We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Giordano Bruno 15, 30174 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 64 hotels in Mestre
Reading
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just spent a couple of nights here during the mini heatwave mid June. Thank god for the free aircon which ran constantly for both nights, otherwise sleep would've been unlikely. Although a good stroll to the main railway station the Aurora is well located at the North end of Piazza Ferretto only 100 metres from the Old Clock / Bell Tower. There are plenty of shops, bars, restaraunts, gelataria, and bus stops. etc.
The breakfast was typical continental fayre with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice and real coffee. (No decaff). The young Chinese couple who appear to run the place, are friendly and always on hand to help out.
There's wi-fi, although we didn't try it. The TV shows 2 channels, one Spanish, one French. There's a mini fridge and free safe in the room. (Big enough for a notebook but NOT a laptop - ALSO read the PIN setting instructions carefully as I locked myself out of it twice - Doh !) There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and my request for an iron and board got a shrug.

Feel free to contact me for directions as some of the hotel sites (Minotel etc) show an incorrect location on their site map. There is also another Hotel in Mestre called Nuova Aurora which is confusing. (We had a street map of Mestre.)

Transport. - Well worth buying the imob card which gives you hop on / hop off travel on all the buses (to and from Venice) and the vaparetto water buses. Can also include to and from Marco Polo airport - see Venice Connected website for the various options.

My free travel info -
#1 - We were there for 3 days but bought a 48 hour pass and started using it around midday day 1. When we tried to use it during the 47th hour on day 3 however, it came up invalid on the validation machine. I guess this means the 48 hours runs from the purchase time not the initial validation time, so buy your ticket immediately before travel. There seems to be little or no saving buying online, and we saw huge queues in Venice particularly in front of the collection machines at the main station.
#2 - We got less value for money on day 2 as there was a one day public transport strike. This virtually stopped all buses and the vaporettos ran a minimum service which meant long queues, packed boats and frayed tempers. Strikes are probably rare but check the news sites before you buy your ticket.
#3 - There is a left luggage office at both Mestre and Venice rail stations. (5 Euros for 5 hours then 70 cents per hour for the 6th to 12th hours etc). It's a LONG deposit queue in Venice at the weekends and when the cruise ships are disembarking, so go early or use Mestre. (Collection is much faster in both.)
#4 - There is no fast ticket machine at Mestre for the short train hop to Venice. (Absolute genious planning !) - Again, this is a long queue so buy your undated single journey tickets all at once. #5 - If flying to / from Treviso, the ATVO coach from Roma bus station will be busy so don't wait for the last one ! - Why not leave early and do a day trip in Treviso itself. There's no left luggage IN the airport but there is a place over the road by Bar Aeroporto.
#6 - While chatting to fellow departing tourists in the Airport bus queues, I was amazed how many of them still had days worth of wasted credit on their travel cards. I always pass my London travel cards onto fellow travellers, (as I did with my spare Mestre Rail tickets). It'll give you a warm glow inside. (Anyone travelling on a tight budget might consider making a direct appeal to the folks in the airport bus queues themselves !)
Enjoy -

Room Tip: 62 / 64 / 69 are the highest rooms (2nd floor). The small balconies only offer views of other buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    22
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked an overnight stay at this hotel prior to catching a cruise ship from Venice. The reviews sounded ok and the price was right for us - a middle aged couple. We took the ACTV bus from Venice Marco Polo airport and (according to the map) the bus dropped us off just a block away. Well, the drivers instructions and the map were both a little incorrect. We spent 1 hour dragging 2 large suitcases around trying to find the hotel, we asked several locals and no one seemed to know exactly where this hotel was, we finally asked someone who happened to have a cell-phone on which he was able to get directions and took us directly to the front door. I will warn you that it is a little hard to find but well worth it when you do. The hotel is not overly fancy, but it is clean, the staff welcoming and the continental breakfast was just superb. We arrived before the check-in time but were told that we could store our cases behind the desk and shown a toilet where we could freshen up. The desk staff gave us directions to Mestre square - just around the corner -which was totally pedestrianised and had shops and restaurants etc.Nice area to stroll around after a supper - very safe with lots of families strolling around as well.The staff also directed us to a really nice restaurant with excellent food for our evening meal. They were very accommodating and so pleasant. Our room was lovely and clean, good beds, clean bathroom and very quiet. In the morning rather than take a bus to the cruise ship dock in Venice we opted for a taxi - not very bright as it cost us almost as much as the hotel room - but it did get us there quickly and we didn't have to pull luggage behind us. Next time to Venice area we will stay again

Room Tip: They do have an elevator - not big but still an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here four nights, booked two double rooms. We were given rooms with the air conditioning not working and in temperatures of 35 C could not get any sleep. The owner -manager was patronising and told us to lie down and all would be fine. On further complaining a fan was produced. We could have moved out but for the fact a day would be waisted. Breakfast was lacking and poor quality, hygiene very poor. On the plus side there were good eating places near by.

Room Tip: To be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

The first night in this hotel was already a distaster. Just about everything in the bathroom was broken: the shower head, the shower itself, the dust bin. In addition, the sink didn't flow, the shower area was awfully ditry and the breakfast was low quality. The hotel personell made repeated hints towards a compensation for the bad experience, but eventually there was no compensation. Don't recommend anyone to go here.

  • Disliked — The quality of the rooms, the breakfast and the lack of service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

The Aurora Hotel is a great base to stay when visiting Venice.The staff where very helpfull and nothing was a problem to them.Breakfast was ok.Nothing Fancy but enough choice for all.hotel is close to the main square where you can find a very good wine bar but beware it closes early and a couple of good places to eat.Bus stop was around the corner and the hotel sold the bus passes.The rooms where clean and large enough but the shower was a bit on the small side.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no bar/restuarant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJ city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I had to stay in this hotel accidentally late at night because of reservation problem at another hotel in Mestre. I did not expect much. But this hotel was quite nice - clean and comfortable without much hassle. I was able to park my rental car in front of hotel. The public bus stop is less than a minutes walk where you can go to Venice within 20 minutes. Overall. this utilitarian hotel is not so unacceptable to my standards.

Stayed September 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed here as a cheaper alternative to staying in Venice. This was our worst stay of a month long trip around europe, by miles and miles. I'll just list what was wrong:
- The room smelt bad, we had to keep a window open the whole time, as
a consequence we had street noise, cold at night and mosquitos in the
room
- The room was not in good condition, rusty fittings, some broken
- One morning there was no hot water, and we had to take cold showers, staff were not particularly apologetic, and no further action was taken
- There were no additional bedclothes in the room, and my girlfriend was cold during the night
- The showers (there were 2 heads in the room) were both broken and showering was unpleasant
- Reception was often unattended, even though the room keys are hanging there in easy reach
- The staff insisted on taking my car keys (even though there was no reason to move my car as it was on the inside) and left them sitting with the room key unattended and obvious
- The internet setup involved changing detailed network settings on my laptop, and the staff member who made the changes was not available on checkout to repair my settings
- There were also minor issues, for example the staff were unable to recommend a place for dinner in Mestre, but these were no significant
compared to the major issues listed

  • Liked — very little, breakfast was above average for Italy
  • Disliked — Smell, cold shower, security
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: Piazzetta Giordano Bruno 15, 30174 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 64 hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Venice
Aurora Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.