We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreary hotel with lousy bathrooms. 10 minutue bus ride to Venice.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ambasciatori Hotel to your Saves list
Ambasciatori Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso del Popolo 221, 30172 Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Mestre
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Dreary hotel with lousy bathrooms. 10 minutue bus ride to Venice.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel in early September. It is an easy 10 minute bus ride to Venice. But, this hotel is a relic which needs to be razed and rebuilt. Most likely, that is the plan because there have been no renovations or updates in years. The bathrooms are tiny, small shower with awkward glass doors that do not close allowing water to soak the floor. The bed spreads and draperies look decades old. This is a place to avoid if you are looking for a clean comfortable place to stay. We had breakfast and dinner here too; very average. Not good. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Direttore at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
our Hotel Ambasciatori is one of the best product of Venice mainland, appreciated by national and international clients that choose it for service and quality. We use to improve permanently renovations and updating technology like you can read from the other comments in this page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    181
    141
    56
    44
See reviews for
85
244
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
british
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After driving through torrent of rain arriving near Venice, we loked for an overnight stay. After travelling round and round for a while we came across this hotel. Only 1 room left which was a junior suite, breakfast included. What a room, you could hold a reception in it, fabulous. From the huge bed, tele, shower and lounge. Very luxurious. Breakfast was very good and all this for a reasonable cost. Only fault no atmosphere in bar but we put this down to the fact that most peeps were on their way to somewhere else just like us. Also Italy shuts early...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I reserved a double room of 19 m with Bathtube. On arrival I was given a 13sqm room, micro Shower in not really good condition (old furniture, shower with mold, dirty carpet).
The explanation of the front office is that the rooms offered in www.booking.com do not always reflect the rooms of the hotel. Thanks for the info but now give me the room I paid for as the Room they gave me was sold in Booking as Single Room!
Unfriendly staff at the desk. do not ever say good morning/ afternoon even if you're the only customer in the lobby. They prefer to ignore you and send text messages with the cell phone ( Female Staff, Afternoon Shift).
East European staff ( day and Night Shift)in general never say a word or greets.Guests are totally ignored.
Services ( bar & Restaurant) Time schedule exposed at the Front desk and inside the elevators did not match with those displayed in the rooms.
At 10 pm I had to ask 3 times to the front desk to call a waiter for service at the bar. In the end I was served by the restaurant waiter who was passing them by accident. The lobby bar was suppose to close at 11 pm but it closed at 9:45 pm. Any reason as few Guest were still seating there?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is ok. breakfast was not good but the rooms were fine and the staff were helpful and the bus stop outside is a plus 5.20 euro return into venice you can also buy 1,2,or3 day passes make sure you buy your ticket for the bus at the hotel reception or as we found they will not let you on the bus you can also buy them at the newsagents over the road next to the bus stop,do not bother to que as when the bus arrives( every 10mins)its just one big scrum,women children if your in the way tough.we were there thee days and walked up into Mestre one night and to our supprise the town was all lit up bands playing in the streets plus stalls,shops it was all bouncing and we had a great night and it is only a 10min walk from the hotel,
all in all not a bad place to stay but it is not palacial

Room Tip: we were on the 6th floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed in the remodeled room on the 7th floor and it was very nice. Good bed, AC, minibar and quiet. The bathrooms needs to be remodeled, but the for one night it was ok. The bus stop to Venice is right in front of the hotel, so it is very convenient for short stop and visit of Venice.The front deck staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located with a 10 minute bus ride into Venice. The mestre train station is only 2 minute cab ride or 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood so limited on restaurants and bars. The room and daily breakfast buffet were decent. There is a grocery store right next door. I found the staff to be a little standoffish. Overall, a nice alternative to the expensive and crowded hotels in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here just as a evening stopover form Venice with an early breakfast. As we got in very late, we did not experience a lot of the facilities until a quick morning breakfast. The rooms were unique (each one seemed a little different). Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Address: Corso del Popolo 221, 30172 Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Mestre
Ambasciatori Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambasciatori Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.