We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bus stop to Venice opposite the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambasciatori Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ambasciatori Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso del Popolo 221, 30172 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 65 hotels in Mestre
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bus stop to Venice opposite the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in one of the recently modernised rooms with a flat screen tv, nice bathroom and nice room. Quality of the room was excellent, not all the rooms have been modernised. You have to visit the pizza bar across the road, but it only opens in the evening. Venice is ten minutes on the bus from the bus stop across the road from the hotel. Beware on checkout the hotel will ask you to pay for a Venice tax of 5 euro per night per person, needless to say I was not happy.
Don't use the bar or the hotel restaurant, they really will rob you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    154
    104
    40
    26
See reviews for
55
178
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brinklow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were allocated this hotel as a free stay before our cruise,despite a nightmare journey to Venice,including rip off Italian taxi drivers.
The hotel was good,reception staff very helpfull,our room was of a good size and the aircon worked really well.
We slept soundly and in the morning we went to the breakfast room and were pleasantly surprised by the standard and selection.
Check out procedure was quick and painless despite having to pay TOURIST TAX????
All in all we found Italy a scam from start to finish!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed with a tour group for one night in October 2012. The room was rather dark and small for two and the furnishings were old, dark and dated. The carpet and bedspreads need to be replaced and look very worn and dirty. The bathroom was quite small, but adequate. However, there was no hot water. I suppose when all rooms are occupied they run out of hot water. Our room and others on the floor experienced an electrical outage twice that night. When we called the front desk someone quickly came up to reset the breakers or replace a fuse. We did not use the restaurant or bar. Breakfast was good and served in a separate room for tour group guests. Would not recommend or use this hotel again if given a choice based on the room and lack of hot water. It was the worst hotel of all the ones used on this 18 day tour...at least our room was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

nice, comfortable quiet hotel. close to Venice. loved the bed. breakfast was very nice.
service was standard. You can use the bas to reach the Venice, it takes 20min from Mestre to Venice. Station is just accross the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel in early September. It is an easy 10 minute bus ride to Venice. But, this hotel is a relic which needs to be razed and rebuilt. Most likely, that is the plan because there have been no renovations or updates in years. The bathrooms are tiny, small shower with awkward glass doors that do not close allowing water to soak the floor. The bed spreads and draperies look decades old. This is a place to avoid if you are looking for a clean comfortable place to stay. We had breakfast and dinner here too; very average. Not good. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Direttore at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
our Hotel Ambasciatori is one of the best product of Venice mainland, appreciated by national and international clients that choose it for service and quality. We use to improve permanently renovations and updating technology like you can read from the other comments in this page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After driving through torrent of rain arriving near Venice, we loked for an overnight stay. After travelling round and round for a while we came across this hotel. Only 1 room left which was a junior suite, breakfast included. What a room, you could hold a reception in it, fabulous. From the huge bed, tele, shower and lounge. Very luxurious. Breakfast was very good and all this for a reasonable cost. Only fault no atmosphere in bar but we put this down to the fact that most peeps were on their way to somewhere else just like us. Also Italy shuts early...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I reserved a double room of 19 m with Bathtube. On arrival I was given a 13sqm room, micro Shower in not really good condition (old furniture, shower with mold, dirty carpet).
The explanation of the front office is that the rooms offered in www.booking.com do not always reflect the rooms of the hotel. Thanks for the info but now give me the room I paid for as the Room they gave me was sold in Booking as Single Room!
Unfriendly staff at the desk. do not ever say good morning/ afternoon even if you're the only customer in the lobby. They prefer to ignore you and send text messages with the cell phone ( Female Staff, Afternoon Shift).
East European staff ( day and Night Shift)in general never say a word or greets.Guests are totally ignored.
Services ( bar & Restaurant) Time schedule exposed at the Front desk and inside the elevators did not match with those displayed in the rooms.
At 10 pm I had to ask 3 times to the front desk to call a waiter for service at the bar. In the end I was served by the restaurant waiter who was passing them by accident. The lobby bar was suppose to close at 11 pm but it closed at 9:45 pm. Any reason as few Guest were still seating there?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Mestre
Ambasciatori Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy
Address: Corso del Popolo 221, 30172 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambasciatori Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.