great.
The hotel could also do with a small bar where you could enjoy a drink before going to bed as the area itself was very lacking. Transport to Venice City from the hotel is 1 euro 30 & 20 mins. on the bus which stops outside the hotel.
If you are staying here the nearest eatery is next door but not the best & very little choice. 10 mins walk towards Mestre centre & we found a lovely Pizzeria which was recommended by the hotel staff. Great value for money & the food was excellent.
Would we stay here again - Probably but 3 nights would be a maximum...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    76
    64
    47
See reviews for
52
91
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It is my opinion that this hotel should be advertised as 1 to 2 star rating. The wall paper in the room was so old it had turned a yellow colour and there was a gravy looking stain on the wall. The curtains were a very grim colour and the bathroom smelled mouldy, the shower was also very close to the toliet and the shower curtain did not appear to look clean. The bed and blankets was very out dated with a dirty appearance. I would advise you to look for some thing of better quality even if it means paying more money for another hotel. My daughter and I booked in to the hotel but felt so depressed by the poor looking quality that we checked out a few hours after booking in and found a better hotel, it was worth losing our money to find some thing better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I were offered this hotel as part of a cruise deal. I looked at the reviews and was worried as they weren't that good. However, our room, although quite basic, was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had an absolutely huge terrace leading from the French windows. As one other 'reviewer' said, there is a Lidls just down the road so we stocked up on goodies for the evening. My husband didn't think much of the breakfast but, as I only have muesli, I thought it was ok. The receptionist couldn't have been more helpful, she gave us a map (there is a batch of them on reception) and, as well as giving us clear directions, she also marked all the information on the map for us. I would definitely stay here again, in the same room preferably, as it is easy to get into Venice and back without being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, my 6yrs old daughter and I spent 3 wonderful nights in Venice and then 2 nights in beautiful Paduva. We thought to spend our last two days in Mestre which it was cheaper and also to be near Treviso airport. Big mistake. Mestre is a terrible town to start with and to get to Treviso we had to go to the station anyway. Ariston Hotel looks ok from outside but NO. Everything is so old and in a bad condition. The feeling was even worse when we went to our room. Again, old furniture and dirty look fabrics. We wanted to go to another hotel immediately! Instead we decided to leave the hotel for the daytime and return in the evening, just to sleep. We returned to Venice for daytime and went back to Ariston in the evening. We thought to have a drink outside before we go to sleep. The hotel does not have a bar, only a small fridge where they keep a few drinks. so we bought our beers and sat outside. Big mistake again. There are so many mosquitoes..I still have the big bites. The air-conditioning is central and you cannot regulate it from the room. It was very cold in the room, I couldn' t sleep at night. When I asked, they told me that it should be off by 2 after midnight but it was the same on the second night too. The only good thing i have to say about this hotel is that the receptionists were very helpful and the breakfast wasn't bad. Overall..Don't Bother!! Spend a couple of hundred euro more and stay in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel looks nice from the outside, but inside it looks like it came from the 70's, the breakfasts were modest and consistent, in my room was an unpleasant odor, the hotel need some more for fewer customers, while we lived there, tour the school which is pretty loud behaved, all you did was heard in the room, generally the hotel for short stays

Room Tip: virtually all the rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

well, just got back from venice. stayed at ariston hotel. firstly do not let the pictures of the hotel fool you. nothing like it. very poor experince all round.no air con. had to argue with staff to keep climate control on at night. one staff told me to open the window and muttered something in italian as he walked off.rooms are small.the shower and the toilet was an after thought.breakfast was ok, and it was the same everyday. this hotel claims to have 3 stars. i have stayed in better b&b.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We travelled from Florence to Venice and we were quite anxious about our hotel stay as we had a terrible experience in Florence. The hotel is located in Mestre, as we could not afford any hotel in Venice, they were exorbitantly expensive. It was about 7-10 minutes cab ride from Mestre station.
The hotel looked a shade better than a our Florence hotel & following what we observed, We were staying for 2 nights & paid about 70 euros/night.

1.No refrigerator.
2.The whole room looked old & really small. Please check out the pics with this review.
3.In effective air conditioner. Centralized with no thermostat in the room (It didn’t matter actually as it was not cooling much!! )
4. Non working TV.

The room, bedding etc was quite clean & no problem on that front.

I don’t know what is it about air-conditioners in Italian hotel rooms, they never seems to cool the room below 25 deg!! I was really searching for that answer through my whole journey. Aircon is looks like a "con" job in Italy!!

We had one peculiar experience when we returned to our room in the evening. We noticed that our AC was not working at all. When I & my friend checked with the reception, we were told that one of the guests is sick & so they could not operate the AC, as it being a centralized. Now, we didn’t know whether to laugh or cry on this situation. He stubbornly refused to do anything about this & suggested to shift in other room which has individual air conditioners at extra cost. We decided that, we will talk to hotel manager in the morning. We somehow spent the sweaty, humid night in the room.

In the morning when we complained to Manager, she accepted it was mistake on their part & the guest who was having a problem should have been shifted to another room instead of causing in-convenience to all other guests.
Our second night was much better as AC was working!!

We didn’t sample the breakfast as it was not included in our tariff, so can’t comment on that.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you are on tight budget. Try to find better hotels in Mestre & I think that should not be a problem. One more thing that you would be interested to know, that it normally takes about 15 minutes to reach form Mestre to Piazza Venezia. So it is good option to stay in Mestre rather than very expensive Venice hotels.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel if you want a bigger, cooler rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Bergamo 12, 30170 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ariston is an elegant hotel , it is an'ideal location for anyone reaching Venice by car or by bus.The young and informal hospitality, the excellent level of service and the cosmopolitan setting will make your stay even more interesting and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ariston Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.