We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piave 214, 30171 Mestre, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 hotels in Mestre
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Easy access to Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So convenient for visit to Venice. Hotel is directly across the street from Mestre train station. No need for taxi! Trains to Venice run every 10 minutes and cost 1.20 euros. Rooms are newly updated with a very modern look and good wifi connection. Breakfast buffet is decent, good way to start your day to Venice. Staff is very accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    547
    91
    20
    16
See reviews for
219
555
46
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed one night, 4th Nov, we'd usually stay in Venice but our bus was leaving from near the train station so it only made sense to stay in Mestre this time. Take my advice, don't look further than Hotel Bologna. Lovely friendly reception staff, they had read my booking request for a quiet room and we got one not facing onto main road, no view but a silent night's sleep! Really spacious room, all modern and spotless and fab bathroom with separate shower from bath, our bed was lovely and firm too. It also had a safe and tea/coffee making facilities. We ate downstairs in the bar, lovely food and again lovely staff.
For Ryanair travellers: to pick up the bus to Treviso: when you leave the hotel, face the station and cross the road and walk to the left about 100 mts. you'll come to a bus turnaround area well sign-posted for ryanair.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again, much cheaper than Venice and you can buy the train tickets at reception, very handy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is supposed to be a 4 star one, however, the rooms lack the amenities of a 4 star, the furnishing is very minimalistic. It is overpriced, due to its walking distance from Mestre Train station, a one stop from the Venise train station. The trip to Venise is very easy, takes about 10 minutes by train or by bus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Venice is one of the world's greatest destinations. It is Italy's "Disneyland" complete with mobs of people, expensive hotels and restaurants. The logistics of getting around especially if you are traveling with lots of luggage can be costly and a nightmare. Venice is for walking! The Best Western in Mestre is a logistical alternative. The Hotel itself is very nice with large and modern redecorated bedrooms and large bathrooms. Its a very busy hotel but this does not prevent the Front Desk Staff and the Housekeeping Staff from being helpful and efficient. Yes as mentioned in other reviews it is a more reasonable area to stay than in Venice. But getting to Venice by bus or train should be avoided at rush hour to avoid the mobs and moving at a snail's place. If in the area for a cruise with lots of luggage take a taxi to the port. It is the best way to avoid the complexities of the clauseway pattern and the port configuration encountered by bus or train travel. In a taxi you can arrive directly to your terminal. Even though the Mestre Train Station can be a little "seedy", walk away from the Station towards downtown Mestre to discover shops, restaurants, and supermarkets. Staying in Mestre despite its proximity is definitely not the unique experience of staying in Venice, but as an alternative The Best Western is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for one night. Very impressed with the spacious room, modern and clean. Hotel is across the street from the train station (train to Venice 10-15 minute ride). We bought the train tickets from reception. The local bus to Marco Polo airport is also just down the road (just cross the lights!). Easy check-in and check-out. On check out, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi. Buffet breakfast was included in our room mate, we came late to the breakfast so there weren't too many options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just back from a 5 day stay in Mestre as a base to visit Venice. My wife & I travelled with our 10 year old son and were pleased to see room 249 was a 'mini suite' with our son having his own room, which was nice! Very modern and comfortable room, breakfast was good and ate in the hotel restaurant one night which was well priced and satisfying. Get your train tickets from reception then head across the road to the train station, within ten minutes you're in Venice. Brill, no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was worried about staying here since it is right across from the Railway station (there is a McDonald's in the station). But, what an unexpected delight. Our room was just like the picture shows- it looks newly refurbished- laminate floors- big TV with CNN, CNBC, BBC (they show three stations with English shows- they were originally in English, but dubbed in Italian). The bathroom was huge- nice clean tub, a hot towel rack (you could dry your underwear really quickly). Nice grocery just down the street toward town. Breakfast buffet MUCH different than I was expecting - many kinds of pastries and croissants, many juices, scrambled eggs, salads, yogurt, cereals and of course, lots of coffee and milk.
Easy to get a bus 2 across the street to take you to Venice- and we were doubly glad we stayed in Maestre- the tides were high and the tourists there were wading to their knees with luggage. It is a very confusing city- we would have never located our hotel there.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot- 136- nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station

Address: Via Piave 214, 30171 Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#6 Green Hotel in Mestre
#7 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Fastbooking and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station Province Of Venice, Italy
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.