We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop for business or personal travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso del Popolo, 211, 30172 Mestre, Italy (Formerly Delfino Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Mestre
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for business or personal travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Delfino was for us perfectly placed. I would not have liked to stay on the main island and negotiate my way to my hotel on foot! The Delfino was a 10 minute bus ride away and was cheap and very simple to use. The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful and the breakfast was more than sufficient. The staff helped us with buses and taxis etc and you can buy tickets from the reception desk and the bus stop was immediately outside the hotel., I would agree that that there is a lack of restaurants in the area, but why would you want to eat there when you are visiting Venice?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    466
    276
    111
    74
See reviews for
230
532
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's in a good location just outside of Venice. The bus stops right out the front of the hotel and takes you straight into Roma Piazza takes about 15/20mins. You can also buy bus tickets from the front desk which was handy. There is a lack of restaurants in the area so I would advise eating in Venice before catching the bus back. The breakfast buffet was ok could have been better as they class themselves as a 4 star hotel but it was fine. Not a bad place to stay if your looking for something a bit cheaper just out of Venice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed it here.
ALL of the staff were extremely helpful, smiley and polite all of the time, we could not understand how people were complaining. They set this hotel off to a fantastic start. They called taxis for us, told us how to get to places and were overall amazing at their job.
We were supposed to be in the Ambasciatori (they were having a refurb), but it wasn't a loss to us as it appears that the Delfino has more modern rooms. The room and bathroom were nice and provided us with what we needed. Breakfast was continental- I am quite picky but I found things to eat which made me happy as there was a decent selection!
The hotel had bus stops directly outside- we took the 4L to the Piazzale Roma in Venice. When we got off the train when we first arrived, we took a taxi to the hotel (13 euros) as it was a 20 minute wait for the bus. We seemed to have arrived in the middle of a bus strike so the buses were unreliable, however I have no doubt any other time they would have been great.
We went to a pizza take-out across the road (it was the third one along from the start of the row of buildings) on the first night as we arrived quite late which did incredible pizza. We also went in to central Mestre which was lovely at night.
We were apprehensive about coming here, but even with large groups around the staff made time for us and it was a personal experience. We ended up completely changing our attitude and I couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Loud at the front but if you can ignore that it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

People who dislike this very nice hotel should stay home I know them from my own experience as a tour guide, three thinks to describe them: first time travelers, miserable, or they do not know how to enjoy their life's and their vacation.By the way I should defiantly mention the extra large bed and bathroom.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here at the end of November 2013 for 3 nights in a triple bed room, the rooms were very clean but the beds were not comfortable and only had 1 small blanket and 1 'flat as a pancake pillow' per bed (no duvets!!) 2 were single beds, the 3rd was a z-bed and the mattress practically sunk to the floor! The heating however was on 24/7 so the rooms were quite warm, but I still needed a second blanket on my bed at night. There's no carpets in the room, just laminate flooring, clean but cold on your feet! No courtesy tray with kettle to make drinks, but having checked this before traveling we took our own small travel kettle/tea/coffee. Thankfully there's a big supermarket right next door to buy milk, nibbles, bottled water, etc so we made good use of the empty mini fridge in our room. Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy, a shuttle bus (6 Euros each way) dropped us off at Mestre train station and it was a short walk to the hotel. Bus stop to and from Venice is directly outside the hotel and run every 10 mins or so and having bought a 72 hour bus/vaporetto pass at the hotel reception saved a fortune on paying out for individual fares (but it's not valid for the Airport shuttle bus). Our stay included breakfast, it was edible but poor quality. The fresh fruit juices are made from concentrated, sugar loaded squash and taste awful, the chocolate spread is definitely not Nutella, but a very poor substitute, the coffee and hot chocolate was barely drinkable and don't even get me started on the bacon and eggs!! Suffice to say we ate out during the day/evening. There's only 1 lift in the hotel and fits about 4 people (minus luggage!) so be prepared for a long wait or walk up and down the stairs. Our room was at the front of the hotel (4th floor) and the main road outside is very noisy both day and night, so take some earplugs if you're a light sleeper. There's free wifi, but it's a very hit and miss affair, you're lucky to get a signal and luckier still if it doesn't drop every few minutes! This hotel claims to be a 4*, but frankly I'd be hard pushed to rate it as a 2*. Oh and there's no bar, pool or gym/fitness center either!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Check in was interesting. Next to us was a party having a long and loud argument about their room booking. Had asked for joining rooms had not been given to them, yet had been on another visit. Customer really upset hotel worker could not have cared less. Our check in was really impersonal. Hotel worker did not look at us once or due to that smile or acknowledge us. We had three people booked in the room only given one key. Normally we are given two keys in a real hotel. I asked for two and was curtly advised this is all you get, one room one key! Oh sorry for asking. Went to room. This is not a small hotel therefore the size of the lifts was surprising, there are two but are really small. When inside room we had asked for x3 occupancy so all they did was stick an extra bed on the side if the double bed and it looked horrible. In fact i would have thought dangerous because the edge of it stuck over the entrance to the bathroom. Surely they must have room that can cope with a request of x3 people rather than supply a room with a bed bunged into it and it looked more like a prison cell. No i understand this part of the world can get hot but in winter they have no carpets or even rugs made getting up and walking around really cold to the foot. Not nice. There was a horrible sewage smell in the bathroom that never went away. Pointless complaining, just be aware. In general room functional, not one you would like to be in.
Bed really hard, heard a lot of people complaining about this at breakfast, another story later. Only one pillow per person and these were as flat a a pancake. Called for more, they never arrived. The noise from the room if you are in the front of the hotel as we were was terrible. Must have been woken up at least 6 times during the night, either due to marauding crowds screaming or delivery lorries, buses or traffic during the night. Ask for room at the back if i were you.
Breakfast was included in the price but was like cattle market. Most of the time the coffee and orange juice machines were empty and not working causing queues. The food was lacking and not re stocked very well. The tables were left dirty for a long time after people had left. Then two girls and a man cleared them eventually slowly and the two girls did nothing except moan all the time they were clearing and did not do this quietly. Surely they must know people can understand their mother tongue well. If you do not like it, get another job!
Watch out early evening the reception and lifts are taken over by a daily delivery of Chinese people. This clogs the lift for ages. Not sure what happens to them as i never saw them again!
Good bits.
Very good bus service to venice only a few stops and no changes.

So if this is what you are looking for, This is the place for you.

Room Tip: Sorry checked swimming pool by mistake they do not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our room was a good size and clean as was the bathroom. The hotel's position is excellent for travelling into Venice with buses every 15 minutes or so and a 10 minute journey. It is also easy to reach from the airport and not far to shops and restaurants

The breakfast room is very well laid out so even when it is busy you can get food from the buffet easily. The quality of the food is quite good and the coffee very good.

There is a good supermarket right next door although it surprised us to see an armed security guard outside. The other side of the supermarket just over a side street is a milk and coffee bar. We got our lunch here twice and enjoyed lovely chiabata rolls and great coffee at a very good price served by very friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre

Address: Corso del Popolo, 211, 30172 Mestre, Italy (Formerly Delfino Hotel)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Mestre
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.